We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Al Forno

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
34 Anzac Street | Takapuna, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
+64 9-488 0179
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 172: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

One of the best Italian places in Auckland. The food is delicious and true to traditional Italian food. Highly recommend to anyone, you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Maria, we miss you already :) The food was good, the selection of Italian wine is now minimal, the prices even higher. Service: a sudden change from mediterranean flair to friendly kiwi blokes. I wish them luck. However, I heard other saying, they are now greedy.

Helpful?
Thank Felix T
Al F, Owner at Al Forno, responded to this review

Hi Felix, thanks for taking the time to post a review. Its very important to us our customers enjoy their experience at Al Forno so its great to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Since taking over we have introduced five new Italian wines and removed two which has resulted in an increased number of Italian on our wine... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner the other night at Al Forno and it was our first time since the new owners took over.  We were nervous things may have changed but were pleased to say everything was just as we expected.  We had our usual meals being the calamari entrée, scaloppine marsala and Al Forno pizza. They were all absolutely delicious and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will_Traveller12
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

New owners !!!! Always a shock to regulars when they have not been told about the change over. menu has not changed, wine list has not changed. This is a good move by new owners, they were very welcoming. Food as good not great. Just felt like we were being pushed to finish early to turn the table over, however... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidjohnstone
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Great food, great service and all at a good price. Free desert because we had to wait 5mins. Really fantastic Italian food.

Helpful?
Thank tiddlesmango
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Good food, good service. It was busy but not too noisy. Interesting menu.Booking essential as we went on a midweek evening and had to go early, or after 8-00.

Helpful?
Thank DavidEWellington
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This is the most fabulous Italian food and service I have had in NZ. The service is great and the Team very welcoming and informative about the menu. The highlight for me was the aglio e olio, it was delicious and authentic Absolutely recommend this place

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Long standing regulars who booked here for Saturday and despite tables being available got the dreaded swinging kitchen door - dunny access table. Here's a tip for the new owners, it was obvious we were regulars from the way we engaged with the previous owners. And, we'd taken time out to book. So, a better seating placement would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank J P
Alfornotakapuna, Owner at Al Forno, responded to this review

Hi JP, thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We appreciate our customers can be disappointed when their preferred table is unavailable. On this occasion, the table you requested was unavailable because another longstanding regular had requested that table over a week in advance for his wife 60th birthday. We do our best to fulfil table preferences... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Wonderful Italian food - authentic, loved the family type atmosphere and the banter that went on between the relatives working in the restaurant. Laughed a lot, was made very welcome and food was exceptional.

Helpful?
1 Thank LindaGuirey
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Always great food friendly owners and staff always make you welcome and even when you have not booked they will always try and fit you in. The atmosphere is authentic Italian!

Helpful?
1 Thank craw4dfam

Travellers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$32
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Anzac Street | Takapuna, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Takapuna
  • Phone Number: +64 9-488 0179

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Al Forno and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Al Forno staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?