We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grouse and Claret

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
+44 1629 733233
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 497: English reviews
Stramshall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed on the caravan site, needs some TLC, grass cutting, showers no heating cold , mole hills very where, fine grit on hard standing needs gravel. £25 per night a little steep for march... could be a lovely site

Helpful?
Thank jennieplant
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review Hi Thank you for your review We are currently working on all of the points you have raised, the moles are now sorted, (Not easy to catch) The shower blocks get cleaned twice a day but the gravel gets in straight after cleaning (we have left... More 

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent choice on main menu and a bite size one too. Sat in the conservatory and there was no noise from the busy road outside the windows, but we were offered seats inside .Tables cleared and cleaned as soon as people left. The drinks we chose were all available by the glass which can often be a problem My dietary... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review We hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and the Grouse and Claret Team More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good food, reasonably priced, nice place to eat, I would say dont just turn up, book a table or you might be in for a wait

Helpful?
Thank krobinson567
Paul D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and yes we do suggest to book, then we can get staffing levels correct and provide great service. hope to see you again soon :-) Adam More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was passing , needed a bite , gor an excellent lunch with good service . I can recommend the rotisserie chicken , one of the better roast chickeens I have had out . I had the mushroom sauce and asian coleslaw with yam chips as my sides , all good , served quickly and efficiently , all at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilltopOxon
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great review We hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and The Grouse and Claret Team More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recommended at short notice, this hotel/restaurant is to the rear of the Peak Outlet Retail Park at Rowsley. We arrived at opening time and were lucky to get the last table, so I strongly recommend booking in advance. (01629 733 233) The menu is based on chicken and the food is well cooked and presented. The surroundings are pleasant (18th... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Paul and Tina D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Such a great review and has been passed on to all staff members that worked that afternoon. They are delighted, as it was such a busy shift and nice to see all their hard work payed off with such nice reviews :-) Thank you Adam More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Always makes you apprehensive when you read a couple of poor reviews but we were pleasantly suprised with the grouse. Well situated for the local sights and always good food with marstons. Our room was clean and tidy and fairly modern while the staff were polite. Would not hesitate in returning.

Helpful?
Thank jammi800
Paul and Tina D, Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. The staff work so hard to see nice reviews on tripadvisor. Any negative comments are always rectified immediately and the issues raised are improved on. We look forward to seeing you again soon :-) Adam More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

We often call at this restaurant when we're out walking in our wonderful Derbyshire countryside.When we called a few weeks ago, we could not find the £6 menu advertised outside & asked a member of staff who produced one. Visited again last week & noticed they were again not on the table. The staff member brought us two from under... More 

Helpful?
Thank gregnig
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback, This is certainly not mine or Marstons policy the £6 menu offer is to encourage customers to visit us Monday - Friday in the winter months and is available to all customers, I will speak to the team to ensure that the menu's are on all tables. Hope to see you soon Regards Paul,... More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017

Excellent food. especially the half chicken with piri piri sauce and sweet potato fries. Best prawn cocktail I've had in a restaurant for a very long time. Plenty of prawns with an excellent taste. Well priced drinks. service by waitress very very good. Unfortunately she left before we were able to thank her properly.

Helpful?
Thank 797iank
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great review We hope to see you again soon Regards Paul, Tina and The Grouse and Claret Team More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 16 for a friends leaving do. Although we had a very pleasant evening the food left a lot to be desired. To start with the white wine we ordered was warm, even though it arrived in wine coolers! We had to ask for ice to put in the coolers. We all suffered cold food served... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicky P
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the food you received was cold and the wine warm, I will feedback to the team the issues you have raised to ensure we do not have a repeat performance, Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you soon. Regards Paul, Tina and The Grouse and Claret Team More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Grouse and Claret. The new management have made the hotel a friendly and welcoming place to relax, sleep and eat at. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. Ok, the food....... it is Marstons food menu, however, the food is good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sid_and_Candice_L
Paul and Tina D, General Manager at Grouse and Claret, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind review, I am glad all of the hard work that the management team and staff are putting in is paying off, we really do work hard to ensure that every customer has a great stay/dining experience with us, we take all feedback seriously and use it to better the standards and service that we... More 

Travellers who viewed Grouse and Claret also viewed

Rowsley, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Rowsley, Peak District National Park
 
Rowsley, Peak District National Park
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Grouse and Claret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bakewell Road, Rowsley, Peak District National Park DE4 2EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Rowsley
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 733233
Description
The Grouse and Claret in Rowsley is a beautiful 18th Century building at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, with hotel accommodation in the shape of eight en-suite rooms. It is situated on the A6 between Matlock and Bakewell, within easy reach of Chesterfield, Sheffield, Derby and Manchester, and is therefore ideally located for tourists exploring the region as well as business travellers. The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself and you can be sure to find something to tempt you from our extensive food menu which is available all day. Our selection of hot meals includes pub classics as well as a constantly changing selection of specials. We have a range of specially selected wines along with cask ales and a choice of soft drinks, tea and coffee. Room prices include our fantastic breakfast and the Grouse and Claret Hotel also provides plenty of free parking space for hotel and dining guests.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Grouse and Claret and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grouse and Claret staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?