We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Hampton Poyle

€€ - €€€European, British,
11 Oxford Road | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
+44 1865 376242
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (29 reviews)
“liver” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Oxford Road | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this restaurant in May for our anniversary and I felt there could of been more choice. When we go back I will have 2 starters as the fish soup and the prawns were delicious.We. Had a steak to shar and it was a...More

Thank Viv B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looking to eat after visiting Blenheim, shared a starter, then pizza each, really good. Staff friendly, food really good, although our choice was at the simpler end of the menu. Offered well aged cuts of steak, mouth watering!! Unlikely to visit again, just not in...More

Thank Sue S
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much. We are glad you stopped by after visiting Blenheim and enjoyed your experience. There are plenty of attractions in the area therefore we hope to see you with us again soon.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Four of us visited on a Saturday evening, our first time here. A very warm welcome awaited us and we were shown to our table. This 'pub' turned out to be a beautiful charming restaurant, but not a five star overbearing place full of snapping...More

Thank Terry P
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Bell. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your dinner with us on Saturday evening. In regards to the wine list, we are doing exactly what you suggested in your review. Trying to make a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

So we Picked the Bell at Hampton Poyle as our venue for our Small wedding. Right from the start nothing was too much trouble for Suzie who accommodated every request that we had and was so friendly and welcoming she took the stress out of...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

WOW!!!! Thank you so much for your kindest review. We are very happy to hear that your wedding day went well and that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us....More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

This was my first visit while with a small group of business colleagues. I started with the grilled prawn...excellent!. My main course was a choice between three different fresh fish. I chose the Hake. It was the best I have ever had. Very tender and...More

Thank Reagan10
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments. The prawns are our signature dish so it's a must on the first visit. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Four of us out for dinner on a Saturday night, the evening started really well, chatting at our table and enjoying the company. Then the adjacent table filled with two young couples, who were a bit loud but having a nice time, the same applied...More

Thank Alan P
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the whole experience of the Bell. I do recall the evening of which we had a few parties, as it is busy Saturday nights in general, the noise...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

I'm afraid to say this meal which was to celebrate a birthday was a great disappointment. The starters were good but the main course for three out of four of us was not good. It wasn't so much how it was cooked which was perfect,...More

Thank traveldipper
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. Recently we have had a few comments of this nature. The head chef is in the process of contacting our meat supplier and the issue should be solved...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Been here a few times for Saturday lunch, always good food and service nothing is to much trouble. Really worth a visit

Thank lorraine l
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you. It is a pleasure having you and we hope to see you for another Saturday lunch. Best wishes.

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Well it was to me as Oxfordshire is not my local county. Amazing - it seems to be in the middle of nowhere and yet it was pretty full and you can see why. The staff are lovely and extremely welcoming and the food divine....More

Thank RobininBRISTOL
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Fantastic! Thank you very much for your kind words. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed all of the aspects of the Bell. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes.

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Off to The Bell again this weekend. Staying there with friends (their first visit) and booked in for dinner. Can't wait. Always perfect! Great spot if you're off shopping at Bicester. N. Bransome.More

Thank Bransome
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell at Hampton Poyle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments!!! I do apologise, I have only seen your review and you stayed last weekend. I do hope you had most enjoyable stay, enjoyed your shopping at Bicester Village and hope to see you and your friends again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Annie's Tea Room
184 reviews
2.12 km away
The Boat Inn
421 reviews
2.32 km away
The Batch
25 reviews
2.62 km away
The Red Lion
106 reviews
2.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbrook Farm
22 reviews
1.32 km away
The Old FlightHouse
15 reviews
5.47 km away
St. Martin's Church
144 reviews
5.48 km away
Kirtlington Golf Club
16 reviews
5.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bell at Hampton Poyle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:30 - 18:29
Monday
18:30 - 18:29
Tuesday
18:30 - 18:29
Wednesday
18:30 - 18:29
Thursday
18:30 - 18:29
Friday
18:30 - 18:29
Saturday
18:30 - 18:29
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Oxford Road | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 376242
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing