We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King William IV

€€ - €€€, British,
Chishill Road, Heydon SG8 8PW, England
+44 1763 838773
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chishill Road, Heydon SG8 8PW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I booked a meal for 16 Guests including 4 teenagers. Our table was not ready on arrival we had to simply stand around whilst it was made up. The place was not busy. After an hour we still had no drinks and our food order...More

Thank Mabof
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had been when the place was dirty staff poor and the food reheated in a microwave Now it is better Although the menu hasn’t changed much the wine and staff have so it’s a real improvement Although a bit pricey food wise the dust...More

Thank Anna v
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for this review .... You are absolutely right about the King William being under new management. It is early days and we are striving to make improvements every week. The menu will be reviewed in the new year, however there are plenty of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Cosy pub, friendly staff, prompt service and great food.....what's not to like? The dark chocolate and raspberry retro trifle is to die for.

Thank dougalmcdougal
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

BIG thank you for such a nice review. Do come and see us soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a lovely lunch, but was spoiled by Restaurant being so cold, I had guests with me, who complained of being cold throughout their dining. We have been going to King William for a number of years, and this last experience have left us...More

Thank _sandrarose_lester1
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry for you feeling the cold. its an issue that we are aware of and are trying to fix. Do come and again and by all means check whether we have rectified the room temperatures.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stumbled upon this place by accident, and had a lovely Saturday lunch. Cosy pub, friendly stuff, and the food was great - tasty, nicely cooked and excellent portions!! They were also very tolerant of our little children, and had a very reasonable children's menu. Overall,...More

Thank McMahonSydney
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Do come back to see us anytime, we pride ourselves on our food and hospitality. Yes, the garden is lovely in the Summer but do visit before then!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely lazy Saturday lunch with friends and the service was on the whole excellent. A little disappointing though that when my husband pointed out to the woman serving behind the bar that they'd forgotten to add on our first round of drinks...More

Thank Carol H
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a nice review and thank you so much for highlighting the fact that we had missed off your drinks. I am so sorry that no one thanked you for your honesty! Do come and see us again soon!

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

This is a place that serves good vegetarian food and yet on a Sunday there was no vegetarian roast on offer. Not only that but when roast potatoes were requested we were informed that not only were they reserved for the roast dinners but also...More

2  Thank Josie R
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Josie, many thanks for your review, I'm just sorry your experience was as described. We are investigating who might have served you as there is a vegitarian roast on (perhaps sold out?) each Sunday and we do NOT cook our Roast Potatoes in Goose Fat!...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

have been going here for many years and I'm sad to say its not as it use to be, noticed as soon as we walked in it was half empty in comparison to years gone by when it was always busy which made for a...More

Thank Twiglet1812
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we have noted your comments and communicated them to our team. We would have liked to address any issues on the day, however,when you return, do let us know so we can ensure your visit is memorable for all the...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Heavenly lunch at this gem of a pub . Best steak and kidney pudding and very generous helpings all round. The new manager Liam was so helpful and informative without being obtrusive. Should have booked a room as we didn't want to leave!

Thank seangrace
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

BIG thanks for taking the time to communicate this to us, we love to meet, if not, exceed peoples expectations and so happy we have!

Reviewed 19 October 2017

After eating at the King William we were disappointed on this occasion and it seemed that it had had a change of ownership (staff) The bar staff were good and friendly but the staff waiting in the restaurant were very junior and inexperienced. Food was...More

Thank Mackie1967
Gillian M, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments and my apologies that your experience was not up to our usual standards. Please let us know when you are returning, so we can ensure you have a warm place to sit and your meals exceed expectations!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pheasant
157 reviews
1.07 km away
The Red Cow
146 reviews
1.56 km away
The Chequers
172 reviews
3.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kingsway Golf Centre
25 reviews
6.79 km away
RSPB Fowlmere Nature Reserve
46 reviews
6.94 km away
IWM Duxford
3,200 reviews
7.33 km away
Royston Cave
40 reviews
7.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from King William IV staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chishill Road, Heydon SG8 8PW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Heydon
  • Phone Number: +44 1763 838773
  • E-mail
Description
Our 16th Century Inn is set in the heart of the glorious Cambridgeshire countyside yet only one hour's drive from London or twenty minutes from the beautiful University city of Cambridge. We serve real ales and an excellent selection of bar meals. The restaurant is a perfect for a romantic evening for two or a party of up to 70. An excellent venue for business lucheon or dinner parties by arrangement. Please note that our opening hours are slightly different to our serving hours. Serving Times: Mon-Fri: 12:00-2:00 pm 6:00 - 9:30 pm Sat: 12:00-9:30 pm Sun: 12:00-9:00 pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing