We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bridgend brynmawr

€€ - €€€, British,
8 King Street, Brynmawr NP23 4RE, Wales
+44 1495 312931
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
“ice cream” (5 reviews)
“steak” (8 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 00:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 King Street, Brynmawr NP23 4RE, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited this Inn for my granddaughters birthday evening meal. Everyone enjoyed their meals without exception. The Hunters Chicken was exceptionally good.The portions were large and tasted great, along with the salad and chips. We were so impressed we went on another occasion and I had...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DAVID S
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

David Evans the owner of this pub/restaurant & his staff couldn’t do enough for us during our celebration night and the run up to it. Best place to eat for miles around, warm & friendly atmosphere, highly recommend this lovely place, food is outstanding and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Meljb69
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was nice, but awful service. Went here for my daughter's 16th birthday and they forgot to cook her meal. So she had to sit and watch 15 family and friends eat their food while she waited for her's. By the time her meal arrived...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank BleanauGwent
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm really sorry you felt the need to leave such a bad review based on a genuine mistake. Ultimately I'm genuinely sorry for the meal being missed off the order however there are mitigating circumstances, originally the table was booked for 17 people and when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place has got to be one of my favourite places to eat. since a few weeks before Christmas I have tried to book a table there and I've always been told that "we are full sorry". Today we tried nice nearly while the baby...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank W7367HGbenb
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Went to the Bridgend on the 30th November for a family meal celebrating an anniversary. As always everything was spot on, great meals and a good selection of drinks at the bar! Will be back again 5*

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank callumw5570
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you great review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

Booked in for a birthday meal there was around 20 of us. The service was ok - a few of the meals were wrong but these we quickly rectified. For example cheesy garlic bread ordered but plain garlic bread came out. As it was a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank KatieLouiseMorgan
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm really sorry that your visit was let down by a few small mistakes and with regards to the Ice cream we were exceptionally busy on that sunday afternoon and did run out of Ice cream we did try to get some locally but were...More

Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Just had a tbone off the specials board. For £17. And 16oz. It was absolutely marvellous. Service, quality of food. The welcome were all first class. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Dai_marvellous
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you great review

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Local to Brynmawr town.Clean friendly atmosphere. Had family meals+works do's meals. Good food.reasonable prices. Good menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sharon d
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

While down visiting my daughter she took me out for a meal and spoke highly of this pub. Well everything she said was true the meals we had brilliant the service and all staff excellent and prices were good. To me Brynmawr’s little gem for...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank mothersole6150
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review

Reviewed 29 October 2018

Haven't been here for such a long time but booked by our friends who we were meeting there. Very busy, good service, friendly atmosphere. Sadly the steaks were not good, very disappointed and would not order these again.The rest of the food was decent pub...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Kevin R
Leighpage1, Owner at The Bridgend brynmawr, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry your steaks were not what you expected, all the meat we use is top quality but there can be the odd steak that can be fatty or tough whilst we try our best to ensure that no customer has these you cant always...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
518 reviews
5.22 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
532 reviews
6.01 km away
The Manor Hotel
760 reviews
7.51 km away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
586 reviews
8.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hobby Horse
75 reviews
.45 km away
Willow Tree Brynmawr
257 reviews
1.06 km away
The Lounge
15 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blaina Heritage Centre
9 reviews
4.14 km away
Festival Park Owl Sanctuary
177 reviews
4.80 km away
Castle Narrowboats
6 reviews
5.03 km away
Big Pit National Coal Museum
2,330 reviews
5.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MalS110
25 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Leighpage1 |
no sorry its normally quite busy for food sorry again
0
Votes
CJones1971
16 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sue M | Reviewed this property |
This person must have been eating in a different place!! visited today, place was packed, food again was excellent. People were being turned away as there was no room. My Mum and I were at near the bar today and the phone... More
3
Votes
lor1785
11 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Yvonne P | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, my review is not about the place you are asking about
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 King Street, Brynmawr NP23 4RE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Blaenau Gwent  >  Brynmawr
  • Phone Number: +44 1495 312931
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing