We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Goshawk

€€ - €€€, British,
The Goshawk Station Road, Mouldsworth CH3 8AJ, England
+44 1928 740900
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good24%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (16 reviews)
“fish pie” (14 reviews)
“prawns” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Goshawk Station Road, Mouldsworth CH3 8AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 635 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Having recently bathed in the splender of the English summer, I was left feeling elated after my trip to the Goshawk. The cheese and onion pie was scrummy, and sitting on the decking provided the perfect backdrop for such a meal. The cool drinks left...More

Thank Reuben L
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went for cheese and onion pie, I would say this was an award winning pie. The chips were lovely and fresh. My waitress, Amie, was kind, attentive and welcoming. She could not do enough to help us. I would definitely visit the pub again. Kind...More

Thank ChelsieWinsor
Reviewed 3 days ago

Very disappointing Fathers Day meal. Starters were poor. Main courses were not worth their price tag

1  Thank Sarah P
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very nice place, lovely atmosphere. Amazing view. Indoor and outdoor. Good food and tasty. I would definetly recommended.

Thank ifkesap
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Poor menu and poor food special occasion spoilt roast was dry veg frozen . Starters not good soup tasteless and prawn cocktail ok till the end very mushy . Staff have changed as have decoration and not for the better .

2  Thank les6203
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Lovely family pub in the middle of nowhere that I am amazed we have never visited before. It’s a great place to start and/or end a walk around Delamere forest and they have a leaflet with walks of various lengths that do just that. It’s...More

Thank neddyb1
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Neddy Thank you for a lovely review. We're really glad you finally found us and even happier that you enjoyed your visit! We've taken your feedback on board regarding the benches by the play area and have moved a couple more up there this...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Very pleasant service from front of the house. Food was well cooked and presented - but not outstanding. Pretty basic menu though. BUT strewth a 45-minute wait for food to arrive is NOT acceptable, particularly when the venue was only half full - maybe a...More

2  Thank TraceyandAdrian
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Tracey & Adrian I'm really disappointed to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I respect your opinion, and would appreciate if you too would be respectful in your comments. With it being Father’s Day this weekend we were actually fully...More

A TripAdvisor Member
25
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

9 of came for lunch for early Father’s Day and after the revamp! First impressions are you have ruined this place!!! The menu before was tasty but also a good selection now is a different story! Over complex dishes that don’t include chips or veg...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello I'm really disappointed to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. We did discuss your concerns regarding the chicken supreme and an alternative was offered. I was not made aware of any other issues. If you would like to discuss this...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Food is always great. Staff friendly. Nice atmosphere. Children’s play area good. Makes for a very relaxing afternoon.

Thank cwalking
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Cwalking! Thank you for a lovely review. We're really glad we were able to contribute to a relaxing day and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends & I had lunch at the Goshawk after completing one of the circular walks starting/finishing at the pub. All of us were disappointed with our food. I had a chicken & bacon roll. The roll was the 'no-frills' type of white bread roll...More

1  Thank Michelle G
The_Goshawk, General Manager at The Goshawk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Michelle I'm really disappointed to hear that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I can assure you that we use the best quality ingredients, bread from Thatchers and fresh chicken breast. I'd like to look into this further and find out what...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Mouldsworth Hotels
The Royal Oak Hotel
447 reviews
2.80 km away
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
80 reviews
4.25 km away
Heathercliffe Country House Hotel
37 reviews
4.40 km away
Willington Hall Hotel
383 reviews
5.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Royal Oak Restaurant
390 reviews
2.80 km away
The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
436 reviews
4.01 km away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
155 reviews
4.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
J F Polo Academy
91 reviews
2.64 km away
Tarvin Sands
51 reviews
3.74 km away
Go Ape Delamere
254 reviews
3.75 km away
Beeston Castle
426 reviews
4.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Goshawk staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Goshawk Station Road, Mouldsworth CH3 8AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Mouldsworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1928 740900
  • E-mail
Description
A little gem in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, we offer a wide selection of freshly made traditional pub dishes with a modern twist. Exciting specials are available all day as well as an excellent range of choice for vegetarian, vegan and gluten free diets. All of our meals are complemented by a great choice of beers and real ales, an extensive wine & spirits menu and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;