We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape House Restaurant

€€ - €€€Seafood, , Fusion
650 Cape Enrage Rd, Waterside, New Brunswick E4H 4Z4, Canada
+1 506-887-2275
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lobster poutine” (16 reviews)
“fiddleheads” (10 reviews)
“scallops” (18 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 17:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Canadian, Fusion, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
650 Cape Enrage Rd, Waterside, New Brunswick E4H 4Z4, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Went here on a Saturday. Looks like they were short-staffed with one person in the kitchen and one server. Food took a little long but the Lobster Taco and the Lobster Poutine were excellent. Skip the Hummus. They also made it up by giving us...More

Thank A S
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cape House Restaurant! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your main courses, the beautiful views, and the service you received during your visit. We hope you visit us again some day!

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We paid 6 dollar entry fee into the park for a pretty view as most of the attractions were closed. So we decided to eat and appreciate the view awhile longer. When we walked into the restaurant we were greeted with a hello. My friend...More

Thank Z441VQnicolem
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

I am so sorry to read about your negative experience at our Cape House Restaurant. It definitely sounds like we missed the mark throughout your visit... Your suggestion for clearer signage will definitely be taken into consideration- we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced!

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

The view is lovely, the setting nice but it's over priced for what appears on the plate. The menu makes it sound nice but I basically got a grilled cheese sandwich that looked like something that would appear on a children's menu.

Thank Monica W
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cape House Restaurant - I am sincerely sorry that you were not more satisfied with your meal. I do hope that you give us a second chance some day in the future!

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Lunch yesterday with a good friend, I went for soup, he chowder. Both were good, the best part of the experience was the remarkable view back across the deck to the bay and Nova Scotia. Being Sept. 24 it was not busy despite the nice...More

Thank Seekerofadvice
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your meal as well as the wonderful view from the Cape House Restaurant. We do hope you visit us again someday!

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Paid 6 dollars for the entry fee to get into Cape Enrage, yet since it was really foggy that day, the activities were canceled. Not a lot of options for us to explore. Since we brought our dog with us, we had to stay outside...More

Thank Zhuo Z
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Cape House Restaurant! We hope that you and your family (dog included!) visit us again someday! Thank you for taking the time to review.

Reviewed 13 August 2017

So many better places. The overland scenery out to this place and back was the only thing that was worthwhile about this side trip. 1. $6 per person with a small discount for families just to get in to park. For what?? 2. The restaurant...More

Thank Ann M
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Ann, I am sorry to read about your unfortunate experience at our site. It sounds like you had a terrible time! We are a non-profit organization and the revenue generated from Gatehouse goes directly back into preserving the lighthouse and providing access to the...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Based on the Trip Advisory reviews, I expected a destination restaurant with memorable food. Perhaps the chef was out sick that night, for while the ingredients were fresh, the food was not delicious. Seemed to lack flavor and seasoning. Also, it surprised us that, on...More

Thank Fred A
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

I am disappointed to read that the food you had at our Cape House Restaurant was not more satisfying. Our team is committed to excellence and we are sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. If you are ever in the area again some...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Incredible view next to the lighthouse. Restaurant closes at 7 with last reservation at 630. If you arrive at the park after 5 and have a dinner reservation there is no parking fee. Even with reservation had to wait a bit to be seated -seemed...More

Thank dmmNh
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cape House Restaurant- I am so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere of our dining room. We hope you do end up returning for lunch someday!

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Based on a guidebook and online reviews, we made it a point to go for lunch. While the food is better than would be expected for a tourist destination, it was not the food we had read about. I'm not sure if the place changed...More

Thank Karen K
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cape House Restaurant. I am sorry to read that you were not more satisfied with your dining experience. I hope that if you are ever in this region again you might give us a second chance....More

Reviewed 21 July 2017

I have never had Lobster poutine before, the thought of lobster, fries and cheese mixed together? Wasn't sure but I love regular poutine and I love lobster, so why not! And it was a pleasant surprise! Thank you for the experience !

Thank Charlotte Q
Greta Lynn D, General Manager at Cape House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cape House restaurant! The lobster poutine is one of our favorite menu items. I am glad you enjoyed it!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tipsy Tails Restaurant
221 reviews
12.97 km away
Ranch Kitchen Restaurant
58 reviews
19.67 km away
Wild Caraway
414 reviews
29.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cape Enrage
355 reviews
.03 km away
Fundy National Park
760 reviews
14.30 km away
Mary's Point Bird Sanctuary/Shepody National Wildlife area
10 reviews
15.04 km away
NovaShores Adventures
249 reviews
22.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Universal P
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dmmNh | Reviewed this property |
I believe reservations are recommended. We had a 630 reservation - their last of the day - they close at 700. People were I. Shorts from the park but others were a little dressier. Depends on your preference. We were... More
0
Votes
Brenda D
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Universal P | Reviewed this property |
At the time of my visit the party I was with took care of everything for me. I recommend calling the establishment you're interested in an inquiring of the current policies. I can tell you it was a very exquisite dining... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$27
Cuisine
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Monday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 17:00
Thursday
12:00 - 17:00
Friday
12:00 - 17:00
Saturday
12:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 650 Cape Enrage Rd, Waterside, New Brunswick E4H 4Z4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  New Brunswick  >  Albert County  >  Waterside
  • Phone Number: +1 506-887-2275
  • E-mail
Description
Waterfront fine dining featuring local and gourmet menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing