We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Afro Caribbean Pot

31 Market Avenue, Plymouth PL1 1PG, England
+44 7939 995510
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“goat curry” (16 reviews)
“rice” (17 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, African, Jamaican, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 Market Avenue, Plymouth PL1 1PG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely love the food here. Service can be a bit slow which is understandable as all food is cooked to order. Just wish it didn't take so long get drinks brought to the table. I will be going back time and time again as the...More

Thank Mandy186258
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Excellent food and service at a good price! Brown chicken stew was wonderful as was the fried chicken. Can thoroughly recommend a visit to this little restaurant

Thank Chris B
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Wife and I had lunch here today, Sat 17 Feb. What an explosion of flavours, truly delicious! I had a spicy king prawn starter followed by an amazing goat curry with rice and peas. My wife had the chicken kebab skewer and fried chicken main....More

Thank nicciandderek
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This little gem is becoming a regular for us. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The food is truly out of the world. You must try this place if you like tasty food. Go spicy too. Wow.

Thank Vici F
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Not sure whether there have been changes within this business or the reason for the rebranding but the cafe continues in much the same style and in the same premises at the bottom of Cornwall St.

Thank Jannerbloke
Reviewed 18 November 2017

First time i tried food at “Mama Rita’s ” was about year ago. It was really good food much different from usual stuff you can find in city centre. Haven't been there for a long time decided to go there again today. Me and my...More

1  Thank Kaspars D
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Having been given a groupon voucher as a gift, I read reviews on Mama Rita. The reviews were not good. Our experience was wonderful! Cordial, a smile and a full explanation of the deal with the menu choices. The food was delicious, all cooked to...More

1  Thank gillplym
Rita Love L, Owner at Afro Caribbean Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you so much for you amazing review , am glad you came to experience it yourself and realise that some of the negative reviews on here aren’t true. God bless you and Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Plantain , fries and dumplings all warm and delicious but the jerk chicken wrap was cold and frankly awful. Bits of hard white stuff I assume to to be fat . Tasteless and gross whole meal was £15 and not worth it or the waitMore

1  Thank LisaPlymouthUK
Rita Love L, Owner at Afro Caribbean Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hi Lisa, am really sorry about that the jerk chk wrap is got coleslaw in it and coleslaw can’t be hot. and fat in a chicken can’t go hard , we grill the chicken so our jerk chicken is alway golden brown on the outside...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We had booked a table but it was not reserved for us on arriving at the correct time. We waited 75 minutes for our order.... preference seemed to being given to serving their take out orders. Food when it eventually came was tasty but not...More

1  Thank Darcy663
Rita Love L, Owner at Afro Caribbean Pot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We did honour you one of the spree voucher we only accept one at a table you came with 2 we couldn’t honour both. I remember signing a contract for last year 2016 spree not 2017 Iv asked spree to email me the contract but...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We travel almost 50 miles for lunch for him at least twice a month! Great food, good portion sizes and great value for money :)

1  Thank stacecass
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
639 reviews
.34 km away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
1,188 reviews
.37 km away
New Continental Hotel
601 reviews
.42 km away
The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
1,073 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
@Kitchen Asian Cuisine
315 reviews
.06 km away
Taste of Thailand
171 reviews
.06 km away
Leandra
591 reviews
.07 km away
Il Capriccio
188 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Theatre Royal Plymouth
842 reviews
.31 km away
ArtFrame Gallery
22 reviews
.25 km away
Radiant
10 reviews
.25 km away
Genting Casino Plymouth
14 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jannerbloke
4 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from jannermatt | Reviewed this property |
They moved out of the market in 2015 and are now located at the bottom of Plymouth city centre next door to Pirillas in Cornwall Street.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:30
Thursday
09:00 - 22:30
Friday
09:00 - 22:30
Saturday
09:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Market Avenue, Plymouth PL1 1PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 7939 995510
  • E-mail
Description
Mama Rita's kitchen is a family run business we put a lot of passion , love and dedication in our cooking we mostly use a local source fresh vegetables in our cooking . All our meals are freshly cook to order we care for our customers so we only serve the best healthy dishes in our kitchen. We accept all cards payments and a free wifi.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;