We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wolds

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Loughborough Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 7HZ, England
+44 115 981 0050
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to try this place before doing the shopping and it was great. The place was clean, the barman was helpful and there was a playground for my daughter. The order was taken and served very quickly, it was very well cooked and my steak was delicious. The price was great too. We'll be back I'm sure.

Helpful?
Thank Robbthebdc
Arnold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On a family trip to asda which is conveniently situated next door we decided to visit this hungry horse establishment. Upon entering it seemed to be busy but on reflection most tables had empty glasses on and used plates from earlier that day anyway we decided to find a table and browse the menu. After around five minutes I went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antony S
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Antony. Firstly I want to apologise for the short comings your family encounted during your last visit. If possible could you please contact me directly on 0115 9810050 to discuss these points further and to clarify when you attended. Hopefully with this information I can ascertain why these things happened in the first place. Thank you for taking... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well ..... the cow pie when it arrived it was cold had to send it back .. they brought another which had been nuked to within an inch of its life The Yorky roll was very disappointing was bland could of done with some peas and carrots ... but the beef and ale pie was great We brought the birthday... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I understand the issue with the Cow Pie and I believe at the time it was mentioned abut the pastry and how thick it was. We have had a few issues with this but it is cooked in a combi oven. Also I understand your point about the 'yorky role' but... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went today 23.3.2017 went in table dirty accidentally put bag on table butter all over it and all over furniture. Plus dirty knifes folks. Sat there 20 mins deciding no one. Came to clean. Ordered food curry large plate and. Jumbo cod. Had chicken wings as starter. Just nice like all other hungry horses. Mains came. The Jumbo cod was... More 

Helpful?
Thank pictureframe78
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Afternoon pictureframe78, sorry to hear you felt that the meal standards were not up to the usual delivered by our sister outlets. The fish fillets go by weight and I'm confused as why you feel the larger fillets weren't used. Also when the description says 'Jumbo scampi' the actual pieces are no different from the normal meal size simply more... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We occasionally visit the Wolds. We visited it on Thursday and they had the usual deal of a free desserts. The Due to the new menu the choice was sundae or and iced brownie. I could not get my spoon to cut the brownie. It was frozen solid. Won't be visiting the Wolds again. Was never even approached and asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank daniellank
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Afternoon Daniellank, I understand the issue you had with the dessert as it has been raised by a few other customers. However, the item description does say 'Choc Ice Brownie' it is meant to be served in a frozen state. I'm sorry to hear you say you weren't approached and asked how the meal was because I'm sure that the... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We visited here on Wednesday evening [it was wine Wednesday btw £5 for a bottle superb!] After previously having a bad experience here - it is only right to give praise where praise is due! The atmosphere on Wednesday was lovely, it was relaxing, we were impressed with all the staff who served us and our food was delicious. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank steve c
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Michael. Firstly thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and we are glad that after a previous bad experience you decided to give us another try. I will make sure your comments are passed on to all the team as it's nice to hear positives in all departments. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Called in here with the family - 6 of us on a Sunday afternoon. Hungry Horse menu similar to most of their pubs. No end of TV screens with footy on. OK if you like that but it does distract from having a chat. There are a few places where there are no TV's so pick your spot wisely. Table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dirty Neil H
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know about the shortfalls from your visit. At least with this we can look to improve the overall standard to all future customers. Apologies for the tables , it does seem to be an issue with the products we have to use but we are looking into it moving forward. Hopefully we will see you again... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Overall good service food was hot and tasty . Service excellent. Lovely back garden /play area for the children . Staff very helpful and polite . Will definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank Lulu H
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Nice to know you enjoyed it. I'll pass your comments onto the team as it's nice to get feedback either way. Look forward to seeing you again soon. regards Sean More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

The tables were very sticky which put us off eating there and when we finally found a table in a booth that wasn't sticky, there was a television at the end of the table with the volume on loud enough to be disruptive to hearing ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank androoliarse
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Afternoon, sorry for the issue of sticky tables, we are looking into cleaning products that we have to use and are trying to rectify the issue. Obviously we cater for a wide age range and the televisions are there for people to watch. however, as customers want it at differing sound levels we do have several remotes that you could... More 

Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We had a Great time stopping her for dinner brilliant service great value and lovely food will be back again when up that way.

Helpful?
Thank roey85
Sean S, General Manager at The Wolds, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments, nice to see you enjoyed yourselves. I'll pass your comments onto the team. regards Sean More 

Travellers who viewed The Wolds also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Wolds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Loughborough Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 7HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Nottingham  >  West Bridgford
  • Phone Number: +44 115 981 0050
Description
The wolds is a pub restaurant which is part of the Hungry Horse group and has an extensive menu of over 70 dishes. with daily deals on drinks and food has something for everyone. With over 15 screens to watch all live sporting events in comfort. With the added facility of a function room for private business meetings to family celebrations.