We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vermillion Room

405 Spray Avenue | Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
+1 403-762-6860
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good17%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pate” (3 reviews)
“steak” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
405 Spray Avenue | Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This was our breakfast venue, and it proved to be comfortable with a good breakfast buffet selection, Dinner here was pleasant--nor gourmet, but tasty with pleasant service.

Thank FLDiner101
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying at the hotel you have plenty of options for dining. We opted for the vermillion room and its French menu. The bisonbourgonion was silky and delicious when ladelled over creamy mashed potatoes. The seafood tower was delicious with fresh oysters, mussels, shrimp, crab and...More

Thank dirkd300
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Our team was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit! We can't wait to welcome you back the next time you are in Banff. Warm regards, Jeffrey C. Food and Beverage...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brunch was good, but would advise to go early. We went at 2:30 and the majority of the food was not fresh, but had been sitting under heat lamps for some time. Would have been worth the price if all of the food had been...More

1  Thank Murchardaj
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear about your less than memorable visit. This is not the type of brunch experience we wish any of our guests to have. I have shared your comments...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere and good service, but the food we had, the chicken special with wine sauce, potatoes and onions was truly terrible. One of the worst meals we’ve had in a long time. Potatoes were not cooked, the wine sauce was really bad and the...More

1  Thank Rjl2002
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing dinner. This is clearly not the type of experience we wish any of our guests to have. Your feedback has been shared with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate breakfast buffet for the three days we were there. It had anything you could imagine. I had eggs benedict three days in a row.More

Thank plabeau
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. It was wonderful to hear that you were able to join us throughout your recent visit to Banff. What a perfect way to start a day of adventure in the Rockies! We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love love love this place. The food was delicious. We enjoyed made to order omelette and egg Benedict and there was a huge spread of food, a lot of different desserts and bakery items. The view was also amazing. Our server was pretty cold in...More

Thank rabbiyaa
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Our team was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast. What a perfect way to start the day! I am sorry to hear about the disappointing service you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There buffet breakfast is outstanding! Anything you could possible want to eat. The deco has changed and in my opinion, lost some of the charm! We actually thought we were in the wrong restaurant at first. We also had dinner there one night; it was...More

Thank rdjtjm
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. Our team was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Banff. Warm regards,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was hands down our best breakfast on our Rocky Mountaineer trip. We had the buffet and everything we had was excellent. Most of all their coffee is top notch which for me makes or breaks a breakfast. The coffee was fresh and on the...More

Thank jim m
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Our team was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast! What a perfect way to start your day! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our server suggested the best drinks and entrees and just made the visit. We will definitely return. You cannot go wrong!

Thank Ron H
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest, It was wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. Our team always loves to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards, Jeffrey C. Food and Beverage Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reviewed this under the hotel review. Nice experience. Good service. Cold food. Ridiculously priced parking.More

Thank brixbolton
Jeffrey C, Food and Beverage Manager at The Vermillion Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear about your less than memorable visit. Our team is always looking for ways to improve and appreciate hearing directly from our guests. I do hope you enjoyed...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 hotels in Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs
7,843 reviews
.02 km away
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
612 reviews
.79 km away
Mount Royal Hotel
118 reviews
1.40 km away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
5,831 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Grapes Wine Bar
232 reviews
.04 km away
Three Ravens Restaurant & Wine Bar
527 reviews
.79 km away
Chuck's Steakhouse
352 reviews
1.28 km away
1888 Chop House
266 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Minnewanka
3,273 reviews
1.13 km away
Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity
357 reviews
.69 km away
Bow Falls
3,586 reviews
.17 km away
Tunnel Mountain Drive
539 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Vermillion Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 405 Spray Avenue | Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Alberta  >  Canadian Rockies  >  Banff National Park  >  Banff
  • Phone Number: +1 403-762-6860
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing