We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

€€ - €€€, British,
1 Grove Road, Bladon, Woodstock OX20 1RQ, England
+44 1993 811582
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“roast spuds” (3 reviews)
“pie” (10 reviews)
“pizza” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Grove Road, Bladon, Woodstock OX20 1RQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For us, our first visit, but with friends who had eaten previously in the summer. Initially my heart sank - we entered the bar, to witness chaos on the tables. We were not eating that late, but they had obviously been busy, and most tables...More

1  Thank michael o
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi I am sorry you didnt have a great time with us but why didnt you ask us to move you if the children were annoying you? Being in a village with a primary school and being next door to blenheim on the school holidays...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother eating here. Waste of time. Poor quality and quantity. Upon leaving, I didn't get a 'thank you for visiting' or 'goodbye'. Zilch. Really??? Where has customer service gone?More

1  Thank ShannHaydon
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ok so having looked at your reviews i can only think you hate woodstock/oxfordshire , as you have slammed another pub. had my food been that bad why didnt you complain?, ask for your money back? just a thought, bring it to our attention. did...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

I pop here from time to time and think that the pizza is amazing! Better than Naples I say!! I'm salivating just thinking about them!! Yum Yum!! The staff are really friendly and give great service also. Well worth a visit especially if you are...More

Thank lana_holman
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for review and you did tell me my pizza is better than naples so put a smile on my face for sure. thanks again and we hope to see you again also

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Went for a few drinks with my partner, ended up a bit hungry and ordered a pizza. Great ingredients and properly cooked... Ordered a Margherita for 10 pounds... A bit overpriced.

Thank Andrea R
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

thank you, glad you liked our pizza, great ingredients arent cheap hence the price but its the standard price for a pizza our size, thanks again

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Starter was poor and way overpriced very few in and cancelled mains after over half an hour. Heard chef shouting and banging at poor guy who cancelled our order felt really sorry for him.More

1  Thank margaret J
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi You came in just before 6pm you ordered a bread platter priced at £4.50 very reasonable for olives, homemade bread, homemade basil pesto olive oil dressing and butter. A childrens veg dippers priced at £1 i would say my prices were very good. All...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We popped in for a drink to ask where the church was for winston churchill's grave and the young man behind the bar was very friendly and pointed us in the right direction, he also told us a few facts, the decor inside the pub...More

Thank Abs724
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Myself and my wife called in just for a drink on a Saturday after visiting the grave of Winston Churchill. We had already decided we would be having fish and chips for dinner from the van visiting our caravan site that evening so decided we...More

2  Thank BillyBlueboy
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

hello, I remembered you from coming into the pub, We had closed the kitchen earlier than normal as the heat in the kitchen during the UK wide heatwave was effecting the kitchen staff. As the health and safety of my staff is paramount as i...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

We love this pub, today had the most amazing fish and chips followed by lemon posset which was to die for. Lovely warm welcome, and delicious proper home cooked food, can't wait to go back

Thank griffiths654
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much, and we are really happy you enjoyed your time here we hope to see you again

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

In the village of Bladon, adjacent to Blenheim Palace, the White House is a pleasant quite pub, with good food and great service, the staff were most attentative and helpful.

Thank Michael M
Kevin M, Owner at The White House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

hi thank you for your comments we are always really pleased when our customers like our pub

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Up to date pub/restaurant with good, home made food and extensive menu. Decor lovely and staff very friendly. Spotlessly clean

Thank 246richard
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Star Inn
479 reviews
1.83 km away
The Orangery
201 reviews
1.36 km away
Woodstock Arms
473 reviews
1.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Martin's Church
134 reviews
.17 km away
Blenheim Palace
5,287 reviews
1.33 km away
Combe Mill
8 reviews
3.10 km away
Thrupp Canoe and Kayak Hire
23 reviews
3.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Grove Road, Bladon, Woodstock OX20 1RQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Woodstock  >  Bladon
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 811582
  • E-mail
Description
Our pub is a friendly community pub that serves great home made burgers and magnificent waffles. come in and enjoy a pint or watch some sport and enjoy our food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing