We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$22
CUISINES
Irish, Gastropub, Bar, European, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (290)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
167
79
13
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
167
79
13
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips burger soup mash chicken wings ice cream wicklow mountains light batter quick lunch friendly atmosphere pub smokies fiona
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered two main. Fish and Chips and the Chicken breast burger with chips. Fish - Good but batter soggy Chicken - inedible as sinuous fat throughout (this could not be a chicken breast) Chips - undercooked and soggy

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just left the HW inn,both stuffed with gorgeous well prepared n presented 2 course lunch …prices are realistic didn’t feel ripped off and we weren’t /Veg soup and crusty brown bread was full of flavour but not overly salty that alone would be treat on...any day of the week -5.95 per bowl-as it’s a Bank Holiday the last of Summer we went for the Specual -Chicken wrapped with bacon abd Clonakilty black pudding stuffing the warm mash & fabulous vegetables were such a treat on top of the main with its slightly peppered sauce Dash around the plate edges it was gorgeous and as it lashed rain we could have sat there all evening lovely atmosphere and friendly staff all greeted us but didnt hover too long -A Splendid bank Holiday Monday a Good pint of Guinness for roughly a fiver where would ya get it these daysMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 July 2022

Went on end of year bus trip stopped here for lunch had pre ordered food as on needed to move on to next pub,food came out on time and service was great everything ran to plan.32 meals brought out and served with a smile a...lot of us will returnMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 April 2022 via mobile

First off amazing service. My husband collects beer glasses and asked if he could buy a local one and they gave us 3 abs wrapped them plus the coasters! Also the spicy wings probably had the best sauce I’ve ever had on wings. We love...spice, I didn’t find them particularly spicy (just utterly delicious) but my husband said his nose was running from the spice haha. Great place to stop. Hands down recommend!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 January 2022

Just had the fresh Haddock and chips here with side salad and tartar sauce...absolutely amazing. Pints that accompanied it were pretty good too! I am from Donegal as well, so fussy about my fish! Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings. Just a great spot altogether. Nestled under...the western edge of the Wicklow mountains and just a stones throw from Dublin...but a different world. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 November 2021

During these trying times it had been two years since we were last here, we were so looking forward to coming back, and they did not disappoint, very friendly helpful staff, the place was spotless, and covid safe, which is great. It was awesome to...see smokies back on the menu, they are definitely a house fave, they are so flavoursome, an excellent dish to start the meal, the other members of the group had soup, (mushy), and chicken wings, which I was told tasted divine, the main, in our opinion you cant go past the fish n chips, cooked to perfection. last but not lest was sticky date with ice cream, what a way to finish the meal, all washed down with a tasty beverage. We are already looking forward to our return.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

I met with group of people for lunch, although a minimal menu available, the food was amazing. Three of us had Wagu Beef Burger , absolutely delicious with home made fries, equally delicious, Two of the group had the fish, done to perfection in a...very light batter. Disappointments: miniature bottles of Coke. I can't understand the reason for this, why not provide a 330ml standard can . I get the felling that its mean. Ice Cream was below standard for a restaurant not as Ice Cream should be but a cheap imitation. When main courses and starters were above average for this type of place why throw it all away for a few cents extra profit. Service: BrilliantMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Stopped off today ordered two pints and two glasses of Fanta the guts of €20. Then we ordered two chips for the kids, they arrived with no cutlery, no napkins and no sauce, we had to ask the girl for these. We then went to...pay for the chips on the way out and we were charged €10!!! For two small sides of chips. Total rip off..More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I note your comment on the price of the beverages. The price of two pints and two minerals cost €16.40. Please let me know if you were overcharged. With regard to the price of our home cut chips, unfortunately it...More

Reviewed 22 June 2021

We, all 4 ladies fhad a fabulous lunch here last week, The portions were really good. Goats cheese salad was delicious, so I believe was the mushroom soup and the burger. Fiona looked after us so well, she was so friendly and nothing was a...problem. We were well impressed with the food and service. We will be back soon :)More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thanks for your comments. I am pleased you had a nice lunch and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards David

Reviewed 9 June 2021

Batter was light and not too greasy. Fish was great. Chips were good. Very friendly atmosphere. Recommended for a quick lunch

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Regards David

Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while travelling around Wicklow, nice pub & the covid restrictions in place didn’t take from the experience. Had the wings & fish & chips, massive portions & tastes delicious. Menu was limited though, enjoy our visit! Will be back.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Really enjoy a spot of lunch here on a trip around Wicklow! Staff friendly & food was tasty! Only thing was there was no background music & we found it lacking atmosphere....but we will be back!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Thank you for your comments and I have noted your comments with regard to the background music. Regards David

Reviewed 30 August 2020

Good food, great service & hygiene seems to be top of their agenda which is great in the current climate

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2020

Thanks Michael for your feedback. Kind regards David

Reviewed 26 August 2020

We have been to the Hollywood inn numerous times as we really enjoy the food there. However, the behaviour of the staff has completely turned us off ever returning. They are so ignorant and the older woman working there is particularly obnoxious. On our last...trip there she actually shouted at us that we were sitting at the wrong table. She evidently doesn't want to be there and the 2 men behind the bar could do with a course in customer service also. There is an older gentleman who works there who always goes out of his way to provide the best service. After spending many nights eating in the Hollywood Inn we decided we would not be returning as every night one of us commented how rude/cold/ignorant the staff were. They spoil the experience and leave a bitter taste in your mouth.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?10  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Hi Sarah I am very disappointed to read your comments and I am very surprised that a member of my team would react to as you highlighted in your comments. I am sorry that your experience will deter you from dining with us again. If...More

Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

Went on a short trip to the other side of Wicklow today. Visited June Blake’s Garden and had lunch in the Hollywood Inn where we have often visited Pre Covid. It was as excellent as ever and we felt so safe there. Such a great...effort by owners and staff, respect for their customers’ well being as well as their own 👏👏👏.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hollywood_Inn, Owner at Hollywood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

Thanks Mary for your feedback. It is challenging trying to operate our business with the restrictions and guidelines so we are happy to read your positive comments. Thank you again. Kind regards David

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tulfarris Hotel & Golf Resort
1,503 reviews
4.41 km away
The Old Rectory Donard
6 reviews
8.04 km away
The Avon
381 reviews
8.77 km away
Killashee Hotel
2,415 reviews
12.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Ballymore Inn
374 reviews
4.75 km away
O'Connor - The Star Inn
8 reviews
5.04 km away
Hollywood Cafe
96 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
National Bird of Prey Centre
77 reviews
4.95 km away
Blessington Lake Boat Hire
10 reviews
6.58 km away
Toomey’s Bar
14 reviews
7.94 km away
Tulfarris Golf Club
67 reviews
4.80 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sandra K
5 July 2020|
Answer
Response from Hollywood_Inn | Property representative |
Hi Sandra - apologies for my late response. Yes, we are open on Sundays but with the current guidelines you are required to make a booking. Kind regards David
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hollywood Inn

Hollywood Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5