We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hoole Village

Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
+44 1244 301391
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“custard” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (21 reviews)
“roast dinner” (10 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 524 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We went here whilst on our way to pick up our daughter up from Chester, and it was lovely. Food was hot, plentiful and tasty and the staff were great. We seemed to have had a totally different experience to the negative comments on here....More

Thank maruott
Reviewed yesterday

Food appeared fine as expected. Carpets and tables are old. Large accommodation capable of handling crowds of people, although almost empty on the day we visited. Outside areas were rather dirty. I became ill but but do not suspect the food being at fault.

Thank Top_Tourer_2009
Reviewed 5 days ago

Best offers quick service, two roast dinners for a tenner, can,t beat it. Will deffo go back next time we are in the area

Thank 300,147
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

300147, thank you so much for your high rating!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven’t been to Toby in so long and this visit definitely didn’t disappoint!! Even though we waited for the Yorkshire puddings the food was brilliant as always, and all the staff were incredibly lovely! Shout out to Paul, the newly named Food Goddess. He definitely...More

Thank toni-jayne s
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Toni-jayne S, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Hoole Village!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Now I've got to be honest. We went on a day where there were definitely issues and they were short-staffed. What I have to say is that the staff put their heart and soul into keeping the show running. They tried so hard to keep...More

Thank mulberrym00n
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Mulberrym00n, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to this Toby carvery three times in total, only actually eaten once. First time we went was a busy Sunday afternoon, food was average/ poor and not really what you expect from a Toby, but due to it being a Sunday we thought we...More

1  Thank David J
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

David J, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience. We did have a few problems with the carvery deck not reaching temperature the last week and had technicians out on a couple of occasions. I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the outside bins were overflowing we had to wait 10 minuits to be seated because there was no one there the carver was rude and only gave two slices of meat when I asked for another slice he was very brusk and said we have...More

Thank adrian1955
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Adrian, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on Sunday night after our break to Wales, all the staff were lovely but especially charlotte who went above and beyond for my son who wasn't feeling well, he wouldn't order any food and she offered to get him a bowl of...More

Thank Sammy C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sammy C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Hoole Village! Go Charlotte!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the Toby Carvery very good, and being next door to the Travelodge was great, we didn't have to worry about where we would go to eat. It was nice and clean and the staff were very friendly. We did think that although we...More

Thank Janice P
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Janice P, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Toby Carvery Hoole Village!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cavery is the best in town,pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff , Four different meats and a large varity of vegatables, Value for money.

Thank daveandfredae
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Daveandfredae, thank you so much for the positive review!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Piper
270 reviews
1.13 km away
Meadow Lea Farm Cafe
72 reviews
1.41 km away
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Chester
764 reviews
.80 km away
The Bird in Hand
69 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Zoo
11,127 reviews
2.92 km away
Chester Canal
233 reviews
3.07 km away
Chester Music Theatre
13 reviews
2.52 km away
St. Paul's Church
9 reviews
2.78 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Davepj1963
16 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Amanda_and_Liam | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't have Sky tv at this time
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Buffet
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 301391
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing