We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellwood

€€ - €€€, British,
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
+44 1665 714646
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 457 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My Son & I visited this b&b/restaurant on spec. We didn't have a booking but managed to get a table. The place is lovely. 1st class meal, be prepared to wait as it is cooked to order. I would definitely recommend this place for a...More

Thank Jinty07
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded today

A lovely review of our food, staff and Pub in general thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon Kind regards Jan

Reviewed 5 days ago

We didn't eat. Had to wait for some time while bar lady checked in some visitors. Took drinks outside. Cigarette butts and rubbish everywhere, this was in the afternoon. Overflowing small bin by entrance. Dried up bird mess on the tables. A large parasol which...More

Thank Vivien B
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I guess you were upset you had to wait to get served? That’s upsetting enough always but the smell of drains must be worse.... must say I have never noticed but Amble is known for a poor drainage system.... must contact the council on Monday......More

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the first time we have eaten here, and the poor waitress was working alone, but still had a smile on her face. The food was very tasty, would go there again..

Thank SandySkipton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Externally from the car park it doesn’t look that great, a bit worn. Internally it needs a bit of TLC, it looks fine but is showing a bit of wear. The staff were very friendly and helpful....More

Thank Bfmcm
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Another lovely stay at the Wellwood, had a meal with my son and daughter and their families, food delicious as usual, staff as always friendly and efficient. Room 3 comfortable and clean with a large bathroom. Thank you for accommodating us at the last minute...More

Thank Margaret T
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Good service; tender meat, wide selection of nicely cooked veg, super roast potatoes, nice yorkshire pud and hot gravy what more would you want, or expect for a pub Sunday carvery. Very traditional, nicely priced. It's basic honest food, not your modern fancy cuisine. I...More

Thank George C
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We usually pop in during the day for the 3 course for £9 menu I enjoy the home made soup whilst my partner has potato skins both are fantastic and a nice big portion not what you would expect for the low price. Then for...More

Thank Glenn D
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We are holidaying in the area again this week (we came last Summer and said we’d come back...) so had a good excuse to return to The Wellwood for Sunday Carvery. Everything was excellent as it was last Summer. Service and food spot on. The...More

Thank ApplebyWolBags
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

What a lovely review and many thanks for your return visit, you obviously like Northumberland and Amble in particular See you again and pls say hello when you next come in Kind regards Julian n Jan

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Called in for an early pint after a long ramble. Nice welcome and beer was decent. Didnt have food so can't comment on this side

Thank springrival
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thanks for taken the time to write a nice review Kind regards Julian

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

The pub is very dog friendly. We found a quiet table just away from the bar. The good Lady had liver & onions with mash, lovely. I had steak & ale pie with chips n gravy. Boy Wonder had the Desperate Dan pie with chips...More

3  Thank YorkshireMadMick
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Thank you so much for your recommendation and lovely review Hope we see you back soon, please say hello 🤗 Kind regards Julian n Jan

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Amble Hotels
Warkworth House Hotel
380 reviews
2.34 km away
Eshott Hall
432 reviews
8.88 km away
The Hog's Head Inn
570 reviews
9.92 km away
The White Swan Hotel
1,135 reviews
11.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jaspers Bistro
343 reviews
.37 km away
Spurreli
663 reviews
.54 km away
Sea&Soil Amble
461 reviews
.43 km away
Fish Shack
252 reviews
.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northside Surf School
101 reviews
.32 km away
Pedal Power Cycling
90 reviews
.60 km away
Artique at The Marina
90 reviews
.20 km away
Puffin Cruises
96 reviews
.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Blacktowergirl
the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was s...." i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
This review should be removed unless Trip advisor publishes my first answer Or trip advisor should be closed down. There is nothing rude or discriminatory in my reply it is my opinion which the person writing the review has... More
0
Votes
Blacktowergirl
in reference to Dave A review: Went there tonight after looking at the reviews on here and would not recommend My partner ordered the Wellington burger which looked great but they decided not to add the mushrooms, cremate the burger to the point where she couldn't cut through with a knife and the large battered onions rings were cold. As for my meal I ordered the chicken sizzler which I had seen on my entry into the pub but mine arrived with no sizzler and absolutely no flavour. The young staff there dealt with the situation well and refunds were provided, my partners meal was replaced with a pasta dish which she loved. On payment of the bill after reductions had been made there was an extra drink added? After explaining we did not have it it was removed from the bill. All in all a bad experience and we will not be going back. the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was sh@#e" i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Trip advisor has decided to be judge and jury! They have refused to leave my reply to this review on the system. Probably take this off....
0
Votes
Jackie B
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Hello and yes you can depending on size plus you can stay over at no charge if you tell us in advance Jan
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$27
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 714646
  • E-mail
Description
The Wellwood is reborn again! New owner really first class NEW MENU serving quality pub grub...Lots more to come. GREAT CARVERY and fabulous PUB GRUB( ok a little better than that!)MENU...All your favorite dishes in one restaurant. BOOK YOUR TABLE NOW
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;