We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dabbling Duck

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Great Massingham €€ - €€€ , British,
11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
+44 1485 520827
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (30 reviews)
“soda bread” (10 reviews)
“burger” (47 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 384 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After being recommended to come here, we booked for a celebratory meal this evening. Can't explain how disappointing the meal we have had, we sat down in a loud room to wait an hour for our mains, my fish was over powered by a spicy...More

Thank Kelly C
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is a great pub and a wonderful restaurant. The Dabbling Duck simply oozes character and charm. The kind of place that makes you feel comfortable immediately you open the door. A top team running the place. Friendly and engaging and always ready with advice....More

Thank DennisClar
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a fantastic Sunday lunch, great choice of menu and was hard to choose what to have. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and nothing is ever too much trouble.Never disappointed with eating here. What else can I say, can't wait to go again!!

Thank Stuart J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's very frustrating when a restaurant lacks any consistency. 6 weeks ago we had a fabulous meal with great service-today sadly we did not- it became apparent early into our visit that all was not well Just 1 pleasant but overwhelmed waiter looking after the...More

Thank DerehamTraveller
Mark D, Manager at Dabbling Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Dabbling Duck. I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us on this occasion. The staff work very hard to make it an enjoyable and sometimes we do have very busy...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at the Inn around 3pm and from that point until we left late the next morning, we could not fault a thing. We had a lovely greeting by the manager who helped us with our bags to our room. The room was quaint and...More

Thank tania207
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some great reviews on TA we chose to book here for our daughter's birthday dinner. We were warmly greeted and shown to our table and our drinks order was taken very promptly however this is where the good review stops. We were quite...More

Thank PlummyJ
Mark D, Owner at Dabbling Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon I am sorry you felt the food may not have been up to our usual standards, and that you felt you weren't looked after properly. Perhaps we should of taken the complaint about your rump steak a little more seriously, but as we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in King's Lynn for the nigh and had booked the Dabbling Duck as it had good reviews. The interiors is very nice and it has a nice garden. Unfortunately, the food was not to the same standards, especially for the price required....More

1  Thank graziapaulotto
Mark D, Owner at Dabbling Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon We are sorry that you felt your experience with us wasn’t up to our normal standards. It’s disappointing that you felt the children didn’t like the burger buns, but we did offer you fresh buns or an alternative normal farmhouse soft white bun...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely old homely pub set in a pretty location. The lunch menu wasn't huge but the food was gorgeous. Served by friendly and helpful staff. The tartar sauce was homemade and was delicious! Will definitely return.

Thank JannyBrads
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked an evening meal for 4 on a Sat evening. it was over an hour before we were served our starters from the original time we booked and the place wasn't full. The food was very average with one of our starters burnt. it should...More

1  Thank 453goodfood
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we were staying here, we also had dinner and we certainly weren't disappointed. A great menu choice although I was tempted by (and ordered) the fried pigeon that was on the specials board. Followed that by stonebass (which I'd never tasted before) and it...More

Thank Mike H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Stag
46 reviews
7.62 km away
Barnfields Cafe
106 reviews
8.00 km away
The Ostrich
222 reviews
7.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Houghton Hall
266 reviews
5.86 km away
Castle Acre Castle
99 reviews
8.01 km away
Roydon Common
27 reviews
7.58 km away
ExTREEme Adventure
54 reviews
5.61 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ann C
are they open at lunch time on a Wednesday and is there fish on the menu?
7 February 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from KevinL-Kna | Reviewed this property |
Ping them an email, I got a quick response to my questions
0
Votes
petraea
How late can we sign in for dinner? How far is it from Houghton Hall? Thanks
23 June 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from kvh315 | Reviewed this property |
I do not know when their last orders in the bar/restaurant but generally it is 21.00hrs, call the Dabbling Duck they can advise. Houghton Hall is about 10/15 mins away by car.
0
Votes
petraea
We are going to Houghton hall for the Turrell exhibition on 25th July. It ends at sundown. Will we be able to book dinner and bed after that? How far from Houghton please? Answer from Dabbling staff I suppose. Thanks Petraea
23 June 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Felicity U | Reviewed this property |
Definitely book in advance and do not leave it to chance to be able to stay or have dinner without doing so. When eating, avoid the Cromer Crab and Rigatoni!!! Dreadful!!!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Abbey Road, Great Massingham PE32 2HN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Great Massingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1485 520827
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing