We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buccaneer Restaurant

Gasparito 11 C | Noord, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
+297 586 6172
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (54 reviews)
“plantains” (17 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Caribbean, International, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gasparito 11 C | Noord, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We went the last day of our trip. We had 10 people, 6 adults and 4 children. We couldn't have had a better experience. The atmosphere was nice with the big fish tank next to our table. The General Manager allowed the kids to go...More

Thank Jim L
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Jim for the 5 STAR review. At the Buccaneer, we will do anything for anybody as long as it does not hinder the service of another customer. We take pride in servicing large parties with children so everyone can enjoy the awesome experience...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

This restaurant is a little far to walk to (about 25 minutes from the Holiday Inn Resort) but totally worth it. When the 7 of us we got there at 5:10 pm we were informed that the place does not open until 5:30 pm, but...More

Thank Rich P
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Rich P for the perfect review!!! We love to make people happy and make their vacations dreams an AWESOME REALITY!! Thank you for the " FOOD WAS AWESOME" as we take pride in making everything perfect and making sure the service is outstanding...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had been to Aruba 2 or 3 other times and each trip included a dinner at The Buccaneer. We always enjoyed the food, especially the escargot, and the atmosphere was an experience in its own right. After 8 long years, we went back to...More

Thank SraBina
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Bina, It was my pleasure to make things RIGHT!! If any business does not meet or exceed someones expectations then it is only correct to make everything 100% perfect and people need to go above and beyond those expectations. I love what I do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told about this place by a local and knew we had to try it out because of the fish aquariums at each table. We were immediately seated and there weren't very many people eating here. To us, it was kind of in an...More

Thank mitsugirly
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Mitsugirly for your feedback. We use very large shrimp that when freshly cooked should have a little bit of a crunch to them. We don't serve mushy shrimp. We sell a lot of shrimp dishes ( 20 to 30 orders per night) and...More

A TripAdvisor Member
103
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here before. We return mainly for the experience of eating alongside the large aquariums. The children love watching the fish and the feeling of being in the ocean while you eat! This trip though was extra special. The manager invited us back...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ( Blank) I'm happy to hear that you thought the selections were better than last year. I would like to know what you had that you thought was "Average" so maybe we could improve on certain items or maybe it was just your palate....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are regular visitors to the Happy Island but our first visit to the Buccaneer. What took us so long!!! Unique and enjoyable ambiance was no match for the wonderful dishes that were prepared and enjoyed. Kudos to Chef James who made our family feel...More

Thank tjdowd16
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you tjdowd16 for the review and thank you for introducing me to your granddaughter Shannon... She was absolutely adorable and a very well behaved 4 year old. All of our customers should be treated like family because they are family. We go the extra...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would just like to say that the service that we received was completely unprecedented. Within minutes of seating, a waiter was over taking our drink order, then Chef James came over and was asking if the kids wanted to feed the pet fish. My...More

Thank Kevin W
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It was my pleasure Kevin, to serve you and your 2 precious daughters. I had a great time meeting the family and feeding the fish with the kids. I'm always happy to hear about great food, great service and long lasting vacation memories that will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The dinner here was one of the best on the island... Blackened Red Snapper was fantastic... comes with all the sides and is 23.00... it was fantastic.. Service was great, garlic bread was fantastic(comes out as you sit down) ..... There are large aquariums in...More

Thank paul30
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you paul30 for the fantastic review. I'm happy to hear that you loved the Blackened Snapper as we sell a lot of Snapper and Mahi Mahi. We bake fresh bread everyday and make fresh garlic butter for the homemade bread. All the kids love...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was great. We had a fresh maui maui dish with savory veggies on the side. The service was quick and there was no wait at front door. That's not even the best part, the aquariums make the whole experience. Especially if you have...More

Thank Megotron82
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Awesome Review Megotron 82!!!! I cut fresh Mahi Mahi everyday and we bring the Children in the back of the aquariums every night to feed the fish so on your next visit with the kids, please ask your server for Chef James and we can...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The aquariums were the highlight of the restaurant, food was okay as was the service. Restaurant very dark which I guess is due to the aquariums.More

Thank jeffs202
BuccaneerAruba, General Manager at Buccaneer Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments Jeffs 202. I would have liked to know what you eat so if there was an issue, we could correct this as we strive to make every meal perfect and make every visit a great lasting memory. I hope to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
2 Fools and a Bull
1,099 reviews
.44 km away
Wacky Wahoo's
1,997 reviews
.64 km away
Diana's Pancakes Place
655 reviews
.73 km away
Barney's
675 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Butterfly Farm
1,952 reviews
1.08 km away
St. Ann's Catholic Church
35 reviews
.93 km away
Glitz Casino
73 reviews
.40 km away
The Casino at Hilton Aruba
145 reviews
.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dbeyrodt
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Josef M | Property representative |
Thank you Dbeyrodt for your question. I wish we had Barracuda, So many guests are asking and with this storm coming in it is impossible with rough seas. I have asked several of our daily local fishermen in the past weeks... More
0
Votes
77cynthiag
25 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Josef M | Property representative |
Thank you 77cynthiag for your question. Our restaurant is not underwater,It is however themed around the 16th century, when the Caribbean was a nest of pirates. The Buccaneer as you park has a huge pirate ship atop. once you... More
0
Votes
rebeccaserra
I was just wondering why your post is so negative about this restaurant. I truly found the food to be delicious, reasonably priced and the service was great. I had the lobster bisque and I don't know where you got clumps of flour , its to bad your experience at this restaurant wasn't great. The reason I am questioning you is that we brought our family with kids and the waiters gave us a Children's menu and may I add it had lots of great items healthy and delicious. Your complaint about the aquarium was so untrue. My husband has fish tanks in our home and he even commented about the aquariums looking so crystal clear and the colorful variety of fish and coral was absolutely something to rave about. By the way the photo on the website was the Manilla Clams not the Mussels and we tried both and I have to say they were mouthwatering. We will return and have told others about our great experience.
7 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mary C | Reviewed this property |
Sometimes I guess it is the time of day and the staff that is working. We were with a group of 8 and as I said some of the food came cold and we were given the desserts at no charge to compensate so maybe it was just a one... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$35
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gasparito 11 C | Noord, Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba (Formerly Buccaneer)
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Aruba  >  Palm - Eagle Beach
  • Phone Number: +297 586 6172
  • E-mail
Description
Buccaneer Aruba, over 36-years of tradition, a landmark where the locals love to dine. Buccaneer Restaurant provides Seafood and International dishes The Buccaneer has an undeniable ship-like nautical feel with a menu to match. The 36-year swashbuckling establishment is known for its entrees and reasonable prices as well as specializing in fresh-caught fish and seafood,USDA prime steaks,lamb,duck,pasta's,poultry,vegetarian and gluten & dairy-free upon request,with also a kids menu. The dining area is an underwater cavern man-made restaurant by late father and son (owner) with their version of under the sea pirate style with 18,000-gallon wall aquariums with also a cozy booth section with individual aquariums. Buccaneer's commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that everything is 100% fresh. All of the above combined with a warm welcome & great service. Ask for Chef James,for any dish you desire.Buccaneer makes your dining experience memorable.ONLY 5 MINUTES AWAY FROM THE HIGH RISE AREA
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing