We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cranford Inn

€€ - €€€
Bar, Contemporary, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
St Giles in the Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7LA, England
+44 1805 623309
Website
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Tue - Fri 17:00 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just had an amazing meal at the Cranford, the fish was out of this world and my husband had the gammon and was very impressed. We had a fantastic dessert bit had to share it as the main meal was excellent. We will certainly come back and bring family and friends!! I took some before and after pictures!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gingit1
Leanne F, General Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your meal and thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

Visited early Sep 2016, new people had been there about a week...really lovely couple. Lots of great ideas, they are just trying to get staff sorted and will soon be making this place buzz again. Lots of great parking, lovely grounds, there are self catering cottages on site too. if you're in North Devon this will be a good spot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wheels33
Leanne F, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Hi "Wheels" and thank you for the lovely comments. We are very lucky to be in such a glorious location and hopefully will see you again next time you are visiting. Best regards Steve & Leanne More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Pub was under new management when we arrived Leanne & her husband where good host no food on when we arrived but they had the kitchen up an running by the Monday food was great highly recommend the bangers & mash and great value for money

Helpful?
Thank martypunjab
Leanne F, General Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Thanks for taking time to review "The Cranny". It was great to meet you all and hope to see you again. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016

After previously visiting the Cranford Inn a few years ago when it was at its best we were keen to try the pub again for food as we saw there were new owners. After phoning to book to be on the safe side and them not being able to accommodate us at the requested time, we assumed this was a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tashter
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Went today as a last minute booking ... 7 of us including 3 children, plus a dog. Billed as a restaurant, but actually a pub with grub. Pleasant and helpful reception. Arrived a 12:30 to find an empty pub, but it was busy by the time we left. One thing on the menu - roast with a choice of beef... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoyCosway
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Well impressed with this place! I booked last minute on a Saturday night and turned up as a family but we came from different towns and arrived half an hour apart. The landlady and staff were amazing! They waited patiently, didn't pressure us and even came and gave our Boxer dog water and dog biscuits whilst we were at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon G
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, every feedback helps us. We hope you will visit us again More 

London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2016

I have to say this, but I believe in telling the truth. We were looking forward to eating at The Cranford Inn, most nights, but finished up doing exactly what we did not want to do on holiday and that was cook for ourselves'. . We ate there on our first evening and I will say no more other than... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maidmarian9
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a disappointing meal, however a table check was completed at the time and no comment was made. If you had a complaint and had told me, I could have compensated you. We are a small business just starting out and any feedback is very welcoming but we would appreciate it at the time... More 

Gravesend
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016

Best to reserve a table! The Sunday lunches are really worth having, and a lovely family atmosphere. A lovely family run it and make everyone feel part of the family too.

Helpful?
Thank FrancesGravesend
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you visit again soon More 

northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2016

I wish this pub was close to where we live, we ate here five times during our local stay, and each time we were presented with a great meal which we thoroughly enjoyed! Thanks Jane and Chris, and of course chef, Bob. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful?
Thank pamdrive
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and hope we see you on your return More 

Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Was so excited to try this pub again especially with the Excellent reviews! We knew it was under new management and its fairly local for us. A place we've visited from time to time over the years. But so disappointed, roast was very average. Found a hair in it too, Couldnt wait to leave!! Doesnt help that the decor needs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SLJF2013
Jenny Y, Manager at The Cranford Inn, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch. I do hope you return and give us another try More 

Travellers who viewed The Cranford Inn also viewed

Great Torrington, Devon
Great Torrington, Devon
 
Great Torrington, Devon
Great Torrington, Devon
 
Great Torrington, Devon
 

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, Contemporary, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Giles in the Wood, Great Torrington EX38 7LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Great Torrington
  • Phone Number: +44 1805 623309
Description
New hosts at The Cranford Inn, Leanne & Steve offer a warm welcome at this friendly rural pub set in a peaceful courtyard surrounded by the beautiful North Devon countryside. Currently the bar is open daily from 5pm weekdays and 12 noon on weekends with the kitchen opening soon. You can visit our Facebook or Twitter pages to keep up to date with our progress and we hope to see you at The Cranford soon!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cranford Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cranford Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?