We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$35
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
features, about
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
289
126
33
23
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
289
126
33
23
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding burger salad pie royal oak the pub peak district friendly landlord great beer roaring fire warm welcome booked a table couldn t food was lovely at lunchtime plum porter long walk
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Two days away without the family. Just me and the bike. I was made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Food was great and choice of real ale well kept and from locally sourced breweries. All staff were pleasant and couldn’t do enough...for me. Real ale and real people!! I will definitely return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very welcoming, friendly and approachable staff. A beautiful pub in a lovely setting. Very clean with rooms that have been thought out. The food is amazing and price's are reasonable. We very much enjoyed our stay and would've stayed longer if we didn't have home...commitments. Booked to return. Would highly recommend this place to all. You will not be disappointed.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, excellent beer, friendly staff and a pleasant land & landlady. What`s not to like on a hot May bank holiday Sunday. Fast becoming becoming one of the best pubs in the Peak certainly for walkers and serious drinkers alike. Paul J R Sutton...ColdfieldMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks very much for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Diane & Richard

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Royal Oak for a few nights. Its a family run pub and nothing was too much trouble. The decor is contemporary and no expense has been spared! Our room was gorgeous and the bed was really comfy. The staff were brilliant...and they even reserved us a table for the duration of our stay so we didn't have to bother booking a table. On arrival we were greeted by Vicky and she made us most welcome. For breakfast we had a choice of cereal fruits and yoghurts plus a full English, which was all included with the price of the room.. The breakfast was really nice and cooked to perfection. The dining areas have been recently refurbed and so it was an absolute pleasure to sit inside and out. We loved the undercover dining area outside. The family really do go above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The menus were simple with just enough on and all reasonably priced, I had the steak and ale pot pie which we weren't disappointed with. Some places advertise homemade and this truly was. My husband had the rump steak and he said it was the best steak he has had in a long time. The peppercorn sauce was just right. All in all we would definitely recommend staying there. Great staff, tasty homemade food and fabulous beers. You are doing great guys. thanks again and we will be back.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your kind words, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Diane & Richard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This country pub is situated next to a beautiful B and B in a picturesque village but is unfortunately rather tired and needs some aesthetic work to improve the ambiance of the outside eating area and the toilets in general. We sat outside and the...girls serving were polite and friendly. However service was rather haphazard as we had to ask for cutlery and when it was brought we only had 2 forks for 4 of us so had to go back in. The food was ok but the peppercorn sauce was very thick and gloopy and dark brown in colour whereas usually a peppercorn sauce is creamy in appearance. I understand from the owner that they are undergoing some refurbishments to the pub which will improve the appearance of the outside area in general . The waitresses were clearly busy and the owner has personally replied to me and not on Tripadvisor offering a refund ( kind but this is unnecessary) and we did leave a tip for the waitresses because they were trying their best.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for taking time to write your second review, i apologize for the delay in replying this time we have been super busy looking after our customers. Our beautiful pub is 400 + years old and we first took over the pub in October 2018....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today for a birthday meal food was very nice but portions could be a little larger. Main meals had same amount of chips as kids meals and only a little bigger overall. Drinks were expensive. We had to be charged for a kids half...of coke and this was £3 when we questioned it were told yes its £3 extra. ( were first told had not been charged for 2 cokes but we had only had one). Not sure if we're still charged for 2 no itemised bill given only offer card receipt. In summary good food not great potions sizes and drinks expensive.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. I'm not quite sure i understand as we are constantly commended on our large portion sizes. Children's food is designed for under 8 only, However, we don't mind guests ordering smaller portions for the main menu if you have a smaller...More

Reviewed 12 May 2021

We stopped on our way to Thors Cave and were not expecting too much as we hadn't done any research. The waitress was very friendly and we had a lovely goats cheese tart and the most delicious chips. A very pleasing stumble

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for you lovely words. It was a real pleasure looking after you and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your food. Kind regards, Diane & Richard

Reviewed 3 May 2021

We've just had a small family celebration at The Royal Oak and we were delighted with all aspects of our visit. Happy atmosphere, great food, and the service received by all staff was outstanding. Very highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2021

Thanks John for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to accommodate you and your family and we are thrilled that you had a lovely time here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards, Diane & Richard.

Reviewed 21 April 2021

Decent food. But despite waiting for over and hour our food didn't arrive. When enquired we realised our order didn't somehow reach the kitchen. We had kids with us who after long walk in the peaks were tired and hungry. We understand mistakes do happen...but the attitude of staff was anything but compassionate. Would never visit again nor recommend it to anyone.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2021

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your orders did not go into the kitchen, given our first weekend opening and the number of diners we accommodated meant that our staff were rushed off their feet. As you well know we apologised profusely for...More

Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

We had a nice outside meal whilst staying in the area. Pre booked a table online. It was the first day of opening and staff were welcoming and friendly. People stopping for meals and drinks.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Richard H, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thanks so much for your kind words. It was really lovely to see guests enjoying themselves in the beer garden. Please call again if you are in the area. Kind regards, Diane

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Charles Cotton Hotel
1,256 reviews
5.36 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
963 reviews
5.71 km away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
595 reviews
5.97 km away
The Crewe & Harpur
114 reviews
9.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Old School Tea Room
177 reviews
.10 km away
The George Alstonefield
1,053 reviews
2.21 km away
The Manifold Inn Restaurant & Bar
254 reviews
3.92 km away
The Greyhound Inn
185 reviews
4.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Thor's Cave
145 reviews
1.17 km away
Manifold Way
85 reviews
1.31 km away
St Peter's Church
5 reviews
2.31 km away
Manifold Craft Barn
13 reviews
3.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jayne A
3 March 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Graham H | Reviewed this property |
sorry, no idea
0
Votes
JoMama_12
4 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rowenab351 | Reviewed this property |
you need to contact the pub directly.
0
Votes
JoMama_12
4 April 2018|
Answer
Response from ringsingding | Property representative |
Hello, you should be ok but we'd be more than happy to reserve you a table, it's really not a problem, just let me know what time and we'll have one ready for you. Thanks Ian & Lou
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Oak

Yes, The Royal Oak offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Royal Oak offers delivery services.

The Royal Oak is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5