We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Haywain

British, Pub, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Constable Road, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
+44 1480 301519
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 09:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A right little home from home for a few of the stives lakes anglers. Good food, friendly locals, Good location for the local shops. Extensive selection of ales and lagers...

Helpful?
Thank gordy12345
Bluntisham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was really disappointed as went for lunch ordered a burger and chips. It took an hour for the food to arrive then when it did there was a big long black hair in it. So then it took another ten minutes for another one. It wasn't busy so was surprised it took so long

Helpful?
Thank Liz R
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

We visited here while staying with relatives. The Staff were helpful and friendly. The meal was very good and a reasonable price. We enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
Thank animalcrackers74
General Manager A, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

As a Sizzling Pub you get what you would expect, hot fast food with a long standard menu and at ridiculously low prices. The staff are very attentive and helpful, going out of their way to adjust my choices once they knew that I had a dietary issue. Highly recommend if you like good basic food, but maybe not for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandy187045
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Hi Mandy, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to us. We really appreciate the feedback. We are happy that you found our team to be attentive and helpful, we strive to be the best. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Went for a quiet drink with a couple of friends and got to the table saw they were doing food! Went to the bar and apparently the kitchen was shut even though the menu says 10 and it was 9:30 apart from that the pub is lovely and the staff were lovely

Helpful?
Thank kylelfc21
general manager a, Public Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Haywain. I'm sorry that on this occasion we had to disappoint you. I hope that you will visit again and try our varied menu. More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent pub family run great and such a freindly atmosphere and good deals on the stella 'food is great good value for money cant be beaten anywere

Helpful?
Thank hartly66
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Lunch on a Monday. Quiet. Ordered chicken & steak. No steaks. Half rack instead. Plus fishcakes & house salad Main food arrived in 15 minutes, chips a few minutes later. Chicken overcooked and stringy, rack good. Fishcakes overcooked. , salad lacking onions, slaw & onion flakes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
general manager a, Guest Relations Manager at The Haywain, responded to this review

Hi Mike, I'm dreadfully sorry that you had a bad experience on your visit to us here at the Haywain. If you had brought any of the issues you had to a member of the team here we would have endeavoured to put it right. We hope that you will give us another chance to improve your opinion. More 

Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Nice beer garden, which was lovely and clean. Staff were lovely and the cute dog station outside was great for hot weather. Decent price for drinks.

Helpful?
Thank EmilyNunney
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Was at the CHARITY school quiz night mentioned above. The pub GAVE the prizes and beefburgers for free so the primary school would raise even more. The quiz was well supported and so the pub was heaving. The staff bent over backwards to accomadate everyone and keep the copius number of food orders flowing from the kitchen. They are all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia N
Corby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

In the area for bank holiday. The Haywain was recommended by nearby campsite warden. So thought we'd pay a visit on the Sunday. Was hugely disappointed that although they were still advertising Sunday lunch on every table we saw, when I actually went to bar to order Sunday lunches I was informed they weren't doing Sunday lunches that day. Bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P

Travellers who viewed The Haywain also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Haywain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Constable Road, St Ives PE27 3EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 301519

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?