We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


) #1 of 2 Bakeries in Chester #217 of 437 Places to Eat in Chester €€ - €€€ Cafe, British
25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
+44 1244 344068
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good28%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (23 reviews)
“cream cake” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Cafe, British
€€ - €€€
25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For a light lunch on a Saturday shopping trip you could do worse. A bit pricey but well presented. Toasted sandwiches and s pot of tea in a nice, bright, clean environment. All in all a good place to be.

Thank Martyn J
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pleased to read you enjoyed your toasted sandwich and pot of tea. Thanks for taking the time to let us know.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a good strong cup of breakfast tea and a nicely made steak pie in this bright and clean shop. The main restaurant remains on the upper floor, but the small area for buying customers by the entrance was welcome.Staff pleasant and helpful.

Thank Boudin882
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will be back for another steak pie before too long.

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Just dropped in by chance looking for a quick snack and to be honest get out of the rain. Initial impressions were that this was a bakery with a few tables for coffee, looking a bit cramped and not a very welcoming place to sit...More

Thank John V
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Pleased that you enjoyed your coffee and danish, and we hope to serve you again soon in one of our stores.

Reviewed 18 May 2017

We called in on Chatwins for a snack/meal around midday and were frankly not satisfied with what we received. For more than £9.00 two of our party received toasted sandwiches which they were barely able to eat garnished with crisps which were anything but crisp....More

Thank Wil221
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry that the lunch was a disappointment to you. We are a local family business with a 100 year history, and are passionate about the quality of our product (we wouldn't have been in business that long if we...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Went in , ordered a sausage bap on brown, this is what I got. The only thing they managed to get right was to butter it 😂More

Thank BillTangerine
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Unfortunately you picked up the wrong bag. A lady had ordered a soup with a roll and you picked her bag up by mistake. Once we had realised the error a staff member did go out of the shop to find you, but unfortunately it...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Visited here with my wife for a snack. We had coffees, and shared a turkey bap. The bap was acceptable - although the quantity of turkey depends very much on who makes it, Ours had very little meat in it - but we noted that...More

Thank David B
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for the feedback. We do not employ temporary staff, but with it being Easter Sunday, we might not have had our regular staff in, so sorry if the service was not as good as you received last time.

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I used to love coming here for tea and cakes but now it's just a quick bite. We don't spend the time here anymore and that's a shame although I guess that's what management wants.i.e to make more money. To experience waitress...More

Thank westgate123
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks for visiting us again. As I mentioned in response to your last review, it was a difficult decision to do away with the waitress service, and I am sorry that you miss it.

Reviewed 3 April 2017

i go to chatwins at least once a week, the hogroast/ fresh meats they do is a filling and healthy choice, brown bap turkey straight of the joint cant go wrong

Thank Philip F
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Pleased you enjoyed your hot roast carvery bap, thanks for the feedback and we shall look forward to seeing you next week.

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for somewhere different to the usual big chain cafes for your shopping pit stop, then this is a great option! Good selection of hot and cold food. The fresh doorstop toast is a guaranteed crowd pleaser!

Thank Jenny S
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Great to hear you loved our doorstep, hard to beat with a little melted butter. Thanks for the review.

Reviewed 11 March 2017

I was waiting for the Roman tour and needed lunch. I got a jacket potato and it was filling. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was a little better than the food.

Thank Michelle B
Chatwins, Owner at Chatwins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thanks for the feedback. Glad you found the service friendly.

Nearby Restaurants
The Chef's Table
989 reviews
.04 km away
Ginger Wine Bar and Delicatessen
267 reviews
.10 km away
Cheshire Sandwich Company
310 reviews
.11 km away
Veeno Italian Wine Cafe
98 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Cathedral
3,429 reviews
.08 km away
Chester Cathedral Falconry and Nature Gardens
287 reviews
.07 km away
Chester Rows
833 reviews
.12 km away
Booth Mansion
66 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Do you still sell chocolate swiss rolls
17 November 2016|
Response from Chatwins | Property representative |
Hi Thanks for contacting us, always good to hear from our customers. Yes we still sell a Chocolate and also a Jam Swiss Roll, but not all shops stock it, but you can always order it in if they don't have it.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
09:00 - 17:00
08:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 18:00
08:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 344068
  • E-mail
Estblished in 1913, this family Bakers have been serving the people of South Cheshire with award winning Bakery products for over 100 years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing