We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill

) #47 of 572 Restaurants in Halifax €€ - €€€ , Seafood,
5075 George Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1M3, Canada
+1 902-492-1800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good42%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“chowder” (20 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5075 George Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1M3, Canada
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had been to Stayners in years past and wanted to return for a meal and drinks. Staff was friendly but food missed the mark. The $20.00 lobster chowder had a nice taste and a hot bowl but soup was only mildly warm. A film...More

Thank K B
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Recently had an excellent meal here with my wife. Very fairly priced, excellent food and service. We say on the patio which is right outside the ferry terminal, and beside Theodore Tugboat,great spot to have a few drinks and watch the world go by.

Thank John P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place to have some good vegetarian options, and the food was excellent. Our wait person was very helpful with our selection. Great Choice!

Thank livonia2017
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much! Very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After spending a lovely afternoon in Halifax, my wife and I decided to have a drink and some appetizers on a patio near the harbour front. We happened to find Stayner's which seemed to have a decent patio. We were greeted warmly, seated and told...More

Thank M160VBwilliamk
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

My stomach hurts reading this experience you had! I am very sorry about this happening. Not only sorry but embarrassed. Can you please send me an email to Jesse@staynerswharf.com I would like to hear more.

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

My blackened salmon was fantastic: tasty and moist. Very funny way to fix black beans, with lots of bell peppers, that I really don't like. But everything else was good.

Thank DameDeBronze
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write. Most people love the black beans. I'm sorry they weren't to your liking. Hope you come again and see the new good eats we have to offer!

Reviewed 4 May 2017

My husband and I went here on a Groupon. The food here is not your average pub fare, it is cooked just for you while you wait , not fast food style . The server was excellent . They substitued caesar for my fries which...More

Thank DebM908
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 13 April 2017

The place is ok, typical pub style. Nothing special with the food but it came out hot and nicely presented. We just ordered the haddock burger and another burger for my husband...

Thank caribbeanasian
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

I have had a couple Groupons for this location. It's a small cozy bar/restaurant that has live entertainment on weekends. I have been to a couple live blues venues. The music has been pretty good. Dinners aren't too bad. Breakfast/lunch has been disappointing. I won't...More

Thank Jean2017
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

I'm sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your visits here with us. I would really like to better understand what we could be doing better. Please send an email to jesse@staynerswharf.com as any information you have for me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We ate here on our last day in Halifax and the restaurant did not disappoint. Myself and another had fish and chips, someone else had shrimpetta, and the other a beef burger with no complaints from anyone. The fish was flakey and not overcooked or...More

Thank Anythingbutonions
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you very much for sharing! Much appreciated

Reviewed 8 April 2017

This was our first time going to Stayner's Wharf and my wife had purchased a groupon that offered a great deal and neither of us had been before but had heard from someone it was worth checking out. We had to make a reservation as...More

Thank Spencer D
JAbbass, Manager at Stayner's Wharf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Please send an email to jesse@staynerswharf.com as I'm very disheartened hearing about your experience. I would like to try and rectify this situation if at all possible. Thanks

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Triangle Irish Ale House
1,002 reviews
.19 km away
McKelvie's Delishes Fishes Dishes
882 reviews
.19 km away
Salty's
1,213 reviews
.16 km away
Bluenose 2 Restaurant
529 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maritime Museum of the Atlantic
2,117 reviews
.22 km away
Halifax Harbour Ferry
758 reviews
.24 km away
HMCS Sackville
271 reviews
.29 km away
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
222 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Robert A
Any music tonight?
19 September 2016|
Answer
Response from buffybotns | Reviewed this property |
Not on Monday or Tuesday :( You can go to their website at staynerswharf for info.
0
Votes
Ian M
We are looking for a place for lunch during a March afternoon in Halifax. Can anyone help us choose between Stayner's and Salty's, or maybe have a third suggestion nearby? Thanks in advance!
11 February 2016|
Answer Show all 13 answers
Response from NessieBo | Reviewed this property |
Not much to choose between the two. Stayner's is a bit more of a bar and Salty's is a restaurant. The food is fine. Depends really what you wany. If you like Italian fare then head to Ristorante aMano for overall good food... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5075 George Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1M3, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Halifax>  > Downtown Halifax
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
  • Phone Number: +1 902-492-1800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing