We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port and Starboard

Chapel Road | Indian Queens, St Columb Major, England
+44 1726 860270
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cod” (48 reviews)
“mushy peas” (19 reviews)
Opens in 19 min
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chapel Road | Indian Queens, St Columb Major, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We visited the Port & Starboard on two occasions over the Christmas & New Year period, and on both visits the restaurant was closed. On both occasions we checked their website to see when they were open, and both times it showed that they would...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Thechapmans
Bex B, General Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are really sorry about this, but we have had major issues with our flooring. It has taken a week longer than anticipated. unfortunately we do not control our website although we asked them to update our times they hadn't done it. We have been...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fish is cooked too long and dried out and chips are not crispy enough. The other owners had it all down to perfection.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank margaret louise b
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Came to the Port & Starboard last night for takeaway fish and chips. We had heard lots of good things about the food here so thought we would make the trip and see for ourselves. Waited around 10/15 minutes for the food (which is fair...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Oliver R
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

If you’re gonna advertise open until 9 (too early) at least open until 9! As a local I feel your opening hours, your prices, your service style and your attitude are rubbish! Although I live 2 mins walk away I chose to get in my...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank CornishTramp
Bex B, Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We are sorry that you feel this way. Our opening times are clearly marked on Google and on our sign at the front. The take away is open until 8.30 on Monday to Thursday and 9pm on Saturday. You are welcome to call during our...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We have been regulars here for years and unfortunately it's just not as good as it used to be. We waited at least half an hour for our meal- the takeaway queue was very busy so presumably they were dealing with that. The cappuccinos were...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank shuzzie
Bex B, Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

We are sorry you have had a disappointing meal with us. We cook all food to order and when we are busy it can take up to half an hour for food to arrive. We are sorry you didn't get your Sweetner. I am surprised...More

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

I have eaten fish and chips all around the country and this is in my top three. Fish fried in dripping had light and crispy batter. Delicious crispy chips. Perfection

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mariner_1980
Bex B, Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you very much. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Was babysitting my grandson so decided to treat us both to fish & chips. Well what can I say? SO disappointed, VERY expensive, then to get home to discover the kids cod bites were full of chips, packed out under chips with tomato sauce ‘...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Maxine H
Bex B, Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi Maxine, We are really sorry you've had a bad experience with us. If you had given us a call on the evening or popped back in we would have put this right for you at the time. It is very unusual for a piece...More

Reviewed 18 October 2018

Popped into this fish and chip restaurant when on holiday, in the area. The staff are very friendly, the meals are served up very quickly. Also they do a oap priced meal which is slightly smaller, but still plenty to eat .Best fish and chips...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Laura H
Bex B, Manager at Port and Starboard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thankyou very much. Hopefully see you on your next trip to Cornwall :)

Reviewed 8 October 2018

Stopped here for a fish supper off the A30 in Cornwall. Quite compact inside. Tables close together. Was okay for us as restaurant only had a few people inside but think it would be quite noisy if busy. We had the set menu which was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 666rw
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Although situated in the unfashionable and non-touristy location of Indian Queens, it’s been a regular place for fish & chips on our annual visits to Cornwall because I’ve always regarded it as the best fish & chips in the area. Having changed hands since our...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank malabarfly
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
623 reviews
1.99 km away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
940 reviews
7.09 km away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
349 reviews
7.48 km away
Victoria Inn & Lodge
157 reviews
7.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Anchor
140 reviews
1.20 km away
Chapters Diner
33 reviews
1.28 km away
New Garden Chinese Resturant
74 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kingsley Village
147 reviews
1.98 km away
Screech Owl Sanctuary
1,096 reviews
2.27 km away
Goss Moor Multi-Use Trail
7 reviews
3.47 km away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
33 reviews
6.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
smellybaboon
6 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from shuzzie | Reviewed this property |
Sadly as of October 2018 the food has gone downhill. Cappuccino was half foam and the fish was extremely greasy. Such a shame to see a favourite go downhill.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
16:45 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chapel Road | Indian Queens, St Columb Major, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Columb Major
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 860270
Description
"Great Fish and Chips, great service, a must visit when in Cornwall".
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing