We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour

1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
+44 1598 753600
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (17 reviews)
“mushy peas” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Fast food
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Disgustingly greasy. Avoid. For superb fresh fish, head to 'Espresso' in Ilfracombe. Couldn't see any good options on Lynmouth.

Thank Adrian H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Top marks...my son has allergies and these people were very helpful. Fabulous food in a lovely setting

Thank Helen J
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was on a day trip in Lynmouth and stopped at this chippy for a cone of chips.. They were the best chips by far very tasty.. Staff were very friendly. If I'm down that way again I'll be sure be back for some more chips..

1  Thank joanne a
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review, we are very glad you enjoyed your chips and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We both had beefburgers and chips for lunch , when the burgers arrived they were the colour of pork , looked like they were from a can or had been cooked in brine water , normally burgers are chargrilled,fame grilled ,griddled etc and are served...More

1  Thank parrotCornwall
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a shame you feel the need to continue with this, i would have thought that the review left by your wife "lovely chips" was sufficient and after tripadvisor removed your last review due to incorrect and inappropriate content it would have suggested to you...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Ordered a special beef burger and chips, chips were lovely but beef burger tasted more like a hamburger,and unfortunately couldn't eat it,so that was a waste of a tenner! Service good and friendlyMore

Thank lynn s
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

thanks you for your comments on the chips and the the service, however we are somewhat confused as to what you expected from the burger as a beef burger and a hamburger are the same thing.Our menu lists it as an 8oz westcountry beef &...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I visited Lynmouth with our two dogs and as it was a sunny day sought somewhere to have lunch outside. We plumped for this place because it's seating area was nicely sheltered from the sea breeze. We both had fish, chips and...More

Thank SunshineSukie
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience, we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Bought really nice takeaway fish and chips for lunch. It was hot, well cooked, tasty and the fish was so fresh and lovely that it almost seemed a shame to have battered it! Yum, yum, yum...

Thank Catherine R
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

thank you ever so much for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your meal

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

I visited with my two year old daughter and ordered a child's meal and lunch for myself for nearly £15 (no drink). The food came quick and my daughter's food tasted fine (although both very small portions). The texture of my cheesy chips tasted like...More

1  Thank cazherts23
Fish-on-the-Harbour, Owner at Lynmouth's Traditional Fish and Chips Fish on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

As we explained to you at the time we are now frying new seasons potatoes, they are softer and sweeter than main crop potatoes, we also use mature cheddar for the cheesey chips, as we tried to explain, we could replace your food but it...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017

Bought two cod and chips, in boxes. Wow!! They were excellent! The meals were put on the counter for us, while we added our own salt, vinegar, sauce, etc. We were given two good, plastic forks and several napkins. There was even a slice of...More

Thank Julian M
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Only had cones of chips before we headed off to walk along the river. Very impressed with the chips though very tasty & crisp. Nice outdoor eating area.

Thank GLPJ62
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun Resturant
871 reviews
.14 km away
The Nook
233 reviews
.31 km away
The Village Inn Pub
550 reviews
.02 km away
7 The Bistro
375 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway
1,385 reviews
.38 km away
Lynton Cinema
187 reviews
.51 km away
Watersmeet Trail
174 reviews
.10 km away
Lyn Valley Art and Crafts
46 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
snapdogs
17 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Derek W | Reviewed this property |
I think so however give them a ring they are very helpful.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Riverside Road | Ex35 6ex, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 753600
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing