We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse

€€ - €€€, British,
37 London Road | Shenley, Shenley WD7 9ER, England
+44 1923 853054
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (8 reviews)
“sunday roasts” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
37 London Road | Shenley, Shenley WD7 9ER, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 337 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can’t understand the negative reviews of this pub. I had a lovely experience at The White Horse this weekend. A few drinks and a two course lunch with my wife was great. The Duck Parfait starter was excellent and the rib eye steak was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

What a very kind review, thank you so much! I am really pleased you enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review and we do look forward to seeing you and your wife again very soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited this pub many times, any it never disappoints. We often visit with our dog and he is welcomed like an old friend by the staff. The food is good pub fare not too overly fussy.

Thank suedown50
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue, Thank you so much for your review. We do love our four legged friends here and are always happy when we see returning guests. Thank you again and we always look forward to seeing you. Kind regards, Nicola

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for Sunday lunch with daughter and new partner. Extremely disappointed with the experience. Food was average quality and vastly overpriced and we were harassed and rushed between courses and asked to vacate the table as we finished the sweet, to make way for other...More

Thank smart332
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. I have responded the exact same review on Google. Kind regards, Nicola

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food, Ambience was good, but the bill included a 10% service charge. I always leave a tip in cash(To Insure Promptitude) in case they have forgotten. I object to a mandatory charge especially if the waitress was slow.am I being ordered to subsidise Mitchell &...More

Thank Nigel W
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good afternoon Nigel. Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Service charge is optional not mandatory. It is on the bill but like a few of our guests, they also prefer to leave...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for a brief visit mid afternoon. Ignored by several staff who were more content to be talking amongst themselves. Asked if someone could wipe a table for us and was then ignored again. Had to ask someone else. Snacks arrived within three minutes...More

Thank Tammykaren
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review us for Saturday afternoon. I do remember the 2 of you sat in the bar. I do not remember there being a problem with your table not being wiped straight away as it was myself...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this pub on 24 October 2017. As I have coeliac disease I asked for a gluten free menu. They do not have such a thing and I was presented with a tome which listed the ingredients of all their meals. While I wanted...More

Thank Queeenangie
Nicola S, General Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us even if it was on a poor occasion. I would like to say that we do tailor to dietary requirements, this has never been an issue in the past so I do not know why this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pre-booked for Sunday Lunch with family. Service to seat us and take orders was quick enough but then drink replenishment was almost non-existent as staff busy elsewhere in restaurant. It wasn’t until our food came that we could actually ask a server to refill drinks....More

Thank OllieW90
Nicola S, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon Ollie, I do apologise for your experience here on Sunday. Please feel free to contact me to talk about this matter further. Kind regards, Nicola. 01923853054 enquiry@whitehorseradlett.co.uk

Reviewed 10 October 2017

A thoroughly delicious meal at this comfortable and cosy pub. I was astonished at how well the waitress managed to serve the drinks and the meals alone so calmly for the first three hours of her shift. Well done ! My pan friend sea bass...More

Thank CORDELIA P
Nicola S, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review! I have a feeling I know which waitress you mentioned, Anna is a fantastic team member. Very efficient and knowledgeable. Many thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards, Nicola

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Service behind the bar is sluggish and arrogant. Small old cottage and needs improvement. Staff think they work at Ritz but standard ain’t even close to being good enough.More

Thank Pete_NXT_LVL
Nicola S, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I do hope you have the correct place though, as we are not a 'small old cottage'. I also do not have any arrogant team members working here, so I do apologise for your experience if...More

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I had the best dining experience here and I've not come out of a restaurant feeling as satisfied as I did with this one! The spit roast chicken was top top quality along with the avocado salad that comes with it. The broccoli was wonderful...More

Thank crowny1997
General Manager A, Manager at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We can't wait to see you again Kind regards, Nicola

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe In The Orchard
83 reviews
.97 km away
Novita
44 reviews
.69 km away
Isot Restaurant
145 reviews
2.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
de Havilland Aircraft Museum
282 reviews
2.53 km away
Battlers Green Farm Shopping Village
109 reviews
3.99 km away
Dinosaur Safari Adventure Golf
175 reviews
4.11 km away
Aldenham Country Park
178 reviews
4.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
deancole
27 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Nicola S | Property representative |
Only if they win FA cup!!!!!
1
Vote
beanydot
18 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mike L | Reviewed this property |
Yes, with level access from the car park.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 London Road | Shenley, Shenley WD7 9ER, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Shenley
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 853054
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing