We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bean Sprout

1448 Lawrence Ave E | Unit 7, Toronto, Ontario M4A 2S8, Canada
+1 416-755-8899
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
6 Jul 2017
“Good for a quick lunch!”
2 weeks ago
Open Now
11:00 - 21:00All hours
Chinese, Asian
1448 Lawrence Ave E | Unit 7, Toronto, Ontario M4A 2S8, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pricing signs are not the prices he charges. $2 extra for "over fill" $4 extra for too much meat. WOW never seen this one before.More

Thank Fitquest
Mark c, Manager at The Bean Sprout, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The pricing signs that you refer to are not set prices. It clearly states that it is "from" the stated price. Since it is self serve, each container is unique and must be charged according to items placed in the container. If the container is...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

got 2 medium containers of the buffet to go....did not overstuff!!!..the owner was waiting at cash to put on lid...the lid fit fine, as I stated, I did not overfill...yet i was charged $2 extra per container....oh and btw, you cannot fill it with what...More

Thank withrowstpaul
Mark c, Manager at The Bean Sprout, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The two containers in question may or may not have been overstuffed as you state, but there are conditions as to how a container must be filled. Because it is self serve, these requirements have been clearly posted besides the take out containers for years....More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Do not eat here, do not be fooled by the 6.99$ buffet sign, this place is a total scam!! Went in for the 6.99 lunch, had a plate of food and was charged 15.81$ on my card, in small writing on tiny sign says lunch...More

Thank mikepiccin
Mark c, Manager at The Bean Sprout, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Mikepiccin I would like to thank you for your review on our restaurant. It's only thru customer reviews that we can strive to improve, better our selves and make changes when needed to better serve our customers. I was very disappointed to read about...More

Reviewed 6 July 2017

My son loves this place. You come in for the all you can eat buffet at lunch. Sure it's steam-table food, but it's fresh, and it's tasty, so what more are you looking for ?

Thank GerryRailBaron
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I went here today for the first time after hearing about this place for many months. Oh my gosh...what took me so long!!! I have celiac disease and can't eat gluten. The food was amazing. I have been missing Chinese food like this for many...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This review is in the context of me having lots of allergies (soy, gluten, peanuts, eggs, milk), which makes it hard to eat out, especially asian food. I went here by chance, and was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and knowledge of the owner, who...More

Thank Anna E
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Tl;dr: Absurd random price hikes by the owner, several strict rules for a supposed "buffet", the owner constantly monitors at you during your entire stay (to make sure you don't steal??), no free tap water, and stale food. I had high hopes of finding an...More

Thank Emon S
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Tucked away in a large strip mall, Bean Sprout is a small place. It's fairly clean and staff are friendly. Take out small container $7 and large one $8 - go to the counter and fill up with whatever you want. $10 buffet lunch and...More

Thank wildkard
Reviewed 5 February 2015

I have been going to this restaurant for several years now and it is the best Chinese food in the area that's for sure. The staff is always very welcoming and friendly. The atmosphere is clean and decent. Definitely a great find and great price...More

Thank Van B
Reviewed 7 August 2014

They have really tasty Chinese food for less then 10 dollars! They also have a Buffet to go which is very affordable, 8 bucks! It won't hurt the bank for this yummy food!!!

1  Thank Michelle H
North York
North York is one of Toronto's most culturally diverse
neighborhoods. Home to a number of cultural events
throughout the year that celebrate the city's varied
ethnic communities, it's always worthwhile to see
what's going on in the area. Its cross-section of
inhabitants include students and long-time residents,
giving North York an eclectic feeling of being both
local and international. Extremely family-friendly,
Nearby Restaurants
Shawarma Empire
37 reviews
.79 km away
Mermaid Fish and Grill House
14 reviews
.42 km away
Valley Fields Restaurant
18 reviews
.54 km away
Naan and Kabob
24 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aga Khan Museum
634 reviews
2.41 km away
The Ismaili Centre
11 reviews
2.59 km away
CF Shops at Don Mills
15 reviews
2.57 km away
Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre
5 reviews
2.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bean Sprout staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner
Open Hours
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1448 Lawrence Ave E | Unit 7, Toronto, Ontario M4A 2S8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Toronto>  > North York
  • Neighbourhood: North York
  • Phone Number: +1 416-755-8899
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing