We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Inn - CLOSED

Royal Oak Church Street, Nunnington YO62 5US, England
+44 1439 748271
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“garlic bread” (9 reviews)
“lamb cutlets” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Italian, British
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Royal Oak Church Street, Nunnington YO62 5US, England
All Details
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017

I came here for a steak about one year ago and asked for a steak knife The owner came over and tore a strip from me asking if it was tough unsaid yes she went into melt down mode Stating they were from Marley's of...More

4  Thank Andrew J
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Who is this? This must be a joke? Judging by your spelling and grammar I ask, who has written this ‘review’! Maybe you have the wrong Royal Oak? However I see you have visited five local pubs in this area in this month and not...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

What was good * Beef was good really well, Yorkshire puddings were excellent. Gravy nice. * Pasta was lovely, good sauce and great flavours Needs improvement * Cost - really expensive for what it was I’ve paid a lot less for a lot more *...More

1  Thank Danf6197
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Whilst I am always happy that customers take the time to write a review, I am not sure what to make of your various comments: ‘needs improvement’ .. you said it was good and excellent, perhaps you could say what...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Called in here for lunch to find a lovely, unmessed with pub that serves decent food. We only wanted a sandwich, the ones we had were fine but from a very limited menu, confined to just salmon or beef. The bread was slightly disappointing, tasted...More

1  Thank lightning92
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Sorry you were disappointed with our sandwich selection. There were other options on apart from salmon or beef. I am not sure what commercial bread is, but no, we do not make our own at lunchtime, it is bought locally....More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We booked a table for 4 for a Friday night and had a great time. The food was excellent as was the service and the atmosphere. We have now been 3 or 4 times and whether it was just the two of us, a few...More

1  Thank BarbaraJBH
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for your positive review. The team will be most appreciative, and it means we are doing something right! Glad you enjoyed eating with us, and hope that you will come again, and again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We have actually been twice and both times were excellent. The first was for my birthday and on calling in to book a table the staff were great. They even made sure the two items we wanted would be on that weeks menu, above and...More

1  Thank Flamingo73
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review and for suggesting it. We try to oblige with our menu, and if you want something special, we will get it for you! Yes, we agree the Sauvignon blanc is a good one. Thanks, do come again. Regards The...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Saturday 25th September 2017 had an excellent evening at the Royal Oak, Nunnington where Bertrand Tortelier from Lille, France ably assisted by the team of staff at the pub prepared a three course menu of home made French Delights with wine pairings. The food and...More

1  Thank OMJ_KMS
Jill G, Manager at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Oh, la, la! Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed Bertrand's French delights. It was a fun evening enjoyed by all, even the staff. Merci beaucoup!

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Very good food at the Royal Oak. The vegetable lasagna with garlic bread was excellent & my husband enjoyed his steak & chips. Finished off with lovely sticky toffee pudding. Nice cosy pub with a pleasant atmosphere & friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank kjb960
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review and for recommending us. Please come again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Just called in for a sandwich which was very nice as was the lady behind the bar and the cleanliness of the place.

Thank NomadDorset
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Many thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed everything.

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We located this old pub come restaurant via trip adviser and duly booked our first day out on our holiday. Our arrival via country lanes and stone cottages was lovely, although we were unable to park in the car park due to more cars than...More

Thank Stephen N
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am not sure what point you are trying to make about the car park. Sorry it was full, however there is on street parking and lots of space at the top of the road. We are happy that you...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

Called in here for lunch during the summer. A quintessential village pub. I had a delicious burger. I think I went for the Mexican option which meant it also came with jalapenos etc. Really good burger. I'm of the opinion that eating a burger should...More

1  Thank Jack T
Jill G, Owner at The Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We are so happy you had a messy experience! I will pass on your comments to the staff and lady behind the bar. Hope to see you again. Grazie mille!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Nunnington Hotels
The Pheasant Hotel
415 reviews
3.44 km away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
682 reviews
3.62 km away
The Feathers Hotel
947 reviews
7.02 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
437 reviews
7.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fryton Catering Coffee House
26 reviews
.27 km away
Pheasant Inn
185 reviews
3.45 km away
The Malt Shovel
174 reviews
3.47 km away
The Plough
208 reviews
4.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nunnington Hall
573 reviews
.57 km away
The Malt Shovel
21 reviews
3.70 km away
Ryedale Miniature Railway
25 reviews
5.68 km away
Ampleforth Abbey
217 reviews
6.64 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$12 - US$20
Cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
00:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Royal Oak Church Street, Nunnington YO62 5US, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Nunnington
  • Phone Number: +44 1439 748271
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional country pub in pretty village of Nunnington. The new owners have just returned from Italy and their aim is to blend Yorkshire fare, using locally sourced produce with products from known farmers in Tuscany. They hope to achieve 'where Yorkshire meets Tuscany' with appetising sharing plates and dishes of the day using seasonal produce. They wish to continue serving local beers to the regulars and have a well selected wine list. Family Sunday lunch times (Two courses £14.95 And Three courses £17.95).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;