We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant

€€ - €€€, Seafood,
Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
+682 20 501
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood platter” (96 reviews)
“mash potatoes” (4 reviews)
“lion fish” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very unhappy...we had visited this place twice before and it's no longer any good door up to the standards that it once was...Very rude service and Batman we wil never done there againMore

Thank Sinsemillia Nga... R
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Kia Orana Meitaki for your review.. Your reviews are always very helpful. We apologies for that you are not happy about... We mostly have a happy and friendly Astmosphere/staff and Bateman do have good sense of humor, probably did it to the wrong person. Meitaki...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great meal Friendly staff and so much memorabilia on the walls and ceiling. I would deffinately recommend this as a place to try

Thank hibbs36
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia orana and thank you so much for a great review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed the service and the ambience and eclectiveness of our Tumunu. Kia manuia from the Team at Tumunu Garden Restaurant

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate out at Tumunu on our last night and were so pleased we did. Walking distance from Edgewater Resort, interesting and engaging atmosphere and the night we were there there wasn't too many people and I was so pleased.More

Thank hunted2017
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Thank you for such an enthusiastic review. It really makes our staff feel good to read reviews like this. Good, bad or otherwise it is always good to learn from a review. Hope you come visit us again when you are next in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here specifically for the seafood platter and must admit was a bit disappointed. The selection was ok but not great and felt it was overpriced. The atmosphere is quite quirky so something different.More

Thank Jo P
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Sorry that the platter was not up to your expectation. It is our most popular dish and most photographed as well. Not sure what you were disappointed with in particular, but given the chance on the night I am sure my lovely and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tumunu is one out of the box - there is so much memorabilia on the walls and ceiling that you get lost in time looking at it. You can't get lost looking for this place either as it is very brightly lit up. Service was...More

Thank fwharry
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Normally it would be our lovely Cook Island Manager that would respond but she is on a well deserved holiday. Thank you for your review on behalf of all of our staff and myself. Kia manuia Best wishes The Team at Tumunu Garden...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly staff but meal was only average. We had the platter which had a variety of mediocre seafood.

Thank letsgo76
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Not sure by what you mean by "mediocre". The platter has a variety of both hot and cold dishes on it. Still we do appreciate your review and will take it under consideration. Kia manuia Best wishes The Team at Tumunu Garden Restaurant

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As close to resort decided to try and we weren't disappointed. We had the fish platter for two and wow plenty on it. Not all deep fried which was great and you got to taste the fish. My husband had steak and said it was...More

Thank Heather T
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Thank you for such a lovely review. My staff are always look forward to the reviews and good or not so good - they are a learning experience. We hope to see you back again in our lovely island and certainly back in...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Friendly staff. pleasant surrounds nice meal had for the four of us dinning on our first night arriving in rarotonga.More

Thank Bevan D
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Thanks so much for making us your first stop for a meal in Rarotonga. Good, bad or otherwise it is always good to receive a review. We learn from them. Hope you enjoyed the restof your stay. Kia manuia Best wishes The Team...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Dined tonight. Menu is quite boring. Food presentation is uninspired. Food is overpriced. Meals come at different times. Don't expect to eat at the same time as your friends. Wine selection very limited. There are far far better places to eat than this. If you...More

Thank Rex D
TAMBA1954, Owner at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Too bad you didn't enjoy our Tumunu. We are a very casual restaurant and as such do not offer a huge wine list. We always learn from our reviews as the staff always read them. Kia manuia Best wishes The Team at Tumunu...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Great meals, great atmosphere. We all had steaks for dinner which were cooked perfectly. Will be back next time we visit Raro

Thank Helen0404
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia orana Many thanks for your great review. Will definitely look forward to your returning and making yourselves known to us when you do. Kia manuia Best wishes The Team at Tumunu Garden Restaurant

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Waterline
827 reviews
.99 km away
Kikau Hut Restaurant
965 reviews
.83 km away
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
298 reviews
.76 km away
Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe
340 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
146 reviews
.18 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
260 reviews
1.41 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
133 reviews
1.60 km away
Dive Rarotonga
284 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cestrian2004
2 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TAMBA1954 | Property representative |
Monday - Sunday - open from 6.00pm Sunday 10pm close
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$35
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 20 501
  • E-mail
Description
A great quirky casual dining experience. Opened since 1979 it still has the same owners and the same name. It is a mix of eclectic and local island decor. The walls feature an array of photos of events, people and things. The ceilings are a collage of various types of posters etc. The Tumunu Garden Restaurant also features the "largest little notebook" on the island. Come visit us! A fun place for children too with a garden and "dancing laser fire flys"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing