We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfers Beach Restaurant

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
+248 2 783 703
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went to this restaurant because of their amazing location and also the food proved to be nice! I recommend

Helpful?
Thank cossmyna
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear cossmyna Thank you for your short and excellent review on our establishment. We are very happy to note that you enjoyed the location and the food that we have on offer in a great ambiance and setting. The Surfers Team. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited the beach in front of this restaurant and had a great time the water has a few rocks and seaweed but there are pockets of sand and it's a great little beach. Unfortunately we couldn't visit the restaurant as it was Easter weekend and they had closed. Great little hidden gem

Helpful?
Thank Candice M
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Candice M We are glad you enjoyed the beach and found the restaurant as you say a hidden gem, we were actually closed on 1 day for the Easter Weekend which was Good Friday and chose to stay closed for that Friday instead of Easter Sunday as Friday was a religious public holiday as well and also to give... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a lunch out of the resort, great food and service. We sat at the tables under the palm trees near the beach. nice place.

Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Khaled A We are glad to note that you enjoyed our great tasting dishes and the good service afforded to you on your visit to our establishment. Please do come again if you return to the Seychelles and we hope you enjoyed these wonderful Islands. The Surfers Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall, I thought the experience was distinctly average. I felt that the staff were quite grumpy and when I wanted to sit by the beach there was an audible sigh because the waitress obviously didn't want to go up and down the steps to serve us. Unfortunately, this set a negative tone from the beginning. Nevertheless, the fish curry was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Richard L Thank you for the comments and we are at glad you enjoyed the fish curry. If you came to the restaurant in the evening we actually tell clients that the night service is only available up at the restaurant dining area, however the waitress should not have shown any negativity to your request but instead addressed it in... More 

Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
289 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This ranked among our very favorite places to eat during our visit to Mahe Island. We sat on a table on the beach, and enjoyed the most beautiful view as the full moon appeared and the sky faded with its glorious colors. Our server was fantastic - we got the food and drinks we needed promptly. We ordered two club... More 

Helpful?
Thank DesertDweller32
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear DesertDweller 32 We are glad you enjoyed your experience and meals at the restaurant, we also note the good comment about the serving waiter and that he was helpful to your needs & queries about catching the bus. The apple crumble desert is divine and many clients like it and being very popular there are times we do run... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in a few times for a drink the welcome was warm and the service great i would recommend you try this restaurant if you are passing

Helpful?
Thank bonviveure
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi bonviveure Thank you for your short but excellent review on our establishment. We are so glad you enjoyed the service and what we had on offer. We do appreciate your recommendation and hope you you will return one day. We trust you enjoyed your holidays in the Seychelles. The Surfers Team More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
436 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Surly staff, a long wait, then chewy red snapper with soft greasy chips. Nice enough view of the beach, but poor otherwise.

Helpful?
Thank MarkCheshire
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear MarkChesire We apologize for the long wait you say you had. The red snapper was prepared like we always do and we don't get any complaints about that. As for the french fries to say they were soft greasy chips is totally untrue as our fries are cooked in a commercial fat fryer. Had you told us on the... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A must visit to this restaurant on the south east cost of the island. The ambiance will make you sit here for long hours to chill on the beach. Food is simply superb esp the local Creole cusines. Do try it with local Takamaka Rum. You can get some good options for vegetarians too..

Helpful?
Thank Abhi0711
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Abhi0711 We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and what we had to offer in terms of good food and a great ambiance. It is always encouraging to all of us at Surfers to have such great guests as yourselves who truly appreciate and enjoy our warm kreol hospitality and service. The pleasure was all ours and we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Visited Surfers on a Saturday in March. First visit was three years ago and enjoyed the experience so was looking forward to a return visit. Sat down on the beach in the downstairs area. Waited around 10 minutes with nobody approaching our table: my husband then got up and got menus himself. After about another 5 minutes placed our order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amandavandenbergh
wessex1963, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Amandavandenbergh We note your comments on the delay for your drinks order and would like to apologize for this. We had 2 waitresses when you arrived, the 3rd one reported sick that morning and was therefore unable to come to work, however a replacement back up was then organized that morning and we ended up with 3 waitresses, this... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great place to chill and ctach up with friends. Food was great and the staff were helpful. Location is great as it is walking distance to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Keni M
SurfersTeam, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Keni M We are glad you enjoyed your visit and meals at our establishment. Our location is a big plus for us and our guests do appreciate the beach and sea if they wish to take a stroll or swim before or after their meals. Equally happy to note that you enjoyed the food and the good service from... More 

Travellers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$64
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
  • Location: Africa  >  Seychelles  >  Mahe Island  >  Takamaka
  • Phone Number: +248 2 783 703
Description
We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surfers Beach Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?