We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Mural de los Poblanos

Avenida 16 de Septiembre 506 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
+52 222 242 0503
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“moles” (54 reviews)
“mole sampler” (25 reviews)
“duck” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mexican, Brew Pub, Delicatessen, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Avenida 16 de Septiembre 506 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a big table (12) so we got a private room upstairs for brunch. We got the lunch menu because it was after noon, which I did not mind but others did. The food is good, especially the mole poblano (it's gotten several awards)...More

Thank Elias Z
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ate dinner here as a large group. The service was very slow with the waiters more intent on pushing liquors than on serving food. Food was okay. Not great.

Thank giffenk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice restaurant, expensive but it worths it. Mole de caderas and chiles en nogada área one of the best in town.

Thank Gabriel F
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Gabriel! We hope to see you at the next Chiles en Nogada Season starting mid July until the end of September. Best Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant specializes in food from Puebla, offering a wide variety of regional dishes. The center theme is the "Mural of the Poblanos", which spans a large wall and depicts famous people from Puebla. It is very well worth the visit, but make sure you...More

Thank RobertoMurphy
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Roberto. Thanks for coming to El Mural and leaving us this very nice review. Hope you return soon and get to know our other "murales" one of "Dichos Mexicanos" (Mexican Sayings) and the other of "Cinco de Mayo" (historical figures from the battle). Cheers!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was very excited to try this place. The menu looked delicious. The food was good, traditional. The service was terrible. Our server was Julio Cesar, as he was taking our order he was distracted and tuning us out while ordering because he was too busy...More

Thank cio212
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The mole poblando is so good, they sell it to go. The food is outstanding and the space it occupies honors all things Puebla. A very much must in Puebla! Make sure to order the chalupas, tacos árabes and a plate with mole poblano! Enjoy!

Thank Stephanie S
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Stephanie! Hope you return soon to Puebla. Cheers!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends on a trip which focused on food. Now we've finished the trip I can say the food, beer selection and service was very good for the price paid we tried some unusual and different dishes. Be warned through a...More

Thank JamieHerts
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jamie. Thanks for visiting and leaving very nice comments. Please contact us next time you visit us, maybe we could arrange more details to your trip focused on food. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food is amazing, we went without reservation even though the staff managed to find us a seat. Fantastic food and attention. We definitely will come back.

Thank Gabrielatique
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting us Gabriela! It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the near future. Cheers :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely enjoyed my first visit at this busy place. I tried to visit it again, but the unfriendly person at the door first told me I would get a table right away and after waiting for a while I had to go ask and she...More

Thank Mango_Labyrinth
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting and leaving so detailed comments. We have share your comments to our beverages team and they thank you very much. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and have a 5 star experience :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went there and had to wait to be seated. It was not pretty busy but the waiters were rushed and it was hard to get ones attention. Food was really spicy and almost unbeatable for a foreigner. The place is beautiful. But that would...More

Thank Priscila A
Juan Jose C, Propietario at El Mural de los Poblanos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Priscila. Mexican food is famous for its spiciness. At El Mural we have worked our recipes to balance spiciness. Thanks very much for your comments and we hope you come back soon to Puebla. Kind regards

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 103 hotels in Puebla
Quinta Real Puebla
348 reviews
.09 km away
Meson San Sabastian
53 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel Real Santander
45 reviews
.13 km away
EL Sueno Hotel & Spa
308 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nelhua
43 reviews
.06 km away
Augurio
14 reviews
.18 km away
Antigua Churreria de Catedral
59 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rosary Chapel (Capilla del Rosario)
1,468 reviews
.51 km away
Zocalo
1,896 reviews
.24 km away
Catedral Basilica de Puebla
1,497 reviews
.15 km away
Amparo Museum (Museo Amparo)
687 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Javier P
11 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Raul R | Reviewed this property |
No lo se. Había muy buen vino ahí
0
Votes
Google Translation
Catherine C
29 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from suzannela2015 | Reviewed this property |
I don't know but assume they do. Check its website for its email. I highly recommend Elizabeth at Hotel Meson de Las Companias. In 1 session I learned both roja and Verde salsas piquante, mole, chalupas and a drink made... More
0
Votes
56003Richard
26 May 2016|
Answer
Response from deafult | Reviewed this property |
No. Chiles en Nogada's season is August-September, because nuts and granate are fresh.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Avenida 16 de Septiembre 506 | Centro Historico, Puebla 72000, Mexico
    (La 5 & 7 Oriente)
  • Location: Mexico  >  Central Mexico and Gulf Coast  >  Puebla  >  Puebla
  • Phone Number: +52 222 242 0503
  • E-mail
Description
In El Mural de los Poblanos we are proud of our origins why rescue and conserve our cuisine its most notable dishes. Our proposal is to offer diners a transport that sensuously to Puebla old unsurpassed dining experience. To achieve this we follow religiously original recipes use ingredients from the region and employ traditional methods of production.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing