We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Shak Grill 'n Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Caribbean, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dover Beach | Christ Church, Dover BB15028, Barbados
+1 246-823-9753
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 163: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten here several times on previous holidays and not had an issue. The food and service were always good. Unfortunately now the same can not be said, the food was very average and the service no longer came with a smile, everything seemed a bit of an inconvenience. What a shame our favourite lunchtime spot has let itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex T
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My 2 daughters and I ate here early this evening, choosing this "shack" amongst several just across the road from our hotel. The waitress was friendly and advised us well. We decided to try marlin, swordfish and tuna - all were cooked perfectly, and the sides were good too. Good value and efficient service.

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We come to this lovely bar every time we visit the island. A great time is always had. they serve the coldest beer we have found and its a great please to meet old friends and new.

Helpful?
Thank BrambleBlossom
Peter D, General Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

hey brambles we the shak staff try to make everyone feel at home and safe welcome back anytime. More 

Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed with this restaurant for dinner. The food was average, nothing special, after the sun went down the area seemed a little seedy, I suspect this is a better place for lunch. It is steps from the Beach but is in an area that didn't seem incredibly safe after the sun went down. The public restroom was dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randy939
Peter D, Owner at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

maybe your food was average because you order something average since you were on budget did you try grill baracuda or mahi mahi or maybe some garlic shrimp or our baby back ribs. hope u do next time . More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First night of holiday , and a lovely find. Welcoming lady hosting us , who was v busy but v friendly. We're told good may be a little slow as so busy, but loads to watch and lovely atmosphere so no problem, and it came within 30 min and was delicious, fresh homemade , good quality and value. Will definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank 969nikki
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

hey thanks nikki we most certainly will be happy to have you dine again with us we have so much to choose from and have a wonderful holidays . thanks again More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

A small cosy rest - happy staff - no pretentions - cheapest beer found - simple food , just of main drag near dover beach - will be back - stars well earned - any terrible reviews must have expected champs and caviare !!! -- cops😎

Helpful?
Thank Petercops
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

hey cope you make me smile champ n caviare !! we just local bajan food with a twist of great falvor.happy you visit and were satisfied with our menu. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

The best beach food in St. Lawrence Gap. Our party of four ate here four times in seven days. The ribs were great but even better was the shrimp salad. Quirky servers added to the experience.

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Peter D, Owner at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

hi we appreciate you honest rating of us we dont always get it right but we like to know when we hit and when we drop the ball.if it negative or positive we love all our customers reviews we know you have our best interest at heart .one love shak bar n grill. More 

Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017

Washroom nearby was a nightmare so avoid it. Otherwise, service was friendly, food was tasty, beer was cold and the black cat and chickens were fun to watch.

Helpful?
Thank janbob2017
Peter D, General Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

hey dont spoil a good meal by mentioning the washroom buddie those are public not care for by the shak grill but by government caretakers .glad you stay with us was enjoyable. More 

Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

Ate here for three evenings out of ten. The fish menu excellent along with the pricing. Situated in Lawrence gap amongst many bars & eateries, it was a treasure for good food and ambience in the evenings. Value for money and as goog as Oistins.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
Peter D, General Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

gorgeous sandra we were happy to have you dine with us see you on your next trip. More 

Whitby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

We ate here on our last day in The Gap, What a shame. The only reason it got a 2 was because when the food finally came it wasn't bad at all. The service was terrible even by Bajan standards, I know they are never in a rush but oh dear. The waitress was miserable they hardly had anything on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TracyWhitby
Peter D, General Manager at De Shak Grill 'n Bar, responded to this review

sorry for the bad service but i would like to know the day and time you visit so i can look into this it unacceptable.thank for the review. More 

Travellers who viewed De Shak Grill 'n Bar also viewed

Dover, Christ Church Parish
Dover, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to De Shak Grill 'n Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Cuisine
Caribbean, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dover Beach | Christ Church, Dover BB15028, Barbados
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Barbados  >  Christ Church Parish  >  Dover
  • Phone Number: +1 246-823-9753
Description
The Shak Grill n Bar is located on one of the most popular beaches on the south coast of the island. It also on the most popular party stretch known as the gap. It has beach front dining under the stars very romantic.Every saturday night we now have a live show from 7 to 12 featuring local entertainer Mr impact with fire eating and limbo dancing.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of De Shak Grill 'n Bar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Shak Grill 'n Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?