We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fish House Ely

The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England
+44 1353 662720
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (32 reviews)
“curry” (2 reviews)
“chip shop” (8 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 20:00 Hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Seafood
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What can I say... This is THE BEST fish and chip shop in Ely and surrounding areas. Seating inside and out, the staff are happy and helpful too so it's a win/win when you stop here 😊

Thank Passion-Arabians
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for you kind comments and the time to write a review, I know the team will be happy to hear this.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this place on Saturday having been before - the fish and chips are always nice, taste fresh, and the restaurant area is nice. I guess you can forgive them slightly as it was a Saturday evening and they looked very busy, however on...More

Thank Smile_180
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review and may I apologies for the service you received, I will speak to the staff regarding our customer service on Saturday because you did not expect too much, not sure what happened...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we made a day trip to ely and decided to try some food from this place to take away , we carried it to the river side which isnt far away and ate it on a nice bench , very tasty fresh fish and chips...More

Thank steveo3002
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, also nice to read you enjoyed your meal and your day in Ely.

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

We had heard such good things about this fish and chip shop so we stopped by one lunch time. Food was amazing, cost was great and the staff are so friendly. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Thank Passion-Arabians
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments and for the time to write a review.

Reviewed 14 July 2018

we are regulars at this fish and chip shop - great food and normally good service. Visited tonight and it was not up to standard waited 25 minutes for 2 cod and chips. the usual staff weren't there and they didn't know what they were...More

Thank tillyme
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

First of all please accept my apologise for the service you received the other evening as we do pride ourselves on our customer service, we do have some new staff members and I will try to establish what went wrong as this is unacceptable. Thank...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We were in Ely for the weekend and just fancied some fish and chips for dinner. Read other reviews and tried it, so glad we did. We ate in and it was lovely, fresh fish, hot, lovely crisp batter and the chips great. Very large...More

1  Thank gasman22
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Glad to read you enjoyed your meal with us, thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review.

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Brilliant, they tell you there will be 10 scampi and there are. So much better than the childsize portions one sometimes gets in pub fish and chips. Everyone is so nice here and they can’t do enough for you. Proper well nice!

Thank singledinercam
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback and for your time to write a review, I will pass on your comments to our team.

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Really tasty fish and chips. We had to go back twice! The mini meal is excellent value. There's a lovely courtyard to sit in at the back.

Thank stephgalway2017
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

Reviewed 12 April 2018

Very well run Fish and chip shop. It cost more to eat in. £17.80 for two fish and chips with bread and butter and two large mugs of tea. Perfectly cooked. Very clean.

Thank 126aflie
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your meal with us.

Reviewed 10 April 2018

This is somewhere I would not think twice about going into. Clean enough and fish and chips fine. If you are feeling a bit hungry while shopping not a bad place.

Thank _fieldviewgc
Barry S, Owner at The Fish House Ely, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review , it is much appreciated.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Ely
Lamb Hotel
609 reviews
.29 km away
Poets House
718 reviews
.50 km away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
55 reviews
.68 km away
Travelodge Ely
448 reviews
1.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lucyat35
66 reviews
.12 km away
Samovar Tea House
193 reviews
.10 km away
Ely Turkish Restaurant & Meze Bar
136 reviews
.12 km away
The Almonry
470 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ely Cathedral
2,377 reviews
.22 km away
The Stained Glass Museum
191 reviews
.27 km away
Oliver Cromwell's House
537 reviews
.48 km away
Ely Museum
114 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nick B
21 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
Many thanks for your quick reply, I will follow up on the poor quality of the chips you purchased.
0
Votes
Charles F
5 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
Hi Charles, I can confirm that the Fish House Ely has nothing to do with the Petrou Bros, I have spoken with Tripadvisor to try and get them removed but it is proving very difficult.
1
Vote
Barry F
5 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Barry S | Property representative |
We are a 2 minute walk from the Waitrose car park in Brays Lane CB7 4QJ, please be aware that parking is limited to 2 hours but is free of charge. Thank you for you enquiry and we hope you visit us.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$9
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 23:59
Monday
11:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 19:00
Thursday
11:00 - 19:00
Friday
11:00 - 20:00
Saturday
11:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Fish House 5 Market Place, Ely CB7 4NU, England (Formerly Petrou Brothers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Ely
  • Phone Number: +44 1353 662720
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing