We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bush Inn

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ovington, Alresford SO24 0RE, England
+44 1962 732764
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 319: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Food better than expected. Cloudy cider was very good. Quite pricey though. Specials were also very good

Helpful?
Thank Petro B
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so happy you enjoyed your recent visit to The Bush & hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been a few times and found setting a delight.Outside riverside tables make summer eating a great pleasure.Inside a log fire blazed adding to a good atmosphere Unfortunately both gin and certain menue items were missing and wouldn't be replaced until a delivery took place.My suggestion that a short drive to Alresford might be called for was not taken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cangan
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your kind review. Unfortunately, as a fresh food pub, we can sometimes be waiting for our food deliveries during lunch service, especially on a Monday after a busy weekend. The reason we cannot just take a 'short drive' into Alresford & purchase what we need is due to allergen legislation and the fact we're a... More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had lunch here on a very cold Saturday. We were glad we'd booked because we saw people being turned away once the place was full. Our table was very cosy by the log fire - I don't know how warm the more distant tables were. Because we arrived early the service was very prompt, but slowed down as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnFelicity
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit & do hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bush Inn is an attractive pub and worth a short drive out from the city of Winchester. The staff are mostly young and friendly. It gets busy, but the service is good. However, the food just isn't what it used to be. Pub menus are so predictable these days, so the quality really needs to be good. I visited... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashrobh
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your comments. we're delighted you found our level of service good. You're correct in what you say, The Bush is not the same as it used to be, we're now very much a busy traditional pub set next to the river Itchen, as opposed to a restaurant, and our varied menu is reflective of that.... More 

Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reserved a very nice table called 'Riverview' in advance of lunch with a friend. We received a warm welcome, ordered our beers and lunches. The service was good and the food okay but perhaps a little over priced. All in all pleasant lunch time experience. GS

Helpful?
Thank graham s
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We'reso happy you enjoyed your visit & hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Sunday lunch. Suggest you go there hungry as portions are substantial. A little out of the way but well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank andrewlesley
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for your kind comments regarding Sunday lunch. We're delighted you enjoyed our roasts & hope to see you again. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family ordered roast beef, meal was lukewarm, meat was raw, chewy and needed a chainsaw to cut didn't enjoy main meal and was a little disappointed expected better. Chocolate fondant with icecream was delicious and made up for a disappointing main course. Nice pub though cosy inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to prvide us with feedback from your recent visit. We're disappointed you felt our food was average and would hope on your next visit your experience would be entirely positive. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub was relatively quiet for a Sunday evening. The staff were very welcoming. We opted for roast beef and it was divine, perfectly cooked, amazing veg and at £13.75 excellent value for money. The evening would have been perfect had it not been for a loud mouthed man who felt it necessary to hear the sound of his own... More 

Helpful?
Thank NessN233
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We do hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've eaten dinner at The Bush several times recently. The food is good and the service average. However one evening when we arrived we noticed the car park was almost empty, we went inside to discover the central heating system had packed up. It was very cold inside and out! The tables next to the log fire were occupied and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comments. We're very sorry that our boiler malfunctioned prior to your recent visit. Unfortunately these incidents do sometimes happen and, as I'm sure you can understand, are not an 'easy fix'. We do hope you visit us again soon where we're sure you're experience will be entirely positive. Kind regards, Mark & Kay. More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bush Inn just pushes all the right buttons for us. We arrived early, and bagged the last unbooked table - a good sign in itself. It was a chilly but blue sky lunchtime. We just beat the tsunami of couples, buggies, babies and dogs. All lovely people but I don't like having a dog's tail whacking my thigh during... More 

Helpful?
Thank DorsetGourmet2
Mark C, General Manager at The Bush Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, We're delighted you enjoyed your recent visit to us at The Bush & do hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Mark & Kay More 

Travellers who viewed The Bush Inn also viewed

Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 
Alresford, Hampshire
Alresford, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ovington, Alresford SO24 0RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Alresford
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 732764

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bush Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Hampshire
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bush Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?