We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wheelhouse

7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
+44 1803 834446
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (145 reviews)
“cheeseburger” (8 reviews)
“salad” (16 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

could not do enough for us; most helpful with a high chair for our grandson food was excellent (grandson enjoyed his first ever mushy peas here) first port of call next visit. The Morse family

Thank Climber04124127031
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank You for your comments, we are always happy to assist our lovely customers to enjoy their visit and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Dartmouth. Kind Regards Jon Walker

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always a pleasure to eat here. Food is delicious and it's great to have plenty of options on top of the delicious fish and chips, such as the ham and pineapple salad - I thoroughly enjoyed it. Also highly recommend the fishcakes. Nice bottle of...More

Thank Amy Lisa D
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks Amy for your great review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visits to the Wheelhouse and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind Regards Jon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had dinner here one night in Dartmouth. It's a very good fish and chip restaurant with plenty of other options. you can get a beer if you want as well. Very good value, great service, friendly staff. Best fish and chips in the area.

Thank dagdabear
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You! You have no idea just how much a review like yours cheers us all up, puts a smile on everyone's face, even the Boss! Thanks so much and we hope to see you again one day. Best wishes Jon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Today we found the Wheel House after looking at a couple of other places to eat, on entering we were warmly greeted and shown to a empty table after brief conversation we were given a menu and our order was taken soon after, while we...More

Thank Tim H
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Delighted to hear Ollie enjoyed his 'chunky chicken' it is a firm favourite of my young daughter too. Good to know you also enjoyed your visit to the Wheelhouse and thank you too for letting us know, we all appreciate 'a pat on the back'!...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You know that time when you fancy fish n chips.. Well today was the day, when we popped into town after visiting the castle. I have this thing where I believe fish n chips bought from the shop should be either be eaten at home...More

Thank jackster1
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your glowing tribute to Fish & Chips, we all loved it! As always thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

I don't usually review restaurants, but this time I have to share my experience. The takeaway from this shop was absolutely disgusting. No white flaky cod, but dry piece of oily brown stuff. One of the worst meals I've ever had. The burnt oil didn't...More

Thank Miroslav B
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

I do have to ask why if your takeaway was so appalling you did not either call back with it or ring us (our number is widely available) to complain and ask for your money back. I have spoken to the staff who were on...More

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Saw reviews of Trip advisor so decided to go for lunch and we weren’t disappointed. Very prompt service. Good variety on menu. The food was really of a high standard. My haddock was particularly good, the batter was perfect. I thought the decor was really...More

Thank CaroleR1350
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Good to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Wheelhouse, it really does make us all very happy to read your lovely comments, We make every effort to keep up our high standards and it is so good to hear when our customers notice. Look...More

Reviewed 29 September 2018

How easy it was to order gluten free fish and chips, no fuss no bother at all,very friendly service all round,and the food was superb We will be back ,More

Thank robirunner
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

We are always happy to cook gluten free Fish and chips, it is no bother for us and we know our customers appreciate the choice it gives them. Thank you for taking the time to let us know, it is very kind of you to...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018

We called in to Wheelhouse in Dartmouth one evening while on holiday. The first thing which struck us on arrival was how clean and well-presented everything looked. We chose a table at the rear of the restaurant and our order was promptly taken. We ordered...More

Thank lm248417
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

So good to hear that you really enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant, we do try very hard to keep the high standards we set ourselves and even more pleased to hear you loved the food as well. Look forward to seeing you again when...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018

We thought the Wheelhouse looked nice when we were in Dartmouth looking for somewhere to have a quick lunch. We weren't disappointed - good fish & real chips were well cooked and presented. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would certainly return to Wheelhouse if in...More

Thank marylou238
jwdevon, Owner at Wheelhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Many thanks for your great review, all of us at The Wheelhouse really do appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. Kind Regards Jon Walker

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Dartmouth
Royal Castle Hotel
1,201 reviews
.10 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
358 reviews
.19 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1,710 reviews
.75 km away
Townstal Farmhouse
138 reviews
.87 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Smith Street Deli
240 reviews
.01 km away
Woodroast Dartmouth
148 reviews
.02 km away
Kendricks Restaurant and Bar
847 reviews
.04 km away
Rockfish Dartmouth
2,222 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hockings Dairy Cream Ices
145 reviews
.09 km away
Dart Harbour
330 reviews
.11 km away
Dartmouth Museum
142 reviews
.13 km away
Royal Avenue Gardens
111 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kaydays2017
24 March 2017|
Answer
Response from jwdevon | Property representative |
You are very welcome to bring your cockatoo. We accept one family of dogs at a time in the restaurant . We ask that they stay under the table and that they don't bark - that's all 😊
0
Votes
Choizybella
20 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Polly444 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I don't know but you could ring them if it's not on the web site.
0
Votes
Donna H
26 February 2017|
Answer
Response from jwdevon | Property representative |
Hello I believe that our beefburgers are currently gluten free - but i would have to double check as i am at home. If so we can serve any of our burgers with cheese, bacon, goats cheese, red onion relish, pineapple etc... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Fairfax Place, Dartmouth TQ6 9AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 834446
Description
Take away and licensed restaurant serving great British fish and chips,(including calamari, scampi, seafood platter and specials such as skate, hoki, rock and plaice) brilliant burgers,pies and pasties fresh crisp salads and sandwiches. Children's menu, highchairs and changing facilities
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing