We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, International, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
49
6
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
49
6
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread bacon hash pudding potatoes burger fries full irish breakfast food is locally sourced supper club home made hollandaise sauce scrumptious breakfast head chef cooked to perfection little gem lovely atmosphere friendly attentive staff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Popped in for breakfast. I had the Bacon hash with scrambled instead of poached eggs. My husband had the full Irish. All the food is locally sourced and the breads are all home made. I cannot describe how tasty the bacon hash is, cubes of...potatoes, thinly sliced onion and peppers mixed with the nicest white pudding ever, topped with scrambled eggs and a drizzle of hollandaise sauce... My husbands full Irish Breakfast was also lovely, cooked to perfection. Service was great by friendly attentive staff who explained all about where the food is sourcedMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Wow, thank you, such a nice review. You made the staff and chef very happy. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again soon when we are back to normal. David H

Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Nice restaurant. Went here for the tapas evening, staff very welcoming, nice relaxed atmosphere, it was BYOB, new to me but actually good, food nice, presented well, and tasty.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Thanks very much for your nice review! Hopefully, we will see you again soon. David H

Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Having read a lot of reviews we were looking forward to trying Crean's. Having phoned in advance to check if the breakfast was served all day on Sunday, we were disappointed to arrive at 1and we told that they were out of sausages and bacon....Staff were quick to point out how they were "hammered unexpectedly" in the morning. We thought it was very poor to run out of essential breakfast items. We had quite a wait for the food. It was very nice but the portions were small and not value for money.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020

Many thanks for your review and I do apologise that you were disappointed with your visit to Crean's Place. We have put in place additional orders especially for the weekends to ensure the situation you described does not happen again. Everything is freshly made in...More

Reviewed 13 January 2020

I never write reviews, however this place is amazing. People need to know. I have been to this place with my family and friends on numerous occasions and have yet to find a fault. The food is sooooo tasty and the selection is great all...homemade even their ketchup. The chef is obviously very passionate and creative. The choices are amazing with lots to cater for all diets/allergies. The staff are very friendly and very helpful always cheery. Will definitely be making plenty of return visits for 2020!!!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Many thanks for your kind review, we look forward to your return. Please ask for the Head Chef when you are in next, I would like to like buy you a dessert to celebrate your first review. Many Thanks David

Reviewed 12 January 2020

Had the full Irish breakfast it was fab, cooked to perfection. Staff are great, attentive friendly and helpful. Good parking behind restaurant. We will be back, Thank you guys, Kind regards Brendan & AnneMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Brendan & Anne Many thanks for your kind review and positive feedback especially on the full Irish. The staff and I also appreciate your kind words, always so nice to hear, as they work so hard trying to cater for everyone. Well done! Thanks again...More

Reviewed 28 December 2019

Breakfast a Creans has to be the best. I have only experienced eggs beni in one other 5 star hotel where the meal is on par with Creans The eggs are alway done to perfection, made sure I asked the chef how he get the...cooking of the eggs just right.. although the big challenge would be get the hollandaise to taste as good. Great place for a chillout breakfast, love to hear the chef laugh every now and then, lovely atmosphere with the staff... Back for Tapas night soon and looking forward to it...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Thank you for your review. Always so encouraging to have kind words directed to the chefs and staff who work so hard to make our customers happy. Thank you! David H

Reviewed 24 December 2019 via mobile

I visited recently with a friend for breakfast and ordered the pancakes and a latte. The coffee was the only thing that saved my morning, the pancakes came out half raw so had to send them back. The second ones that came out were cooked...perfectly but they lacked flavour. Thinking we came on an 'off' day (which believe me, I know it happens as I work in the industry), we decided to give it another chance. Unfortunately on the second occasion, we again left disappointed. The staff are lovely but they need a lot of training.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sad to hear you were disappointed by the food and decided it warranted a one-star / terrible review. Taking your criticism constructively, we will endeavour to ask diners how they would like their pancakes cooked (quite a few rave...More

Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

I can not recommend Creans Place enough . Whether for coffee, breakfast , lunch , dinner or supper club. Food never ever disappoints . Staff lovely and vibe is cool , busy , fun , relaxed all at the same time. Doesn’t break the bank...balance. So proud and delighted to have this little gem right here in Kilcullen. My Go To Anytime.. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2019

What a nice review thank you so much. David

Reviewed 10 December 2019 via mobile

The food here is so good there is no question about that but the waiting staff are all over the place. They have no idea how to make decent coffee, or how to take an order correctly. There seems to be no head person front...of house directing the gi rtls. It's a huge let down to such wonderful food. It has really turned me off goin in there as I get so frustrated with the headless chickens running aroundMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
davidhS6687GM, Owner at Crean's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

HI Grainne Many thanks for your continued reviews and constructive feed back. I would greatly appreciate if you could drop in and ask for David Byrne when you get a chance to discuss further or email me daveb@creansplace.ie Many Thanks David

Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

I recently joined family and friends at Crean’s Place restaurant in Kilcullen for their very first supper club. Delicious food. I would like to thank the chef and all the staff for their attention to detail. I’m a coeliac and at Crean’s Place they went...above and beyond to cater for my needs. I was served hot slices of their very own gluten free bread on arrival, homemade vegetable soup, for my main course I was served my very own gravy bowl and an added side of my own gluten free breadcrumbs. I was just delighted. It’s very hard to get a restaurant to cater for all your needs being a coeliac but Crean’s outdone themselves. Well done! I thought this attention to detail was a really lovely touch and because of this I cannot wait for the next supper club. I almost forgot to mention the delicious baked apple dessert which had a gluten free crumble topping and served with a homemade custard - it was to die for! It was also super value for money - especially when everything was homemade! Keep up the good work you guys!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Keadeen Hotel
737 reviews
6.34 km away
Killashee Hotel
2,149 reviews
7.92 km away
Osprey Hotel
1,895 reviews
10.14 km away
Lawlor's of Naas, Town Centre Hotel
763 reviews
11.08 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bardons Bar & Grill
200 reviews
.25 km away
Fallons Restaurant & Bar
290 reviews
.11 km away
An Tearmann
59 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kilcullen Farm & Nature Trail
21 reviews
.19 km away
The Bush Pub
6 reviews
6.09 km away
Newbridge Silverware Visitor Center
728 reviews
6.11 km away
The Curragh Military Museum
17 reviews
6.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crean's Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing