We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hob Nob Restaurant

209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-4588
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good19%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“salmon” (84 reviews)
“tenderloin” (44 reviews)
“tasting menu” (47 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 20:00All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 240 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed at the hotel so were able to take advantage of a $55 3-course menu, a wonderful value. Service and presentation were great and all our selections were delicious.More

Thank deborahChatt
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Ms. Chatt, thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. I'm glad that as a guest of the hotel you were able to take advantage of our dinner enhancement and enjoy a great meal for a great value. I hope we will...More

Reviewed 13 August 2016

This place was recommended and we were able to get in last minute (it was actually nearly empty). The service was fantastic, and the food was alright. The problem was for the kind of money they were charging I expect it to be perfect. One...More

Thank Richy_Bobby
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Richy_Bobby, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that we did not live up to the standard we are known for. While I regret we did not know of your concerns...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016

We ate here as part of a winery tour package. The restaurant is very elegant. We had a limited menu as a part of the tour-we had three courses with wines paired. The starter was a salad-very nice, nothing spectacular but the wine chosen went...More

Thank Carla K
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Carla K, thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed dinner as part of your wine tour. The wine pairings offered with each course were carefully selected to enhance the overall experience and highlight some of Niagara's best wines. I will be...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

While stopping in Niagara on the lake, wanted to find someplace a little different and old fashioned and went along with the 1800's feel. Looked up places on Trip Advisor, it appeared what we were looking for. I was disappointed in this find. The restaurant...More

Thank Gary R
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Gary R, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your lunch with us. Our lunch menu includes a tenderloin burger, Parmesan and truffle mac & cheese, shepherds pie and chicken pot pie as well as an elevated (and delicious) bacon sandwich...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

The pasta dish I had was so good and unique (House Rolled Spaghettini). It was on the pricey side, but the taste was worth the cost.More

Thank Ann G
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

The spaghettini appetizer is one of my favourites, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it as well Ann G! I hope you will join us again soon to try some of our chef's newest creations! Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review,...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner prior to attending the Shaw Festival. The preferred seating is not later than 5:45 in order to enjoy dinner before being shuttled to the theater. The food was very well prepared. We had two different fish entrees and both were...More

1  Thank Douglas C
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you Douglas C for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. I'm thrilled to know that you enjoyed the experience here at the HobNob that we are known for. I will be sure to pass you kind words along to our...More

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Wonderful food - we were a party of 6 and had to control our volume due to the close quarters. We also almost went for the prix fixed meal, but thank goodness we did not because we were there for 4 hours with just 3...More

Thank IngraS
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Ingra S, thank you for the nice review and letting us know about your dinner. I'm happy to see that despite slower than normal service that evening you had a great time with your party. Don't ever feel that you to limit your guest...More

Reviewed 9 August 2016

Nothing is quite so relaxing, as having a glass of local sparkling wine on a patio, with the sound of chuckling water from a fountain, the crescent moon shining overhead, soft jazz playing in the backgroung, the murmur of romantic couples savouring their evening and...More

Thank Mutant222
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello Mutant222, that you for the spectacular detailed review! We genuinely appreciate your attention to detail and the time you took to let others know what an amazing experience you had while dining with us at the HobNob. It is lovely to read in your...More

Reviewed 8 August 2016

We enjoyed dinner here on a recent trip to this wonderful town. We were treated to a delicious meal in an elegant atmosphere. Everyone in our party loved their meal, including the vegetarian. Service was excellent and we never felt rushed .More

Thank csalwen
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hello csalwen, thank you taking a moment to let us know about your visit to the HobNob. I'm happy to see that your vegetarian guest enjoyed their specially created meal. Thank you for the kind words about our service team, they work their hardest to...More

Reviewed 8 August 2016

We had a delicious dinner at the Hobnob Restaurant,and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and outstanding service.

Thank eth519
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at Hob Nob Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for the short but succinct review eth519. The HobNob at the Charles Hotel is the perfect marriage of high-end dinning in comfortable heritage building. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Il Gelato di Carlotta
800 reviews
.47 km away
Nina Gelateria & Pastry Shop
506 reviews
.53 km away
Treadwell
1,581 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal George Theatre
96 reviews
.39 km away
Edward Spera Art Gallery
51 reviews
.25 km away
Il Gelato di Carlotta
27 reviews
.47 km away
Fort Mississauga
52 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
awjohn
3 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Laura M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, if you behave in a gentlemanly fashion.
0
Votes
pianoman22
8 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jessica V | Property representative |
Yes
0
Votes
RJCTeach
30 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jason B | Property representative |
there is no dress code required, we just kindly ask that you remove your hat when dining in the formal room.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$46
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 209 Queen Street | Located in the Charles Hotel, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
    (Simcoe St)
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: +1 905-468-4588
  • E-mail
Description
The HobNob restaurant & wine bar serves contemporary French cuisine with a regional flare. The restaurant features breakfast, lunch, dinner and afternoon tea. Visit the dining room, lounge, wine bar or fully licensed patio where you can enjoy a wide range of delicacies accompanied by a vast selection of Niagara wines. The Charles Hotel dining room has been recommended in publications such as Gourmet Magazine, Wine Spectator and Toronto Life and is the proud recipient of the CAA Four Diamond Award as well as the VQA Gold Award of Excellence.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing