We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Hut

€€ - €€€, Seafood, British
| Watergate Bay Hotel, On The Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
+44 1637 860543
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“crab spaghetti” (44 reviews)
“burger” (143 reviews)
“fries” (37 reviews)
Opens in 29 min
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Watergate Bay Hotel, On The Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This is probably our 11th visit to the beach hut and the most disappointing. The atmosphere was brilliant as was the service. We were however really disappointed with our food. A lot of it was overcooked- the chicken in the burgers, the steak, the mussels....More

Thank softladLeeds
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We have been to the Beach Hut on our annual pilgrimage to Watergate Bay for the last four years and have loved each visit however this year was a disappointment. My wife’s bbq chicken burger had no taste of bbq but plenty of gristle this...More

Thank Russell K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have now done this twice in a week and each time found my meals average. Burger dry , steak over cooked and fatty. Kids both occasions enjoyed theirs and the mussels tasted great. Friendly staff but it’s riding on the location rather than the quality...More

Thank Jonathan D
Reviewed 1 week ago

Third time here for coffee with friends, £3.00 so you expect it to be ok.....but no, every single time it comes out half full of froth and stone cold....I give up, it's not that hard to make coffee hot.....won't be going back!!!

Thank Pixiedolphin67
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal here overlooking the beach with a world class sunset. Staff are friendly and welcoming and able to cater for small or larget parties. Will definitely be returning.

Thank Mimispeaksnolies
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, we are very lucky to be in a great location with amazing sunsets. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found this gem by sheer luck. Lovely decor,toilets and staff. Fantastic views of the bay. Slightly pricey. £3 for coffee and £5 for scones. Scones very excellent though. Must book in advance to get a much treasured window seat.

Thank 732MichaelW732
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you for writing a review. It's great to hear you found us by luck and had an enjoyable time. See you again soon. Kind regards, Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in with dog and family of three. Has nachos and drinks and was impressed. Great views. Lively and vibrant and the food looked amazing! Friendly chilled staff. Clean. Great spot.

Thank Sarah M
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Sarah, thank you for writing a review. I'm glad to hear the family enjoyed the food and views. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards, Mark

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went here for an early evening meal with our young grandchildren. The meals arrived for all of the adults - very nice crab spaghetti, ribeye steak, mussels etc, but our poor 5 year old granddaughter was left waiting ages for her burger - which...More

Thank mj75_11
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thank you for the review. I’m so sorry to hear the the service you received was not up to our usual standard and you left feeling disappointed. I will pass on your feedback to the team and hope that you will decide to re...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible from start to finish. We pre booked a table and on arrival we left standing at the entrance for 10-15 minutes before being seated. The restaurant was half empty and staff were laying tables that nobody sat at for the entire duration of our...More

Thank Lindsay W
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lindsay, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry that you had a bad experience. Please could you contact us at life@watergatebay.co.uk so that we can address each of your points directly. Kind regards Mark

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As we were waiting to go to ‘Jamie’s Fifteen’, we found the Beach Hut by chance. We simply had a couple of hot drinks whilst looking over the beach! Stunning views in a very tasteful and relaxed venue! The food looked great so may go...More

Thank flintinio17
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for the review. It's great to hear you found The Beach Hut by chance and were able to enjoy drinks whilst taking in the view. Next time make sure you stop for food. Kind regards, Mark

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel
1,513 reviews
.08 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1,052 reviews
1.78 km away
Whipsiderry Hotel
239 reviews
1.99 km away
Pendeen Hotel
46 reviews
2.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Zacry's Restaurant
185 reviews
.09 km away
WAX Watergate Bay
384 reviews
.15 km away
Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall
3,472 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Watergate Bay
653 reviews
.02 km away
Extreme Academy
34 reviews
.05 km away
Blue Surf School
46 reviews
1.52 km away
O'Neill Surf Academy
69 reviews
.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jai C
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MCHMF | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are allowed and welcomed. Really dog friendly restaurant and the dogs are given a bowl of water. Only thing needed would be a dog food menu
1
Vote
SammyanthaLouise
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Trudy C | Reviewed this property |
Hi There, You will love Watergate Bay Hotel, its faultless. The restaurant 15 was lovely food and great service but to be expected it is expensive. We chose wisely on the menu and kept it within our budget. Hope that helps... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$28
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 21:00
Monday
08:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 21:00
Thursday
08:30 - 21:00
Friday
08:30 - 21:00
Saturday
08:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Watergate Bay Hotel, On The Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Newquay
  • Phone Number: +44 1637 860543
  • E-mail
Description
The Beach Hut is well known as one of Cornwall's best beach-side hang-outs. Right on the sand at Watergate Bay, it's an easy, relaxed restaurant serving seasonal food amongst the hustle of beach life. Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner, the menu is classic. The views are fantastic. Rarely quiet, The Beach Hut is a vibrant venue where the buzz of conversation rivals the sound of the sea. Cornish fish will always be on the daily specials board and the menu is focused around steaks, burgers and shellfish with an emphasis on local, seasonal produce. Try the grilled Cornish rib-eye steak, the pulled pork sandwich or perhaps the Sri Lanka mussels with a side of sweet potato fries and chilli sea salt.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing