We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Welcome to The Royal Oak in the heart of the Peak District. We have been here since October 2018 working hard to give all our customers the very best experience. Our quirky pub dates back to mid 1700's and we have lots of history including a full list of previous landlords dating back to 1760! We are set in the white peaks area of the Peak District National Park where you can enjoy some of the most beautiful walks in the English countryside. We are just a cock stride from Thor’s cave and minutes away from Buxton, Bakewell, Hulme End, Ecton, Ilam, Alstonfield, Dove Dale, Matlock and for the more adventurous less than 30 minutes drive from Alton Towers… Our menu contains delicious real homemade
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (553)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
318
134
39
25
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
318
134
39
25
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pudding pie royal oak the pub peak district beer garden real ale bar staff open fire great beer couldn t warm welcome food was lovely friendly atmosphere on tap well worth a visit
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful food, great service would definately recommend, staff helpful and accommodating, nothing was to much trouble, we ate here for 4 nights, music was good and food very good value

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your kind words, it’s lovely to hear and i will be sure to pass this feedback on to our staff. We hope to see you again when you are in the area. Kindest regards, Diane

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in on the off chance after a visit to Thors cave, 7 off us plus a dog. The barman/landlord couldn’t have been more accommodating, had a laugh and joke with the kids, let us open a tab, and even sorted the Dog out with...his own hot dogs! I assume the landlady was also very helpful when sorting food and drink choices, the food was lovely and came staggered so we could help the kids eat before the adults arrived It’s tucked in the middle of the village but is a real gem, and if you park and visit Thors cave then it’s the perfect finish point. Highly recommended by us and that’s largely down to the staff running it. Proper village pub 👍More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, our staff work hard making our guests feel welcome and it is a pleasure that you felt your visit was enjoyable. Hope you visit us again in the future. Kindest regards, Diane

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten at this pub in the past but called in around 4.15pm on a Saturday afternoon for a drink after a 20 mile run over the Peak District National Park. The barman was very unwelcoming. He didn’t smile or treat us in a...welcoming manner. The first thing he told us was that the pub was due to shut at 5pm as they needed a rest before serving evening meals. As it was 4.15pm we were happy we would have time to drink our beer before 5pm. Although the place was full of people who were drinking at tables (probably after having eaten lunch there) we were told that, as we were only having a drink, we would have to sit outside and could not sit any of the tables within the building as they had been set for dinner. We tried sitting at a table that still had all the dirty plates and glasses on from somebody’s lunchtime meal but were told we couldn’t even sit there. One of our party was very cold after the long run but we had no choice but to sit in the garden and it wasn’t a particularly warm afternoon. It really felt like he was not remotely interested in serving us or having us in the pub at all. We felt very unwelcome. Not a good impression for customers to receive at all.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your feedback. Firstly you have stated you have eaten at our venue in the past but I don’t see any other feedback left. Over a busy weekend we can serve a very large number of guests and have received lots of excellent reviews....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm greeting and the smell of an open fire, I’m a fussy Ale drinker and was not disappointed with a good local craft on tap, Yum. After a busy day walking we were ready for hopefully some dinner with Vegetables, lots of.. We ordered on...site made Chicken, Leek pie with Mash & Veg and me liking Vegetables as much as I do I ordered a side of Veg.. No need really because there was plenty with the dish ordered from the menu… Vegetables were al dente, perfect! Pie was a treat and flavoursome.. Very friendly place sadly the dinner filled me up that much I couldn’t have pudding nor more Ale … Thank you Ant and AmandaMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your feedback! It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our food. I will be sure to pass this on to our staff as they will be over the moon. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Diane

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal Sunday night, we ordered the very delicious pot pie and would thoroughly recommend it. My husband is a vegan and nothing was too much trouble they were very accommodating and went out of their way to find him a desert he could...have. I couldn’t fault anything, and it’s dog friendly which is always a bonus!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely words, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your vegan apple cider pot pie which was made in our own kitchen. We love to go above and beyond to ensure our guests feel at home when they visit us. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Sunday dinner was very disappointing. Nothing homemade- frozen Yorkshire pudding, potatoes and veg! Nearly £50 for food and drinks for 2 adults and 2 children too.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. Our giant Yorkshire puddings have been a great hit and guests have fed back to us that they love them. Our roast potatoes are fresh and home roasted in our very own kitchen and only ever fresh vegetables used and certainly...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. We popped in by chance after a walk up to Thor's cave. The staff were lovely, really friendly to my whole family including my 5yo daughter and 10month old baby. Food was delicious, in fact my daughter reckons her kids meal was the...best fish fingers and beans she's ever tasted. Husband was very happy with his burger and I too with my roast jam baguette. Great beer too! Thank you for being so welcoming. I've already recommended you to many people. We'll be back!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Found The Royal Oak when our planned lunch stop was closed and found a warm welcome and good homemade pub grub - special mention to the pot pies and burger and the sunny garden.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

Out on a day trip to thors cave called into The Royal Oak for something to eat but was a bit cautious with all the bad reviews but felt welcomed as soon we walked through the door, the bar staff looked after us and was...seated promptly they even went to fetch some dog treats and a bowl of water for our dog. The menu was very appealing and was spoilt for choice which took us a while to decide, we had the chefs special of Aglio e Olio which was very mouth watering and well presented…Excellent staff and excellent, would recommend visiting The Royal Oak and we will return againMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 August 2022 via mobile

A fantastic country pub, set in the heart of the beautiful Peak District. The pub is situated in the center of of Wetton, a pretty little village which is nestled in the depths of the Manifold Valley. It was a welcome find after a challenging...walk from the local Thor’s Cave. The pub itself is well maintained, with depths of character, and has a true ‘country pub feel’. The beer garden was really spacious, and had a nice feel to it. Their pies were absolutely delicious - the chicken and ham pot pie was really scrumptious. You can tell all the food is real and homemade. Great selection of well kept, local ales, with really knowledgeable and helpful bar staff. Dog friendly too, which was a big bonus. Definitely worth a visit if you’re looking for a traditional country pub in a picturesque location, with good-quality food and local ale.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Thanks for your lovely words, we are over the moon you have had a great time here and enjoyed our homemade pies and real ales. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards, Diane

Reviewed 12 August 2022

If you like gravy granules and white bread your ok, Had a Sunday Lunch here . The Lamb was minuscule. The roast potatoes looked more like boiled and the veg was frozen. CRAP CRAP CRAP. Don't go here it is awful . The Black Lion...in Butterton is so much better, as is the Manifold Inn in Upper Hulme. The People that run this pub are nasty and complain about everything including the local charity run kids camp.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2022

We’re sorry to hear about your bad experience. Unfortunately, we’ve taken a look through our booking system and cannot find any evidence of your stay with us. Can you please get in touch with us privately so we can sort this issue out together?

Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

We visited as a walk in while holidaying in Thorpe. We queued at the bar for a while, which was fine as they were busy. The barman, presumably the manager too, was explaining something to the young girl behind the bar who was trying to...input another customers order. There was lots of eye rolling from both of them behind each other’s backs, which made for an uncomfortable wait watching this interaction between the two, with a bar of about 6 people also waiting to be served. We were served quickly with our drinks and ordered the food. We waited around 20 minutes, which considering how busy they were wasn’t a problem, when the barman announced loudly that our table and another hadn’t received their food yet. Not sure why this needed announcing as it did? The menu was bar food, with only one roast meat option, which was disappointing on a Sunday. We expected a couple of options of roast. The specials board was wiped clean so no daily specials either. The food was presented well, my husband ordered the steak and ale pie while I had the vegetarian enchiladas. We had to request some gravy for the pie which, was met with a ‘I don’t know, I’ll go and check’ but was delivered swiftly. The food was alright, my enchiladas were swimming in grease and weren’t spicy at all but the rest was tasty. The meals are clearly homemade as they were presented in small dishes which is nice to see. We were the only ones sat in the bar, so we overheard quite a bit of moaning from the staff, which was a bit off putting. They were clearly busy as it was a warm Sunday afternoon but as a paying customer I didn’t need to hear all about it. After we had finished, we weren’t offered the option of more drinks or dessert, so we decided to leave and go to a different pub where we knew the welcome would be much warmer. As we came to leave, the barman was stood in the doorway blocking our exit berating a young waitress, we had to ask him to move so we could get out of the building. All in all, we wish we’d gone elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Thanks for your detailed review. Having spoken to all the staff that worked the Sunday shift they all confirmed there was no tension between staff at all, in fact our staff worked extra hard given that we were short staffed and the weather was hot...More

Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

We had lunch here before walking to Thor's cave. Friendly family run pub with outdoor seating. Lite bite choices in lunch menu in addition to normal cooked meals. Drinks and meals for 5 came to £67. It's a good spot for lunch if you're walking...around Thor's Cave and want something more substantial than what Wetton Mill Tea Rooms can offer.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Thanks for your feedback! its lovely to hear you had a great time here. We are over the moon to offer food at exceptional prices, we do try to stay competitive where we can whilst still providing our customers with excellent service. Please visit us...More

Reviewed 31 July 2022

We hadn't booked but were walking in the area and wanted dinner. We managed to get the last indoor table and ended up spending 3 hours here. It was everything we could have hoped for. Very efficient friendly staff who went the extra mile, including...calling loads of taxi companies until one was available. We had three different local beers that were very well kept. Our food was really good pub grub with a home-cooked feel and my pie was out of this world - one of the best pies I have ever had! Very reasonable prices. An old, comfy country pub with a pretty beer garden. One interesting feature was the compete list of every innkeeper since 1760. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Diane H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Thanks for your lovely words, we are pleased that you enjoyed our food and that our prices are reasonable. We take great pride in providing our guests the best experience and value for money. It was our pleasure in helping you to locate a taxi...More

Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

The staff are friendly and professional. The beer is well kept and the choice is good. Wine is okay. Very popular. The baked Camembert was tasty with well cooked garlic bread. We ate our mains but felt the chips were a little soggy. The veggie...burger was tasteless. Fish tasted good but the batter was soggy. Peas were lovely.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Charles Cotton Hotel
1,335 reviews
5.36 km away
The Izaak Walton Country House Hotel
1,092 reviews
5.71 km away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
656 reviews
5.97 km away
The Crewe & Harpur
114 reviews
9.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Old School Tea Room
188 reviews
.10 km away
The George Alstonefield
1,130 reviews
2.21 km away
The Black Lion Inn Butterton
69 reviews
3.60 km away
The Manifold Inn Restaurant & Bar
279 reviews
3.92 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Thor's Cave
167 reviews
1.17 km away
Manifold Way
94 reviews
1.31 km away
St Peter's Church
5 reviews
2.31 km away
Manifold Craft Barn
13 reviews
3.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jayne A
3 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Graham H | Reviewed this property |
sorry, no idea
0
Votes
JoMama_12
4 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rowenab351 | Reviewed this property |
you need to contact the pub directly.
0
Votes
JoMama_12
4 April 2018|
Answer
Response from ringsingding | Property representative |
Hello, you should be ok but we'd be more than happy to reserve you a table, it's really not a problem, just let me know what time and we'll have one ready for you. Thanks Ian & Lou
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROYAL OAK, Wetton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak

Yes, The Royal Oak offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Royal Oak is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Royal Oak is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5