We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$20
CUISINES
International, European, Central European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (36)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
0
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
5
0
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 August 2020

We booked table by phone many days in advance for saturday night diner, when receiving our family from France.Waiter on phone told us that we have to be absolutly at 7.30pm the latest on restaurant as they are full and they need to ensure service....Therefore we came at 7.30pm. 4 tables occupied into all restaurant, within 1 table occupied by people drinking a beer only, leaving after 10mn here. Our table booked was not arranged nither prepared, even napkin were dirty!!!! Chairs on 1 side only... It was us to organiw=ze the table and almost serve it. We received menus after few minutes and choosed quickly main dish. Dishes were well prepared and cooked. Good cooker. Then at 8.30pm, we asked for desert and they told us that kitchen is closed and we can t order anything!!!!!! A saturday night!!!!! And they were pissed when we told them that it s unbelievable that they told us when we booked that it ll be full and we have to be there at 7.30pm when nothing was ready, no one almost there, and they just close kitchen w/o proposing us to order desert by advance! A REAL PITY AND NON PROFESSIONALISM!!!! And price was very high for such service!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ChateauGrandCastle, Manažér pre oblasť vzťahov s hosťami at Bar & Restaurant Magdalena Zai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear Mr Traveller8071, Thank you very much for your time reviewing our restaurant, it is much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that the experience you had at our place, was not one of the best one you have had as we pride ourselves in...More

Reviewed 5 July 2019

Our compliments to the chef. The meals where delicious, staff friendly and the atmosphere historic and nobel. Thank you.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

A treat to have a drink or meal at this place, every time we visited our expectations were exceeded. A bit pricey though

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We have eaten twice in the restaurant and it was tasty, I like to tomato soup and salmon. A bit of surprise was that restaurant in the wood had to can not make mushroom risotto because they are out of mushrooms. what could be improved...is the service or better say - how quickly you get the food. we`ve heard something about cook not coming however this should be solved if you have open restaurant. also sometimes there was only one waitress, and she could not manage it all - even when she is smiling and trying her best.More

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch, were completely ignored by the sweating waiter, so left. It's not hard to say 'please give me a minute' or 'sorry we're busy'. Just basic good manners. The place is a joke.

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I have been eating couple of times here and was more or less but satisfied. This time not! The bad service spoiled our lunch here. First, the unexperienced waitress brought us prosseco, which was totally old, with no bubbles inside. When we claimed it, she...just smiled, did nothing. OK, we try to get second chance and order another glass, asking to open new bottle. Well, the prosseco was sparkling, but warm (literally). And again, just stupid smile when we claimed it. No words... Food was OK, but nothing special, nothing to remember. According my previous stays here, I can recommend the restaurant, but I hope, that this failure was just accidental.More

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We absolutely loved the food and drinks at this restaurant. Every dish we had was very tasty.I loved the tomato soup but also the cream soup was good.We tried several meals,I cannot name all of them as they were all tasty. Together with food,there is...a very wide range of drinks available.We tried several wines,we liked Slovak the best (especially Devin). I cannot forget about the best beer in the country Erb which is available here. I have to mention the great service we got here.Even some of the best restaurant in the capital city do not offer such great, skilled and professional service as this restaurant!More

Date of visit: July 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We went to this restaurant, based on the previous excellent reviews, with high expectations. And that was our biggest problem. Place itself is very nice (even though I haven't felt welcomed at all) and has great potential. Food is good. Average starter (ostepok - not...warm enough, nothing special - just cheese & tomato), very good soups and good main course (fish & risotto). Nothing surprising, nothing that you'd remember, but ok. Service was again average at best (slow, I had to ask for additional glass for drink, we gave up on deserts as noone cared that we'd like to order, card payment only on bar...). For place that is trying to be fancy I'd expect something different... Long story short - good chef, average service, nice place. Prices currently does not correspond with the experience.More

Date of visit: December 2015
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Miesto s neopakovateľnou atmosférou a dobrou kuchyňou. Pani majiteľka väčšinou v zariadení, takže prípadné nedostatky sú okamžite odstránené. Nádherné okolie a malý park. Unique place with good kitchen. Owner of a castle almost always there, to solce all kind of your problems. Great surroundings and...small park.More

Date of visit: August 2015
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Kind athmosphere, professional and recommanding staff, beautiful and anthentic historical environment..... Excellent kitchen, fresh food and some original plates into the menu. One of the best table in Slovakia and one of the best we did ever. Just enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2015
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Relax Hotel Avena
34 reviews
3.99 km away
Alexandra Wellness Hotel
57 reviews
3.99 km away
Hotel Sorea DUMBIER
1 review
4.44 km away
Hotel Liptovsky dvor
424 reviews
4.59 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
LH Point - Restaurant
112 reviews
.61 km away
Hotel Strachanovka Restaurant
121 reviews
4.45 km away
Penzion Zivka
18 reviews
6.39 km away
caffe EXCLUSIVE
25 reviews
1.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Slovak Wildlife Society
17 reviews
1.30 km away
Stanisovska Jaskyna
89 reviews
3.99 km away
Hrad a KastieL Liptovsky Hradok
27 reviews
.09 km away
Mini Slovensko
68 reviews
4.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bar & Restaurant Magdalena Zai staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BAR & RESTAURANT MAGDALENA ZAI, Liptovsky Hradok - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bar & Restaurant Magdalena Zai

Yes, Bar & Restaurant Magdalena Zai offers takeaway services.

Bar & Restaurant Magdalena Zai is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4