We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anchor Hotel Restaurant

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in Kippford €€ - €€€ , British,
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
+44 1556 620205
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here based on recommendations in the visitors' book at our holiday cottage. The menu was varied, the food excellent and the value exceptional. We ended up eating here 4 nights out of 7. The pub atmosphere and abundance of visiting dogs also helped!

Thank Mairi M
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Mairi, thank you for your review. Glad you liked us so much you kept coming back! - hope to see you again, best wishes from the Team at the Anchor.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in today for lunch with my husband, such a beautiful area over looking the water and we were lucky to have a nice day unfortunately i can't say the same with lunch We walked in to unhelpful staff who were more interested in having...More

2  Thank Lokipoky
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for writing about your experience with us recently - its a shame we didn't have the opportunity to talk you at the time but I will make sure your comments are shared with the staff. We are indeed lucky with our location and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Place was nice, friendly staff until stroppy waitress with attitude appeared. FRITTER?! And was slammed on table! SANDWICH?! And my daughter's tuna sandwich was flung down! And then with no words my wife's baked potato was thrust in front of her! Even on.leaving she not...More

1  Thank Alan N
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Alan, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention - I will ensure its shared with the team. How sad, hope you will come back and try us again as that experience is certainly not one we wish people to remember. Kind regards...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While staying Kippford for a week we visited the pub a few times. It was good to call in for a beer after walking in the area. The food was lovely, the fish platter was lovely as was all the food we had. Good beer...More

Thank Sweetpige
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there, thank you for visiting us and glad you enjoyed the food. We are lucky with our location and yes we make a great place to drop into. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over the years, we have visited the Anchor on many occasions. We went for a bar supper on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. 3 of us had the Chicken Sizzler and 1 had the Rib-Eye Steak from the Specials board. The food was wonderful,...More

Thank quine19
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for tea really nice staff grate atmosphere food was lovely very popular dog friendly within restrictions would definitely recommend and go back thank you

Thank Andrew A
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Andrew, thanks for the very positive review. Much appreciated when folk tell how things were for them. Hope to see you in the future. Best wishes from the Anchor.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited one evening for food having been recommended by friends. The place was busy but our food was served in good time and was good pub food - that's where the good part ends... Once we had eaten and had relaxed a little (we...More

2  Thank Beetlebum77
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review, the contents of which will be discussed with the staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate you taking the time to write and are disappointed that your enjoyable evening was marred. Kind regards from...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch only to be told they had stopped serving 1 minute ago. Very rude staff who couldn't care less.

2  Thank RPettifer
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Its a shame you were disappointed, we do advertise our serving times and it is always difficult when we have just closed. We do offer a selection of snacks outwith serving hours, and of course drinks are always available.

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Good food, good beer, friendly place. Extensive menu that added new dishes each evening. Able to sample local beers before buying.

Thank 621Hilary
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Hilary, thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed everything especially the sampling! - All the best from the team at the Anchor

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Ate here one evening. Had salmon with hollondaise which was definitely of the 'chef opened the packet himself' variety. Wine was fine, didn't notice what beer they had. Served its purpose.More

1  Thank Inalltheworld
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at The Anchor Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hello and thank you for your review. Hope you will try us again and see what else we have on the menu. Our fish dishes are usually very popular, we change the menu regularly and source fresh produce locally. Best wishes from the team at...More

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ettie D
23 November 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Fasayers123 | Property representative |
hello there yes it does -
0
Votes
SeaToSkyTraveller
22 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Fasayers123 | Property representative |
from April to end of October food is served from 1200 until last orders at approximately 8pm - no need to book - in the winter lunches from 12 - 2pm and then open again after 5pm call 0155 6620 205 for more information
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kippford, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Kippford
  • Phone Number: +44 1556 620205
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing