We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor

€€ - €€€, British,
High Street, Wingham, Dover CT3 1BJ, England
+44 1227 720392
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
“liver” (6 reviews)
Closes in 10 min
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Wingham, Dover CT3 1BJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An excellent Sunday lunch served by friendly and attentive staff in a busy pub with a great welcome and warm atmosphere. What’s not to like? We all enjoyed it and will definitely return.

Thank gardeninggirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our second visit here, we only booked the day before and was glad to get a table. We received a very warm welcome. We had a choice of where we wanted to sit we chose a table for two next to the bar . Our...More

Thank Emmanmatt06
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words we are very glad you enjoyed your visit, see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My parents often eat here and when we are visiting we do too. Up until now we have never been disappointed. I can only assume the chef has changed. My mum's salad was so bad she couldn't eat it. Surprisingly, the staff member who took...More

Thank docsarbit
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So sorry that you have had a poor experience like this, I would appreciate it if you could get in contact by telephone or email On Abbottmichelle8@aol.com.Our chef hasn't changed which is worrying, we'd like to establish who was on duty that day so that...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018

We had not booked a table but one was found for us. We ordered the Steak and Ale Pie. We were told after about 10 minutes that there was only two pieces left and that one was smaller than the other. I said I would...More

2  Thank LadyWhite59
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The very worst pub we have ever been in the beer was so bad could not drink the women behind the bar was rude and had no customer contact skills and the pub was filthy its the worst pub we have been to in the...More

Thank notUSSAULLYamoaner
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

I am assuming this is some sort of bad joke. Thank you for your review, most amusing

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Visited 1st September with family I had a great liver and bacon followed by cheese board, rest of the family had fish and chips and ham ploughmans. All dishes were superb and the price was great too, when next in the area again I’ll be...More

Thank Richard M
Reviewed 28 August 2018

A friendly welcome. Great menu to chose from. Delicious home cooked food. Reasonable prices. Always a treat.

Thank Helene R
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thanks, we do our best to make nice folks feel welcome, see you again soon I hope

Reviewed 28 August 2018

I booked lunch through toptable for a group of 4 and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal from the moment we were warmly greeted on arrival....the pub has a fantastic atmosphere and the restaurant area was cosy and comfortable. We were looked after really well and...More

Thank cliffb
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Anchor is what i consider to be a true village local offering atmosphere, a warm welcome plus a balanced menu offering well cooked food, served by a very pleasant young lady who obviously enjoyed her work. My wife ordered a steak cooked blue which...More

Thank Colinvictoria
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We had high expectations when we visited this pub. Unfortunately it was not what we expected. The beer garden was ok and it was dog friendly. The food was just good, but we found traces of mould in the bread and we showed it to...More

Thank Dionysios C
TheAnchorWingham, Owner at The Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Sorry your expectations were not met, we work hard to make sure our Garden a nice place to sit in the summer and last year we were voted one of the 6 best gardens in the UK by The Great British Pub Awards. I'm glad...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
507 reviews
8.54 km away
The Fleur de Lis
106 reviews
8.67 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
1,381 reviews
8.72 km away
The Bell Hotel
828 reviews
8.87 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Dog at Wingham Restaurant
750 reviews
.24 km away
The Politician's Daughter
42 reviews
.24 km away
Salma
139 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wingham Wildlife Park
1,607 reviews
1.12 km away
Wingham Country Market
5 reviews
1.65 km away
Tor Spa Retreat
95 reviews
2.38 km away
Goodnestone Park
85 reviews
3.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Anchor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
10:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 00:00
Saturday
10:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Wingham, Dover CT3 1BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover  >  Wingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 720392
  • E-mail
Description
We are a community Pub in the heart of the village of Wingham. We pride ourselves on our Homemade Food which is simple but very tasty, we do our upmost to use fresh, locally grown produce, the only frozen vegetables we use are peas. We have a separate restaurant area which is open from 12 til 3pm for lunch and 6 til 9pm for Dinner Mon - Sat and 12 til 5pm on sundays for Sunday Lunch, which includes a Roast meat baguette option and choices of ploughmans in the summer,the a la carte menu is not available on Sundays. We have themed evenings with a Steak Night every Thursday and Fish 'n' Chips on Fridays. We have Live music in the bar every Sunday from 4 til 6pm and also have regular music events in our Arts Centre style venue upstairs. We have been awarded Best Newcomers to the Licensed Trade 2013 at the BT Sport, Great British Pub Awards (considered to be The Oscars of the licensed trade).We have also won the 2014 award for best entertainment pub in Britain and the 2017 PRS Music Makeover Award-runner up. We receive many kind words from our customers but being recognised by both the licensed trade and music industry in this way really is the icing on the cake. We do not use a PR company or attempt to manipulate reviews in any way so you can be assured that what is written by our customers is authentic. See you soon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing