We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Le Vieux Port

€€€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rue Margagnan | Face a la gare maritime, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
+590 590 88-4660
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

stopped by on achance Bernard the proprietor was most accomodating The food was good wine list satisfactory Menu was little high priced had a wonderful sea view

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
San Francisco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stumbled onto this place after site seeing all day. It was getting late and we saw they were open. You got to love it when you get lucky. Our greeting was very friendly, the service was excellent and the food was good. The waiter was very engaging, easy to talk with. His suggested aperitif was perfect. A Rum and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TiamoItalia
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016

Stumbled into Le Vieux Port at the end of a beautiful day on the beach. The owner, Odile, welcomed us in before the restaurant was even open. She's a lovely woman who was extremely patient with our lack of conversational French and took the time to help us through the ordering process. The food was beautifully presented, was incredibly fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhanson2016
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

Thank you very much,for the nice review,and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Guadeloupe ,and that you will like to comeback, see you again. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2016

We were five ladies and arrived quite late, pas de problem! A very warm atmosphere and the hosts quite hospitable. We ordered an assortment of starters but the fish boudin were to die over, we ordered more, we were on our 2nd petit maracuga punch! We had fresh grilled langouste cooked to perfection. The fricasse of lambis was one of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda2610
Boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2016

A small restaurant with a nice, 'romantic' atmosphere, located to the left as you enter the Saint Francois harbor area. Upon our arrival, our party of 6 was warmly welcomed. We were quickly accommodated even though we did not have reservations and the restaurant was busy. We were immediately informed that they were out of some menu items, but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank BostonChloe
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

Service: We arrived quite late (22:30) but the hosts had no problem seating us so we were relieved. We had a long day of travelling behind us and I think the waitress could tell we were tired and made us feel welcome on our first day on Guadeloupe. Food: Very good food, yes it may be a bit more expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nhem
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review,and we hope you keep good reminds from your stay in Guadeloupe,and see you again. More 

Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2015

Ok, this place as such looks very nice. Though we're not so fund of the Christmas decorations (at least that's where we use in the Netherlands the light-chains for), the overall atmosphere feels really good and also the waiter (maybe the owner?) made a very friendly and good impression in trying to explain his menu to us in the rather... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wim_Thea
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

Thank's for the review,we always answer,because it is important to us; Like we said before,all our prices are listed on our menus,and on the boards,and,everibody can see them; the entrecote we served was over 350gr,and the magret de canard the same...big! and we think they enjoyed it very much ,as the plates were wiped off! and when i asked ,they... More 

Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2015

Nice looking restaurant, water views, located right at the harbor: what a great place this could be! Only a few things would have to change: fire the waiter, who is completely incompetent, get rid off the chef, who serves the most disgusting food I had on the entire island and, oh, yes, go down with the prices at least 30... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank onthesandbar
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

So you are the same people,that were seated at the same table....from the rewiew above; Boy!! you don't like ma at all!! Don't kill the waiter and the coock!! It's like don't fire on the ambulance!!!! Well,i am not westing more time ,i have to go to work, just read what i have sent to your bodys on the rewiew... More 

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Don't judge a book by its cover goes for this restaurant! The cover is very inviting and beautiful - but décor and ambience is all that talks for this place. It is one of the most expensive places on Guadeloupe however it was the worst food we experienced during our two week stay! Stay away from this place at all... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Washashore12
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

Ok,then i can answer because the waiter speaks english and has translated all the menu in French!! not so bad the waiter!! You were aware of all prices before you started and when you finished ,all the plates were empty... and as i asked how it was you answered me very nice thank you! So! you are all together "with... More 

Versailles, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

It's been few years that I'm going to Guadeloupe and have tried many restaurants. This place is to avoid!!! Here is the list of "why": - waiter/owner pushing to take alcoholic drinks drinks even for my wife after I clearly said that she was pregnant - Then pushed for taking a specific starter which was already part of the main... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sdiesel
Odile M, Gérant at Le Vieux Port, responded to this review

here is the list of WHY, we want to answer to this unfair and dishonest customer: wife pregnant? we just learned that through the mail you sended to T A; first thing the woman asked when she walked into the restaurant, is a glass of white whine!then doing my job,i suggest here as she comes from canada to have a... More 

Travellers who viewed Le Vieux Port also viewed

Saint Francois, Grande-Terre Island
Saint Francois, Grande-Terre Island
 
Saint Francois, Grande-Terre Island
Saint Francois, Grande-Terre Island
 

Been to Le Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$56
Cuisine
Caribbean, French, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rue Margagnan | Face a la gare maritime, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Guadeloupe  >  Grande-Terre Island  >  Saint Francois
  • Phone Number: +590 590 88-4660
Description
in this creole style house by the sea, the chef Odile originaly from india(fourth generation) and from the village,prepares her own sauces and recipies with local spices; authantic is the restaurant and her coocking if you come arround, make sur to try her colombo of fish, chicken ,or the three lobsters, olso her famous spaguetis lobster;everything here is homemaid and local.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Vieux Port staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?