We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shovels Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Green Meadow Lane, Hambleton FY6 9AL, England
+44 1253 700209
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Green Meadow Lane, Hambleton FY6 9AL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for tea - first time visit passing through area. Was lovely home cooked food and service was quick and staff were friendly. My only critique would be the dining area needs a refit as it’s looking tired and old - definitely worth a stop...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank derekbBolton
managershovels, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving us a great review, we pride ourselves on serving good quality home cooked food and are happy you received good serv8xe from our staff. Regarding the update of our restaurant I have passed you comments onto the owners and they are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was Christmas eve and we had booked for 8pm. And yes it was Christmas eve and fairly busy, but most people had eaten or just about come to the end of their meal but the wait was not really acceptable. We would have liked...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank nicola r
managershovels, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for reviewing our establishment. We can only appolgise for the wait that you had, as you saw we were quite busy at the time of your visit and home cooked food takes time to prepare. Hopefully this doesnt put you off visiting us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for Boxing Day in November. On arrival were informed tables with crackers were only for people eating off the Christmas menu. and also prawn cocktail was not available. So how come prawns were served with the salmon dish my wife ordered. As regular customers...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank barryholmes1
managershovels, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed that you did not receive crackers as they were for the Christmas menu, regarding the prawns the restaurant staff were informed that the prawns we did have had to be kept back for the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Sunday 23rd Dec. At first disappointed that there was no "Christmas Menu" - disappointment didn't last long! Ordered Sunday roast - lamb and chicken for my wife. Home-made soup and chicken liver pate. The pate was the best ever! huge portion with trimmings. My...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ian I
managershovels, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your glowing review of our restaurant, I am sorry that we didn't have a Christmas menu to order off, we did have a Christmas fayre menu available but unfortunately we need 3 days notice to make sure we have the meals for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in on a Sunday with the intention of having 2 Sunday dinners It wasnt busy at all and sat at a table and waited to be served Ten minutes passed and still waited to be served or even acknowledged at all One waitress served...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank paulfA5414AW
managershovels, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Im sorry to hear that you feel like you were ignored by our staff here, this is not normal as you can see by other reviews our staff are polite and certainly not rude. All I can think is that the waitresses thought you had...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worse mixed grill I have ever had in nearly 70 years. My wife left her meal as well. The meat were cheap cuts, fatty and I would imagine came out of a freezer as were tasteless and watery. Only thing on the plate that was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nigel L
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to our establishment. I can ensure you that we do not use cheap cuts of meats in our mixed grills, and they are certainly not frozen, we use Honeywell meats as our...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Wow! Food delicious. Not one frozen item to be seen. Staff friendly and we were so impressed we have booked for Christmas day. Really awesome, best pub food we've ever hadMore

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank bevvi-panda
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for your glowing review, we pride ourselves on using local fresh ingredients in our dishes and are very happy that you enjoyed your meals so much. We can not wait to see you again in the very near future, and also on Christmas...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018

We visited The Shovels for an early evening buffet after my father's funeral. The food and service were exceptional. We were recommended this by the Coop Funeral Care at Knott End and didn't really know, having not visited before, what to expect. We were given...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank julietuite
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you for your great comments, we are glad that you were impressed with the quality of service we provided for yourselves. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

A family get together for my mums 80th proved a nice day and our meals where excellent!! The pub already very busy and a popular eatery with the locals was very busy but the kitchen and staff coped fabulously with our party of 14. Good...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mel16365
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad your mum had a nice birthday at our establishment and hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Good food and the bar staff/waitress were really friendly and professional, I'd definitely eat there again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bigmandy
Richard P, Head Chef at The Shovels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your glowing review, I will pass on your comments to the staff and hope to see you again very soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Shard Riverside Hotel
641 reviews
1.24 km away
Briardene Hotel
253 reviews
5.52 km away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
1,495 reviews
5.74 km away
Norbreck Castle Hotel
6,779 reviews
6.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ryecroft Hall
116 reviews
.29 km away
Shard Riverside
373 reviews
1.24 km away
The Puddled Duck
16 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
ThatchedHouse
77 reviews
3.66 km away
Glasform
67 reviews
3.80 km away
Wyre Estuary Country Park
148 reviews
1.85 km away
St Chads Church of England Church
25 reviews
3.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nicola m
25 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from klammer | Reviewed this property |
Again I'm not sure ,but the front entrance ,I seem to remember, is reasonably wide and I don't recall any steps. Inside there are many areas suitable for a wheelchair.Perhaps a phone call to the Shovels would clear this... More
1
Vote
Midsummer8
31 October 2017|
Answer
Response from managershovels | Property representative |
Sorry we won't be showing the match.
1
Vote
Midsummer8
30 October 2017|
Answer
Response from managershovels | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed in all areas of the pub except the main restaurant area. Food is served throughout the whole pub and we also have free dog treats available on the bar.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Green Meadow Lane, Hambleton FY6 9AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Wyre District  >  Hambleton
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 700209
  • E-mail
Description
The Shovels Inn, located in the heart of the village of Hambleton, is a warm and welcoming, friendly, family orientated pub serving delicious home cooked (inc. real chips!) traditional pub food and a la carte daily specials. There is a wide range of cask marque recommended real ales, world wines, gins, draught beers/ciders, soft drinks and rijo coffees. We have regular entertainment inc quiz night (Thursdays), Karaoke, live bands, family fun days, psychic suppers and much more! Like The Shovels Inn on Facebook for regular updates too.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing