We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
100/48 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Name/address in local language
+66 86 120 4513
12:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Mon - Sat 12:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Went here with friends it was my first time and it was good I can be a little hard on Japanese restaurants as I have lived in Japan but totally execrable saki ok not much of a range seafood BBQ nice tempura prawns crisp and hot Shishi fresh tuna good quality all in all good value for money and good... More 

Thank DarrenAndrew
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

During my stay at Kata Beach, my girlfriend and I thought to give this restaurant a try. We ordered the Spaghetti Carbonara and the Lasagne. Both dishes did not taste good, the sauce was awful and the portion size was small. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Thank Jakob S
takakatabeach, オーナー at Red Snapper, responded to this review

Just confused about your review. You didn't like food but you wanted it more big portion ??? You are Funny .((´∀`)) More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Service was fast and kindness. sushi was average,even in temple market sushi for 50 bth was much better! Spicy roll with tuna was also not good because it wasnt fresh but from the can. spring roll with crab had no crab!!! Only seafood mixed grill was ok,but still...not good enough! dissapointed

Thank Buhgyman
takakatabeach, オーナー at Red Snapper, responded to this review

Thank you for had dinner at our restaurant. Unfortunally You hadn't good experience with our food. As you told We've served Crab spring roll before. But not for now.Our staff serve former menu to you, off corse you had complicated. We apologize for that. Our Spicy Tuna use cooked tuna in oil in it. That we must have it for... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

No seperate bill. 3% credit card charge. Difficult to understand order. Sushi is okay. Pasta al dente and good taste.

Thank wvp2000
takakatabeach, オーナー at Red Snapper, responded to this review

We are sorry for inconvenience our new staff didn't understand well about our menu and couldn't make your bill separately, we usually do that. pay with Credit card 3% is not our charged .That's Thai bank charge for interest. We hope to looking forward to see you again. Takashi More 

Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

Kind of strange they specialize in Sushi and Pasta. I had both and they were very good. A good fast place to eat.Do take credit cards.

Thank Capt_Kulisek
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Had salmon cream cheese rolls and cold soba - the rolls were delicious and the salmon was fresh, good for its price and probably the best you could find in Kata. The cold noodle was ok - expected it to be cold and refreshing however only served at room temperature (which considered too warm). Would definitely go back again for... More 

Thank Toon B
takakatabeach, Owner at Red Snapper, responded to this review

Dear customer. what a great comment!! Thank you so much. You'll be served really cold soba when your next here. See you. Taka. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is our favourite place in Kata and we come here a few times a week. The food is always fresh and very very good. The staff always do their best, but it does get busy so you may have to wait. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Thank Nick S
takakatabeach, Owner at Red Snapper, responded to this review

Thank you very much often come our place. Sounds like you are local residents, aren't you? Red snapper We running 8 years for this year. Since we open our concept is good food & drinks & reasonable price for everyone both locals & tourist .Few peoples know us but I really appreciate. Thank you so much for your review. Takashi. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Sushi lovers you have to visit this place if you're in Kata it was cheap and tasty. Try the salmon, cucumber and cream cheese it was delicious. The curries were good ( chicken katsu was nice) but personally the sushi was better. Gyozas were also nice but wasn't a great fan of the spring rolls.

Thank Kat A
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I live in kata. Have been to 46 of the restaurants rated in the TA. And many not rated. The red Snapper is one of my favourites. Today we tried the Risotto. Excellent.

Thank Stoeff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We order a prawn and avocado fried tempura which comes in cold but we expected it's hot and fresh; a katsu don (fried pork with rice) which is ok; a lasagna that's a bit plain, need more tomato flavor. By a couple of Taiwanese & Canadian both love Japanese food a lot 店員很親切,食物味道一般般。 我們點了酪梨蝦子壽司甜不辣,原本以為是熱食結果是冷的;豬排丼味道一般;肉醬千層麵有點乏味,需要更多蕃茄的味道。 By 來自台灣和加拿大愛吃日本料理的情侶

Thank Irene L

Travellers who viewed Red Snapper also viewed


Been to Red Snapper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$15
Italian, Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
12:30 - 23:00
12:30 - 23:00
12:30 - 23:00
12:30 - 23:00
12:30 - 23:00
12:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100/48 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Phuket  >  Karon  >  Kata Beach
  • Phone Number: +66 86 120 4513
Red snapper Japanese&Italian Restaurant.
We served traditional Japanese food such as sushi& fresh sashime cooked by Japanese chef.Also You can enjoy salad, pasta or fish& meat dishes with our selected house wine then finish with our home made desert&Italian coffee all resonable price.
Red snapper is cozy little restaurant(40seats).We recommended book a table especially at dinner.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Snapper staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?