We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Purple Heather Pub

) #143 of 386 Restaurants in Burlington €€ - €€€ , British,
3600 Dundas St | 3600 Dundas Street West, Burlington, Ontario L7M 4B8, Canada
+1 905-315-8782
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (6 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Canadian, American
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3600 Dundas St | 3600 Dundas Street West, Burlington, Ontario L7M 4B8, Canada
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chicken fingers were actually cold inside, roast beef dip was so dry (the roast meat) that it was sticking in my throat. Fries all burnt. Hamburgers burnt. It was a Thursday night, the local band was setting up and the place was nearly empty, so...More

Thank Wayne P
doogieb, Owner at The Purple Heather Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wayne, As the owner and GM of the Purple Heather Pub, I take all reviews seriously and to heart and this review disappoints me greatly that we let you down in some many areas. To ensure that I deal with this accordingly, can you provide...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great ambience, good food and selection of beer and drinks. Staff is friendly and attentive. Would certainly go back. Looks like they are doing some Reno's. Looking forward to seeing the finished product!

Thank Coconut62
doogieb, Owner at The Purple Heather Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thanks for the great review. With regards to our reno's, we are going to be building a brew pub and brewing our own beer. We will also be changing our name in a few months to 5West Brew Pub and Kitchen....lot's of exciting things!

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Some friends and I dropped by for some food and drinks on a weeknight. The drinks were tasty and reasonably priced, and we had mixed experiences with the food. The sweet potato fries were delicious, but the salad and chicken bites were not great. The...More

Thank J1e2n3n4y
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

, had a good time there listening to live music , sadly the food was terrible , the atmosphere of the restaurant is pleasant! Good place to go for drinks but eat somewhere else

Thank melissagoulet
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We came here on st Patrick's day looking for some corned beef and cabbage and some beer. We had to wait 90 minutes to get a table which is mostly because they were really busy, but also because the hostess played a game as to...More

Thank SLT1962
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This restaurant does not want to be in the Sunday Brunch space and it was quite obvious from the empty tables. Food was good but no sausages even though we were the only people there.

Thank Kevin D
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We visited The Purple Heather in conjunction with "The Taste of Burlington". A three course lunch for $20.00. Hubby's appetizer - Bang Bang Shrimp; Entree - Braised Beef Pocket with an Arugula Salad finishing off with A Caramelized Pear and Apple Crumble. Of course I...More

1  Thank BB Carmen J
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We visited the purple heather on Friday January 13th to watch the band Freedom Train. We thought we arrived early but apparently we were already too late to get a table. Next thing you know the owner/manager Doug with the accompaniment of a fabulous host...More

Thank sarah052588
doogieb, Owner at The Purple Heather Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for the kind words...we look forward to seeing you at the Heather again. We will do our best to make it happen whenever you arrive

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed all the attention from our waitress Victoria. Detail oriented staff asked all the right questions in order to be helpful. Decor is elegant but not too high brow. Live entertainment. Will be a micro brewery within a month or so?? Chocolate martini was...More

Thank Sheryll J
doogieb, Owner at The Purple Heather Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit. Yes exciting times ahead with our Brew Pub plans moving ahead......and please do spread the word !

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We visited with a group of 9 people with a reservation and got seated right beside the entrance door. Constant draft every time someone came in. Our waitress never seemed very happy to serve us and we spent most of the time trying to make...More

Thank jason h
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Doma Sushi
10 reviews
.03 km away
Bombay's Chutney
57 reviews
.03 km away
Eggsactly
33 reviews
.16 km away
Halibut House
8 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bronte Creek Provincial Park
312 reviews
4.68 km away
Ireland House Museum
23 reviews
2.53 km away
City View Park
7 reviews
3.06 km away
Amazing Adventures Playland
14 reviews
4.53 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
iv96364
What are you thinking by serving pre-made salads--like the Caesar salads you served us--clearly made for your convenience rather than taste. Also, the nacho "platter" is ridiculous and a fortune for what you're offering. Truly bad value. What you offered at the beginning was awesome. Now, it's just awful.
22 March 2016|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Alan B | Property representative |
IV93364 Well I will try this again as I have posted an answer about 2 hours ago. As one of the owners at the Purple Heather I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our servers are trained to address any... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Canadian, American
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3600 Dundas St | 3600 Dundas Street West, Burlington, Ontario L7M 4B8, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Burlington
  • Phone Number: +1 905-315-8782
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing