We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor

Reserve a Table
Mon, 10/12
20:00
2
12
All photos (12)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2014 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
We are a community Pub in the heart of the village of Wingham. We pride ourselves on our Homemade Food which is simple but very tasty, we do our upmost to use fresh, locally grown produce, the only frozen vegetables we use are peas. We have a separate restaurant area which is open from 12 til 3pm for lunch and 6 til 9pm for Dinner Mon - Sat and 12 til 5pm on sundays for Sunday Lunch, which includes a Roast meat baguette option and choices of ploughmans in the summer,the a la carte menu is not available on Sundays. We have themed evenings with a Steak Night every Thursday and Fish 'n' Chips on Fridays. We have Live music in the bar every Sunday from 4 til 6pm and also have regular music events in our Arts Centre style venue upstairs. We have been awarded Best Newcomers to the Licensed Trade 2013 at the BT Sport, Great British Pub Awards (considered to be The Oscars of the licensed trade).We have also won the 2014 award for best entertainment pub in Britain and the 2017 PRS Music Makeover Award-runner up. We receive many kind words from our customers but being recognised by both the licensed trade and music industry in this way really is the icing on the cake. We do not use a PR company or attempt to manipulate reviews in any way so you can be assured that what is written by our customers is authentic. See you soon
PRICE RANGE
US$6-US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
154
64
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
154
64
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie sunday roast liver fish and chips pork belly soup the pub great atmosphere lovely meal lunch time booked a table food is excellent high street landlady ales trimmings pint
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had a very nice lunch- had ham egg and chips, big portion size. Would highly recommend. Lovely seating out the back for the summer

Thank Explore266275
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Really glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes the outside is lovely during the summer, we even have a special Sunday lunch offering for people sat in the garden, hope to see you again soon, Ke

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I met some friends here on a lovely warm sunny October day. As we sat in the garden enjoying our pints of Doombar the server passed with some plates of a delicious looking sausage and onion baguette. I was sold and ordered one as did...More

Thank bripor
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I came in for lunch last Tuesday and were immediately struck by this quaint,beautiful pub with a beautiful atmosphere. The barmaid/waitress was excellent and so attentive and witty with all her Welsh charm. My wife and I are gluten free and asked...More

Thank Tom S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a lovely Monday morning at nearby Wingham wildlife park myself and lady friend decided to check out The Anchor for lunch as we had heard good things from close friends of ours. Well we certainly weren't disappointed with our choice and have to say...More

Thank stevo9
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Yesterday we said goodbye to my uncle and held the wake at the Anchor. The staff were very kind the service was excellent and the food lovely. The whole family appreciated their care very much. Thank you.

Thank Sally G
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

An excellent Sunday lunch served by friendly and attentive staff in a busy pub with a great welcome and warm atmosphere. What’s not to like? We all enjoyed it and will definitely return.

Thank gardeninggirl
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Our second visit here, we only booked the day before and was glad to get a table. We received a very warm welcome. We had a choice of where we wanted to sit we chose a table for two next to the bar . Our...More

Thank Emmanmatt06
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words we are very glad you enjoyed your visit, see you again soon

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

My parents often eat here and when we are visiting we do too. Up until now we have never been disappointed. I can only assume the chef has changed. My mum's salad was so bad she couldn't eat it. Surprisingly, the staff member who took...More

Thank docsarbit
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

So sorry that you have had a poor experience like this, I would appreciate it if you could get in contact by telephone or email On Abbottmichelle8@aol.com.Our chef hasn't changed which is worrying, we'd like to establish who was on duty that day so that...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018

We had not booked a table but one was found for us. We ordered the Steak and Ale Pie. We were told after about 10 minutes that there was only two pieces left and that one was smaller than the other. I said I would...More

2  Thank LadyWhite59
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The very worst pub we have ever been in the beer was so bad could not drink the women behind the bar was rude and had no customer contact skills and the pub was filthy its the worst pub we have been to in the...More

Thank notUSSAULLYamoaner
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

I am assuming this is some sort of bad joke. Thank you for your review, most amusing

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Anchor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing