We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butchers Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
+44 1285 762965
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (21 reviews)
“goujons” (4 reviews)
“cottage pie” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No I can't tell you about the sweets because we didn't try them, but we did have the most fantastic burger and chips (yes, you can have fries or chips despite the snide comments below!). And the great service contributed to make this a really...More

Thank cartyonline
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic food, great wine selection and good service. Will definitely be back soon with the rest of the family!

Thank socksandsandals1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice people and nice pub. However I had a terrible steak. I asked if the Rib Eye was in fact Rump because it was tuff and despite sending it back ( which spoilt a meal,out with my wife) they tried to charge me a reduced...More

2  Thank Paul F
PoppyHobbs, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paul F, Thank you for taking the time to write, I’m glad you enjoyed the pub and found our staff pleasant! I apologise that you didn’t enjoy your steak, unfortunately you didn’t mention to Corey and Roz last night that you felt it was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited last night, dinner for 4. Perfectly cooked rib-eye steaks with delicious selections of flavoured butters. A delightful pub, especially as it is under new ownership. Will definitely go again.More

1  Thank Boo_SP
PoppyHobbs, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Boo_SP Thanks for taking the time to write a review - I’m really please you enjoyed your steaks. We source meat through our own butchery business, The Four Seasons Meat Company, and are proud to say that we only serve the best of Cotswold...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting the area, recommended this pub as we where staying in the village. Very disappointing evening meal. Drinks order was wrong, received half rather than a pint, but was changed straight away, my tonic with the Gin , asked for slimline received normal. The ribeye...More

1  Thank Karen B
PoppyHobbs, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Karen ! Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I am disappointed to read that you weren’t happy with your meal. We have been in ownership of the pub for just a fortnight - less when you visited - and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

August 20th. The butcher's is on its 3rd management this year so previous reports are outdated. The new operators have been going for two weeks and judging by their second Sunday lunch are doing well. The web site has not yet been updated, the clue...More

2  Thank RSVGlos
PoppyHobbs, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi RSVGlos, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, please be assured there won’t be any more management changes for a long while! We are really enjoying the Butchers Arms, and I’m glad to hear that our customers are as well. We...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018

Visited for lunch with family from Oz. Welcoming staff,Great food, good beer. Small well thought out menu. Cooked to perfection. Would highly recommend. Certainly be back.More

Thank YoungAngelaC
PoppyHobbs, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi YoungAngelaC, Thanks for writing a review - we are really pleased you, and your family, enjoyed your visit! We run a smaller menu in both our pubs as this allows us to cook all our meals freshly to order and really shoawcase the produce...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

This was a fantastic find! We found it from recommendations on here and thought we would give it a try and we definitely weren’t disappointed! A good menu with good quality food and attentive staff. Nice relaxed pub with plenty of parking - definitely worth...More

Thank Jody30
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We saw the Butchers Arms recommended in the press, and decided to give it a try on a day out from the Nailsworth Valley: we were not disappointed with local beers, and excellent food from an extensive and varied menu. The burger and cheese and...More

2  Thank malcsaville
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

We’ve visited this pub twice in the past week and love it. Menu has something for everyone, prices are reasonable and the food is very good. I can fully recommend the risotto, garlic bread and shepherds pie. James loves his job and creates a friendly...More

Thank travelmarg
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Burleigh Court Hotel
281 reviews
5.24 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
917 reviews
6.31 km away
The Imperial Hotel
235 reviews
6.75 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
496 reviews
7.06 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Inn
177 reviews
1.24 km away
Lavender Bakehouse
381 reviews
2.34 km away
Lamb Inn
365 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Garden at Miserden
45 reviews
5.58 km away
Rodmarton Manor
69 reviews
6.36 km away
Stroud Subscription Rooms
33 reviews
6.63 km away
Shambles Market
12 reviews
6.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rex1terfer
30 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from PoppyHobbs | Property representative |
Hi Rex1terfer, Thanks for your question - I can assure everyone as the new landlady that the pub is not closed! We always have the option to make vegetarian options vegan - I would always recommend ringing ahead however... More
1
Vote
mrrix27
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from lorrainewaldron | Reviewed this property |
Yes dogs are welcome in the bar area. The pub will close Sunday, so go this weekend.
2
Votes
Jackie P
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from James J | Property representative |
Sorry for the late reply I did not expect an enquiry through TA you are the first I am aware of Sorry tomorrow being Mothers Day we are and have been fully booked for over two weeks Take care, enjoy your stay in the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stroud District  >  Stroud  >  Oakridge Lynch
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 762965
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing