We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chime Hartford

279 Chester Road, Hartford, Northwich CW8 1QL, England
+44 1606 872158
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (45 reviews)
“fajitas” (7 reviews)
“noodles” (7 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
279 Chester Road, Hartford, Northwich CW8 1QL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We made our first visit to the Chime yesterday for Sunday Lunch. On arrival the restaurant was very busy and there was a very good atmosphere. We were taken to the upstairs dining room. We had quite a long wait for drinks and an even...More

Thank J925UYmargarets
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thankyou for your feedback. We apologise that you had a long wait and your food was cold. We would like to investigate this a bit further. Please could you email scott@chimehartford.co.uk with details of where you were sat upstairs and approximately what time you dined...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sausages were nice. - not a usual thing these days at breakfast. All fresh. tasted nice. will be back.

Thank Davidoke65
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for leaving this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you again in Chime very soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Expensive for what you get £15 each and you have to have 2 people to share the Afternoon Tea for that you get 8 finger sandwichs and approx 8 cakes for 2 people so £30 for it. Presentation was good. Order was incorrect, however the...More

Thank 401alisonp
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

After investigating your review there seems to have been a misunderstanding at pre-order between the two types of afternoon tea that we offer in Chime and what you wanted to order. We feel that the price of the afternoon teas that we offer are in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got the order wrong. Attitude of the manager absolutely shocking. Place has gone downhill. Will not be returningMore

Thank Sharon J
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Having investigated further into your review there seems to have been a misunderstanding at point of pre-order between 'The Traditional' and 'Chimes Own' afternoon teas. Just to clarify 'The Traditional' is our selection of sandwiches and cakes e.t.c. and 'Chimes Own' is a selection of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I frequent Chime on a regular basis and have always had top class food, drink and service! There is always a great atmosphere in Chime and I particularly enjoy a Friday night here as they have a DJ who plays some great tunes and creates...More

Thank ArnoldCenarth
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are so pleased you had a fabulous afternoon in Chime. Our cocktails are very popular and DJ Josh on a Friday night is proving a big hit with all our customers! We look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a well regarded and well supported village wine bar / restaurant. We’ve been a few times leaving a good time in between visits in the hope that the niggles would have been ironed out but sadly not. Arrived mid week early evening, fancied...More

Thank lovetravel899
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed the food you were served in Chime. In regards to the drinks, we don't sell Gordon's Original only Gordon's Pink. We apologise we ran out of Bombay Sapphire and Gavi as it had been...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't beat a great Sunday roast . Attentive staff, lovely atmosphere , great wine. What's not too like !!

Thank sha472017
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday roast and we hope to see you again soon in Chime!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner have been here lots of times as we live nearby and had great meals. It’s often short staffed so the service is usually slow .we had a table booked at 7.00pm and arrived 10 minutes early and were told our table...More

Thank davidlangston1
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Apologies that you had such a disappointing experience at Chime on Saturday evening. Due to unforseen circumstances we had members of staff ring in sick at short notice which on our busiest night of the week was very unfortunate. This has never happened before and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We'd had friends come round to help us rearrange the house, so as a thankyou decided to take them to chime for a Sunday dinner We all ordered different starters, and we all really enjoyed them. The best bit was the Sunday roast, 5 had...More

Thank trusse03
Hannah J, Manager at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for taking the time to write this lovely review! We will relay all your feedback to the chefs and servers...….. We are so pleased you all had such an enjoyable experience and hope to see you again in Chime very soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Won’t be bothering to go here again. Staff are rude. Pizza was too greasy. No atmosphere. Dirty toilets.

3  Thank Funandmagicmaker
Hannah J, Owner at Chime Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Fun and magic maker, Clearly Chime is not making your life fun anymore so we suggest you go and make magic somewhere else!! Kind regards, The Owners.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Hartford Hall Hotel
393 reviews
.77 km away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
404 reviews
2.27 km away
Oaklands Hotel
64 reviews
2.78 km away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
353 reviews
3.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hartford Hall Northwich
58 reviews
.75 km away
Relish Cafe Bar
192 reviews
.19 km away
The Coachman Pub
85 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hartford Golf Club
13 reviews
1.07 km away
Willowgreen Home & Gifts
7 reviews
2.52 km away
Cheshire Segway
112 reviews
4.34 km away
Nantwich Lake
63 reviews
3.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Angela O
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Hannah J | Property representative |
Hi Angela, apologies I have just noticed this question. Unfortunately we do not have any outside space, I wish we did. Chime is only a small restaurant and very food led and that is why we cannot allow dogs other than guide... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$27
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 279 Chester Road, Hartford, Northwich CW8 1QL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Northwich  >  Hartford
  • Phone Number: +44 1606 872158
  • E-mail
Description
I suppose we should let you into the secret behind the etymology of Chime. Our brother-in-law would like you to believe it was a "never to be repeated feat of intellectual marketing genius"; we however need a bit more convincing! The name derives from the fact the building houses a Victorian fire bell which would have 'chimed' in days gone by - although we are hoping our chime portents a more positive future than that of the past. Our neighbour, the Red Lion Free House, housed Hartford's horse-drawn fire engine and the associated fire bell was positioned on our building - you'll notice that the bell has been restored to its former glory thanks to the Hartford Civic Society. Therefore here we are; via a combination of apparent 'genius' and a link to Hartford's civic history, the wine bar was christened 'Chime'.Topheader Rolling back history to October 2013 to that fear inducing day at the auction, the gavel fell and we were the proud owners of a building with an interesting history, superb potential, but that needed a lot of tender loving care. Having taken a deep gulp of wine - well we needed all the training we could get to call ourselves sommeliers - we set about bringing our dream into existence, engaging excellent tradesmen and with a huge amount of support and encouragement from the Hartford community the building you see was quickly created. A building that we hope reflects our vision of warmth and conviviality, and one that provides an environment in which you can create memories that you, your friends and family can recount in days to come.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing