We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Taplow Common Road | Grovefield House, Burnham SL1 8LR, England
+44 844 693 2960
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I went to Grovefield House for afternoon tea. It was an early Christmas present from a friend. The positioning of the reception desk is odd,tucked behind a wall and difficult to see from the door. We waited in line to tell of our arrival for our booked slot. I cannot fault the waiting staff who were courteous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Sandra L Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us and I do personally apologise that you were left disappointed with your experience. I have reviewed our recent feedback alongside your valuable comments whilst also having a meeting with my Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef to review. We will be carrying out... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My Husband and I visited last year and had afternoon tea and were so disappointed that we complained and received another afternoon tea which we chose to book for today. Nearly one year on we were greeted by a member of staff who asked us to wait until exactly 2pm before showing us through to the dining area, his colleague... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent Afternoon Tea with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your experience and I will be reviewing your feedback with the team so that we can carry out the appropriate training/actions required in order to continue to improve our service... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have had numerous afternoon teas over the years and the service here was pathetic. We arrived at 2pm to be informed that they had failed to take the voucher down correctly over the phone and now wanted be to email to them. They offered us a table in the meanwhile but did not offer us any drinks whatsoever not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy_Jayne
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Tammy-Jayne Thank you for your review which you did state to all my team here that you were going to publish. I do not accept it is a fair or accurate review and I would like to advise all our readers that with any 3rd party purchase it is always essential to bring the voucher with you to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

There was plenty of tea or coffee on offer and it was good they served decaffinated coffee if preferred. A good choice of sandwiches. There was not much of a selection of small cakes and a scone each. When we had gone previously more cakes were served. Good service by a very attentive and polite waitress. I felt the woodwork... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan c
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Susan C Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to hear that you found your visit pleasant. I do appreciate your candid feedback which I will be reviewing with the relevant departmental managers to implement corrective action/training as appropriate. It is through our customers feedback where we learn what we do well and also areas we... More 

Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

Delicious afternoon tea served by very competent waiting staff. Difficult to fault as nothing could be improved on.

Helpful?
Thank Burnham10
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Burnham10 Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. I look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

Surrey, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Our teenage children had bought us afternoon tea from an online company. We looked at the venues available and it seemed that London or Slough were closest. Upon checking out the Slough option, I discovered that it was in fact the Grovefield in Burnham which I knew had a good reputation in the past. We booked there and duly arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank DavidGeorge126
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear DavidGeorge126 Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review which I will gladly be sharing with the team this morning at our daily meeting. I do hope now that you know where we are that you come visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Paul More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2016

My Husband and I have just been taken out to ``Afternoon Tea`` at Grovefield House by our daughters. We had a very nice selection of sandwiches where we had been offered a choice of fillings, scones with cream and jam, and a lovely selection of cakes. The service was very good and the staff were very helpful. All in very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison070
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Alison070 Thank you for such a lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. I hope you come visit us again soon. Regards Paul More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016

Our first time at Grovefield House introduced by a voucher scheme. A lovely old Hotel used for weddings and funerals, we went for afternoon tea. Welcomed and sat by the window looking out to the garden. A large pot of Earl Grey tea with a three tier tray with sandwiches, scones and cakes, all for under £20 for each of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Peter S I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to us and found it to be fantastic value. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Regards Paul More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We used a red letter day voucher for this afternoon tea and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We booked on the day as the weather was perfect. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food was delicious. Sat outside in the garden. Good choice of sandwich fillings, freshly made, hot ,home made plain scone (would rather have had... More 

Helpful?
Thank shandy28
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Shandy28 Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon with us. I do hope we see you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul More 

UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2016

The welcome and service was friendly and efficient. The sandwiches were excellent, freshly made and with good fillings. The scones were also good, if a little more baked than is usual, but still very tasty. A good selection of tea, although neither of the advertised leaf teas were available. The let down was a poor selection of "cakes" - this... More 

Helpful?
Thank AntonyM
Paul T, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House, responded to this review

Dear Antony M Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea with us. I am sorry that you felt disappointed with our cakes which are all freshly made and I will speak with the chef regarding your comments. We take great pride in the favourable reviews we get with regard to our Afternoon Teas however it... More 

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Taplow Common Road | Grovefield House, Burnham SL1 8LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Burnham
  • Phone Number: +44 844 693 2960
  • This restaurant is at Grovefield House

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Afternoon Tea at Grovefield House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?