We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Live Bait in Harbour House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road | Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
+27 21 788 5755
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The perfect choice for a fish or seafood lunch, with a stunning view of the ocean and False Bay. The Seafood platter has to be seen to be believed ! Hubert.D.

Helpful?
Thank diamonddag
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear diamonddag We aim to deliver the most mouth-watering meals, served by professional and attentive staff, to ensure nothing short of magnificent for our guests. This is our promise and intention each and every time. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, More 

derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

we ate at the Live Bait and the Harbour House restaurant upstairs both incredible, the Live Bait is the cheaper of the 2 and slightly more relaxed whilst the Harbour House is their upmarket restaurant both fantastic and relevant to what you want.

Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireFoodie
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear DerbyshireFoodie Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at both Harbour House and Live Bait, Kalk Bay. We pride ourselves with great views, service and food. I hope there are many more visits and amazing experiences with us in your not too distant future. Kindest... More 

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic lunch. The Kingklip we had chosen was delicious, the ambiente very nice and the views amazing. Watching seals sunbathing on rocks nearby was an added bonus. We will definitely be back. Reservation is necessary!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gaby W
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear Gaby W Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Harbour House Kalk Bay. Hearing you had an good time brings great joy to our team and we can't thank you enough for choosing Harbour House as your location of choice. It is our aim to provide not only a gastronomical cuisine, but a... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had not booked and as we wanted a sea view , we had a short wait for a table. We overlooked the very colourful harbour and the view over the sea was beautiful. Our orders were taken quite quickly with such friendliness.We had the Seafood Linguine and the Green Linguine with pesto sauce. Both were excellent. We Will certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia633
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear Alicia633 Thank you very much for the great review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at Live Bait Kalk Bay. We pride ourselves with great views, service and food. I hope there are many more visits and amazing experiences with us in your not too distant future. Kindest Regards, More 

Garden Route, South Africa
Level Contributor
427 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was very confusing when my friend and I walked in to Live Bait to look for a table. There was a lady staring at the entrance holding a baby, who we assumed to be a customer. How wrong can you be?? She was the "manageress". Holding a baby in a sling?? Anyway, my mussels were excellent, but I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear m0zchick Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor following your visit with us at Kalk Bay. We truly value your opinion as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing you with customer satisfaction for future visits. While it is certainly never our intent to... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We booked a table next to the window, with a fabulous view, for the 12h00 sitting. We arrived early and after a short wait placed our orders for our starters which included three orders of sushi. An hour and a half later, apparently due to the wait for the sushi, we finally received our starters. Knowing that the next sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen Anne B
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen Anne B Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Live Bait Kalk Bay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you email merinda@harbourhouse.co.za in order to discuss your experience with us. We look forward to receiving... More 

Lennik, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017

this place is just great, they have a limited menu, but all is just great and at very affordable prices

Helpful?
Thank joseep2016
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear joseep2016 Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to Kalk Bay. The team aim to please and provide our guests with the best possible guest experience when dining with us. We pleased to hear that we achieved this on your visit with us. I hope there are many more visits and amazing experiences with... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017

As a businessman I travel to Kalkbay often and have beento Harbour House and Live Bait often. Always been happy and love the atmosphere and service. Returned yesterday for lunch and was served the worst seafood platter ever!!!! apart from the raison-sized muscles(4 out of 6) Is the chef blind? Four prawn rather than the five promised and a piece... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kotie19
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear Kotie19 Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Live Bait Kalk Bay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you email merinda@harbourhouse.co.za in order to discuss your experience with us. We look forward to receiving your correspondence... More 

1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

On 08 April in the afternoon, my partner and I had the unfortunate displeasure of getting lunch at Live Bait in Kalk Bay. As absolute fans of Live Bait in Muizenberg (The staff already know our favourite seats), we've become accustomed to a certain level of service, food and delightful atmosphere. What we experienced in the Kalk Bay branch was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody K
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear Jody K Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review of the Live Bait Kalk Bay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the bad experience you have had at our restaurant. Please may I request you email merinda@harbourhouse.co.za in order to discuss your experience with us. We look forward to receiving your... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Treated my elderly dad and his two friends to lunch and arrived a little early. Staff reluctant for us to wait to be served at 12. It was 11.40 when we arrived. We all ordered fish and chips. Very average meal. Very average service. Such a pity.

Helpful?
Thank barbietravelling
HarbourHouseG, Manager at Live Bait in Harbour House, responded to this review

Dear barbietravelling Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor following your visit with us at Kalk Bay. We truly value your opinion as it is from your comments that we are able to uphold our commitment to excellence, thus providing you with customer satisfaction for future visits. While it is certainly never our intent to... More 

Travellers who viewed Live Bait in Harbour House also viewed

Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
Kalk Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Live Bait in Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road | Kalk Bay Harbour, Kalk Bay 7975, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Kalk Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 788 5755

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Live Bait in Harbour House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?