We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bishops

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
+44 1929 400552
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

was nice to sit by window eating mussels then my game pie the wife had the fish stew she said it could do with bread but it was nice I would eat there again every thing was from local farms etc I like that

Helpful?
Thank fozuk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in attic room 1 which is advertised as budget and the room matched that description. I would however say that £80 is overpriced for this standard of room. The room is certainly tired and is in need of some decoration. The shower is showing signs of wear and again needs some attention. The host was welcoming and attentive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachie1606
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having seen previous trip advisor reviews were very sceptical about the visit. The room was gorgeous with a slight issue of wood louse infestation in the bathroom. The staff were wikid with the right intentions just in need of a little training. They went out of their way to make our stay fab (irons unavailable) ironed a shirt and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hales300
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really poor customer service. This place is getting the food right, but seem to have missed the memo on making customers feel special when they are going out for a posh meal. The young staff are much better, weirdly its the management that are letting the side down.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Mussels starter and lobster main - divine !!! Great atmosphere and great food We dined on a sunday night so it was quiet but great service, french music playing softly in the background - definately worth a visit - i asked for extra garlic with my mussels - served with the most divine home made bread i have ever tasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raddy1971
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed dining at Bishops. And thank you for commending the service. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Reserved a table for myself and my boyfriend for a romantic evening meal as we were told the food was very good. Our table was booked for 8.15 on arrival we were told we would have to wait around 15 mins for the table so we had a drink at the bar, the man running the establishment was very unwelcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millie O
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

So sorry you were disappointed. I can only think it was a very busy evening but that is no excuse. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

This establishment is small and relies on tourists. In a beautiful location where evening eateries are few, it unluckily for us doesn't fail to fill it's tables each evening. We went specifically for the lobster, an excellent excuse for a holidays treat, however we're told there was none. So we settled instead for fish and chips. Our fish & chips... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy C
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Many apologies that you were disappointed. I don't think you were charged £27.50 each for fish and chips. The menu has a price of £27.50 for a min course and starter which is what I have to assume you had. For the record the cod is fresh from the local fish monger. Your other comments seem to relate to personalities... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was extremely good. Without a doubt one of the best meals we have ever had. We had starter (scallops) and main (lobster) for around 27 pounds each. It was exquisite. Totally worth it. Very nice environment and service.

Helpful?
Thank Francisco V
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. These are probably our 2 signature dishes and always very popular. More 

Orsett
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stopped by this venue quite by accident, but i have to say the food was quite special. We had nice weather and sat on the very large terrace, some of which was none smoking which was fantastic ;-) There was a big range of food with different menus (from sandwiches and snacks / main meals). Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Great. That is how it should be. Thank you for your review. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

We walked past and looked at the menu outside commenting that it looked good it was early. We went for a walked deciding we would go back and see if there was space for a early evening meal. I went in and asked a gentleman if he had a space for two. He response was it was not open. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobwhitmore
Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

The lobster is from the waters off Lulworth Cove and cannot always be available due to weather conditions and other natural vagaries. One would have thought that customers would appreciate the fact that they are same day fresh and accept it if there are none. I am sorry you were kept waiting and not recalling the incident cannot comment further... More 

Travellers who viewed Bishops also viewed

 
West Lulworth, Dorset
 
West Lulworth, Dorset
West Lulworth, Dorset
 

Been to Bishops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$24 - US$40
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  West Lulworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 400552
Description
Bishops is a large detached building on the beach at Lulworth cove. It has a large garden and swimming pool overlooking the Cove. It has three suites, a bar and a 30 seater dining room.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bishops and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bishops staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?