We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottage Loaf

€€ - €€€, British,
338 Telegraph Road, Thurstaston CH61 0HJ, England
+44 151 648 2837
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (27 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
338 Telegraph Road, Thurstaston CH61 0HJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today with my two daughters and baby granddaughter.Sat outside in beautiful sunshine. We ordered sharing platters and drinks. Service was good and food delicious. Only improvement needed is the loo!

Thank lindsay f
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed sitting in our great beer garden. We will hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good quality pub grub. Nothing special but a pleasant setting with helpful staff and a relaxed vibe. Good value for money.

Thank Elspeth P
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Last time we stayed at the camp site really wanted to try the cottage loaf but didn’t get the chance. We were nearby so thought we try here and so glad we did. Food was delicious cooked beautifully had rib of beef excellent value for...More

Thank Betty4567
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed our beef rib. We hope when you stay at the campsite again you will come back to see us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband had an amazing evening at the Cottage Loaf last night, food was divine and the service was top notch. We were served by a young girl who’s service we could not fault but all the staff were running round constantly giving...More

3  Thank joanhill456
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We were very busy that evening and I am glad you still enjoyed yourselves and had great service. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called in very tired and hungry after completing the 15 mile Wirral Coastal Walk We would have complained but non of us had the energy. 2 out of 3 meals where left Sausages where like rubber Ceasor salad was a few bits of lettuce...More

1  Thank Drumgarron
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We wish you would of let us know on the day as we would of liked the opportunity to rectify it. We will take what you said on board and hopefully...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was very busy when we went but staff were all great and helpful. The food was good and the garden was extremely nice to sit in for drinks. It was a great place to go after walking our dogs in the nearby area and...More

1  Thank Anna P
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Anna for your review. Glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you will pop along to our beer garden again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our party of 5 (4 adults, 1 child) had a really enjoyable night in the picturesque Cottage Loaf last night and everything was simply perfect. All the food; the starters, mains and deserts were excellent and the staff were fantastic too, especially the young lady...More

1  Thank anthony c
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review Anthony. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food and liked our lovely staff too. The Eton mess is one of our favourites at The Cottage Loaf and hope you come along to sample it again soon.

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly so this purely based on the food. 2 of our party had the steak pie and were disappointed at the quality, meat was gristly and quite chewy, the pie looked good but quality let it down. 1 had...More

Thank wmargaux
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us. However, we are happy to hear you like our staff and our gin and tonics. Hope you will join us in this lovely weather to enjoy our wide...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We love coming to the Cottage Loaf as a family and again this weekend didn’t disappoint. Great service and great food! Will be back as always.

1  Thank Tj9222
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. See you again in the near future.

Reviewed 10 June 2018

My wife and I use this pub once every couple of months for a number of years and enjoy a good meal at a very competitive price, the staff are very nice and very helpful, my only complaint which would not take to much effort...More

Thank pdwsurfer
Alistair P, General Manager at Cottage Loaf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi pdwsurfer Thanks for the comments, you're right the door is a little worn. I will look into getting it repaired. I am glad that everything else about your visit was good though and we hope to see you again in the next couple of...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Thurstaston Hotels
Hillbark Hotel
305 reviews
1.41 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
426 reviews
3.79 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
633 reviews
4.53 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
566 reviews
5.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Benty Farm Tearooms
129 reviews
.63 km away
Zeera Tandoori
199 reviews
.81 km away
Aroma
67 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shore Cottage Studio Ltd
96 reviews
1.53 km away
Royden Park
41 reviews
2.14 km away
Pensby Library
10 reviews
2.55 km away
West Kirby Marine Lake
306 reviews
3.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Matt W
4 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Helen L | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I am sorry but I don't know. We don't have any dogs so it's not something I look for I'm afraid, sorry I couldn't be of anymore help
0
Votes
SailorJerry69
1 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mark M | Reviewed this property |
The cottage loaf doesn't do entertainment as a rule it just holds random nights. And when these occur the menu remains the same . Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 338 Telegraph Road, Thurstaston CH61 0HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Wirral  >  Thurstaston
  • Phone Number: +44 151 648 2837
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing