We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wellwood

€€ - €€€, British,
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
+44 1665 714646
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great food, excellent quality and very friendly service. Cod, chips and mushy peas were delicious, steak pie very nice and children’s chicken nuggets went down a treat! 3 course meal for £9 was a bargain! Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Lisa H
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Lisa thanks so much for your great review we do do our best to please and it’s marvellous when it’s appreciated by our guests hope to see you again soon Kind regards Julian n Jan

Reviewed 3 days ago

This was the second visit we have made to this restaurant and it lived up to our expectations. A party of 7 friends met for lunch. In addition to the normal menu they have a special lunch menu offering one, two or three courses at...More

Thank harshman
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks a million for your return & great endorsement of our little Pub and restaurant we are very happy all of your lovely group enjoyed their lunch. We hope you will make it 3 😊! Kind regards Julian n Jan

Reviewed 6 days ago

Big tick for us was that The Wellwood is dog friendly. Next I was ready for a well cooked tasty dinner and this is exactly what I got. Herb crust salmon, hint of lime sauce served on creamy sweet potato mash with veg. Hubby had...More

Thank 25traceyt
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you ...you hit the nail on the head Good honest food... great! You also praise the staff.. thank you for that, there are horrible negatives re staff sometimes that are unjustified in this very hard to please job. Hope to see you again. Thanks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here again for two nights, fourth time we have stayed. Had a meal the first night, steak pie was excellent pastry delicious, grilled chicken in mushroom and bacon sauce succulent. Room 4 which we always manage to get, was as comfortable and roomy as...More

Thank Margaret T
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for your great review/ endorsement of our Pub and BnB always a pleasure to see you and your family. Looking forward to 2018 Kind regards Julian n Jan

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed here for 2 nights. Room was Ok. Clean and basic, what we were looking for. But please, we are grown ups, plastic cups instead of glasses? First night. I had the Steak and ale pie. Pastry was hard and in edible. Mashed potato...More

1  Thank fredfredson1962
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes the salmon dish is delicious isn’t it! Pleased you enjoyed it. Checked with the Chef .. he did have a dodgy leg that morning it was not possible to get another in to cover at short notice so he got in... 10/10 for him👍👍.a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely place to eat. Food freshly prepared. Huge portions and excellent value for money. Thoroughly enjoyed our food. Good choice for children but could have done with a smaller dish for a two year old and not so hot. Overall though very satisfied.

Thank karenhA8201AU
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Brilliant thank you very much for your great endorsement of our Pub and restaurant Very much hope to see you again Kind regards Julian n Jan

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a family of 3 on a Thursday evening. It was deserted even though it was 730 . The food was just okay we had mince and dumplings and a steak . Even though we were the only ones there service was poor...More

1  Thank Simon R
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Yes your right there is no excuse for poor service, it's obviously reflected on what you thought of our food, i.e. It was just ok... ! Thursday is the quietest day in amble ... everywhere.... we would benefit if we closed completely that day, we...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Sunday teatime, therefore limited menu but carvery was the most delicious Sunday dinner I've had in a while. Plentiful choices of meat and vast selection of well cooked vegetables. Staff very friendly but the surroundings,our party felt, let the ambience of the early evening down....More

Thank Nelvalamy
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for that great review appreciated by all... l will add, if you had arrived earlier we may not have been able to give you a table at all, we serve 300 plus lunches between 12 and 4/5 you definitely chose the...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

went here twice on holiday in amble, staff very friendly, service very good. Wednesday steak night so advise booking

Thank gardennan13
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for a great review... so good you ate there twice😊😊😋😋 Hope to see you back in amble soon Kind regards Jan

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Staying at The Wellwood whilst travelling north we had a family room overlooking the front of the building. The bed was large and comfortable with the usual tea, coffee etc available in the room. The fittings, especially the bathroom were all a bit tired and...More

Thank DerrickJS
Northumberland_Jules, Owner at The Wellwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for the review, the beds are comfy I have to agree we did use the best affordable! Regarding the decor, it's the end of a very busy season the rooms do need a brush up to get rid of the "suitcase" scuffs on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jaspers Bistro
260 reviews
.37 km away
Spurreli
627 reviews
.54 km away
Sea&Soil Amble
423 reviews
.43 km away
The Old Boat House
1,163 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northside Surf School
100 reviews
.84 km away
Pedal Power Cycling
82 reviews
.60 km away
Artique at The Marina
81 reviews
.15 km away
Puffin Cruises
88 reviews
.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Blacktowergirl
the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was s...." i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
This review should be removed unless Trip advisor publishes my first answer Or trip advisor should be closed down. There is nothing rude or discriminatory in my reply it is my opinion which the person writing the review has... More
0
Votes
Blacktowergirl
in reference to Dave A review: Went there tonight after looking at the reviews on here and would not recommend My partner ordered the Wellington burger which looked great but they decided not to add the mushrooms, cremate the burger to the point where she couldn't cut through with a knife and the large battered onions rings were cold. As for my meal I ordered the chicken sizzler which I had seen on my entry into the pub but mine arrived with no sizzler and absolutely no flavour. The young staff there dealt with the situation well and refunds were provided, my partners meal was replaced with a pasta dish which she loved. On payment of the bill after reductions had been made there was an extra drink added? After explaining we did not have it it was removed from the bill. All in all a bad experience and we will not be going back. the response of the management is disgusting, No it is not a suspicious review, he joined specifically to write that review as the food was so terrible. at no point did i state that the wine "Jack Rabbit was sh@#e" i just stated that i didn't like it and would need a minute to decide on another drink, pretty sure I'm entitled that that!!!! the burger was terrible - even the waitress before id finished complaining stated "is it burnt and raw on the inside" the chicken sizzler was a joke, even the table next to us joked about the lack of sizzle!!!! i did not get the pasta verdi free of charge at all i paid for it and was happy to do so, one of us eventually had a nice meal. Jean get real your pub is a total joke, we left disappointed, but as stated please with how your young staff handled the complaints, what the true review above did not require was a typically abusive response from some terrible management. to be honest i expected it as I've seen your shocking responses to other people. Yes trip adviser allows us to do this so that we can WARN other people about the evening.
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Trip advisor has decided to be judge and jury! They have refused to leave my reply to this review on the system. Probably take this off....
0
Votes
Jackie B
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Northumberland_Jules | Property representative |
Hello and yes you can depending on size plus you can stay over at no charge if you tell us in advance Jan
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$26
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Amble NE65 0LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Amble
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 714646
  • E-mail
Description
The Wellwood is reborn again! New owner really first class NEW MENU serving quality pub grub...Lots more to come. GREAT CARVERY and fabulous PUB GRUB( ok a little better than that!)MENU...All your favorite dishes in one restaurant. BOOK YOUR TABLE NOW
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing